We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service and Outstanding Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Lodge at Torrey Pines
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Service and Outstanding Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2008

This has to be one of our most outstanding places to stay. The staff was amazing and very friendly. The resort is breathtaking. Every detail is attended to. The staff knew our names from the time we arrive to the time we checked out. I have to say, it a time where service is not an American standard, this hotel has some how found a way to bring it all back. We will be telling all our friends about it.

  • Liked — The bathrooms were huge
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TvlDrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    844
    174
    61
    19
    7
See reviews for
221
416
26
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Coast, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2008

My husband and two daughters stayed at the LATP last weekend and I was amazed at the fantastic service and beautiful setting. The service was over the top and from check in to check out we were treated like the only people staying at the hotel. Our Palisades room 321 had a view of the grounds looking out to the ocean. It was huge with a fireplace and large patio. The bathroom was spacious with a nice size shower and tub. I especially liked the little details like fresh Magnolias and Orchids in our bathroom and room. We had room service for breakfasts and ate a the Grill for dinners. Room service was so fast and efficient I requested they take at least 30 mins. before arriving so I could prepare. The room service food was very good and there servings were large. You could easily split them. The grill lived up to its reputation for having the best hamburger in town. Stay at this place!

  • Liked — The location and service
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Xlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2008

This is in no way a 5 Diamond hotel. With 5 Diamond hotels, we expect not only a great room, but excellent service. The rooms were okay. Like most reviews, the rooms are not very well lit, but not that big of a deal. The bedding and linens were very comfortable. Rooms were well done otherwise. The Beach service was fabulous.

Our biggest problem was the service of the front staff. Upon our arrival, we were told our room was not ready. Not a big deal, since we arrived about 1 hour before check-in. We were told we could leave our bags at the front and go grab a bite at the Grille and Bar. One of us had ordered the hamburger that came raw -- a true health hazard (since they did not mention that they grounded their own beef nor gave us a choice of how we wanted the burger cooked). Upon complaining, they took the burger back and MICROWAVED it! We were astonished that such a prestigious hotel would just microwave the burger. To make things worse, after microwaving it, it was still raw. After the 2nd nuking, the burger was not what a $10 burger should be. Only after complaining did they take the burger off of our tab.

Upon returning to the front desk to check-in, we got our room and were told our bags would come shortly. After waiting 1 hour for our bags and calling several times to the front desk, we went to the front to ask where our bags were. They curtly told us that they would be there shortly. It was only running into a bell hop who was very helpful and telling him our troubles, did they finally bring our bags to us. There were other minor issues with the front staff and even after talking with the manager, nothing was done extra to appease us or make up for all of our problems.

We hardly ever complain much about the staff of hotels that we stay in. However, this was the absolute worst staff we have ever seen and for several hundred dollars a night, it is laughable that they could screw stuff up so much. Needless to say we would never return to the Lodge at Torrey Pines.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TravelinZoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, IL
Level Contributor
112 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2008

I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and very much enjoyed it. Hotel staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. They consistently did all the extra little things that set this property apart from other properties where I recently stayed. One example would be the bellman offering me a bottle of water for the ride as I got in my shuttle to the airport. Not expected but a nice touch.

Hotel facilities were all very clean and my room was very comfortable. Breakfast in the Grill room was good and I enjoyed sitting out on the patio for drinks in the evening.

Overall, a very pleasant place to stay.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
4 Thank Febo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2008

Stayed at The Lodge with a couple of days vacation tacked on to a corporate meeting. Very smart hotel, with exceptional service. Fantastic views and very convenient for La Jolla, and I5 into San Diego. Clearly great for the golf, if you play.

The craftsman style not entirely to my taste as a little gloomy, but they don't pretend otherwise. Generally very good accomodation, but a few annoying problems with the room that you should not get for the price (eg loose hook on bathroom door, faulty proximity sensor in wardrobe that switched the internal light on during the night, no (!) extractor in the bathroom), plus the extras cost a fortune (don't use the minibar).

Overall, a great experience but the details didn't quite match up to the price (ie it should be perfection).

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Details of the room
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Drjoe90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2008

We had very high expectations for the Lodge, and they were met across the board.

In an age that I think of as the "generification" of American, the Lodge stands out as a truly unique property. Admittedly those who do not care for the craftsman style may find it somewhat dark...but everything - including all public spaces - is true to the property's vision. The woodwork and original art work was still leaving me awestruck at the end of my 9-day stay.

We stayed in a King Palisade room. While I did not see a "signature" room facing the courtyard, the view of the Torrey Pines South Course, and the ocean were well worth the extra amount for the room upgrade. The courtyard is pleasant enough, but watching the sun set over the Pacific every night can't be matched.

The room, itself, was immaculate...and the twice a day maid service was unmatched. I'm not particularly a slob, but if I left a pair of shoes astray or left loose change on a table, the maid lined the shoes up in the closet and stacked the change from largest to smallest coins. The balcony was mopped at least a couple of times...how often does it ever get cleaned elsewhere?

Some have complained about the rooms being dark, and due to the large amount of dark woodwork, drapes, etc., they can be a bit dim. However, there are many (beautiful) lamps...and most importantly, there was adequate light where it was important, i.e., bedside lamps for reading, and at the desk and couch.

The $22/day parking is a bit annoying when you are paying what you pay to stay at the Lodge, but everyone else does it, so it's not surprise that they hit you for it. There were a couple of other niggling things, but the room, public areas and grounds are truly a delight, and you will not regret staying at this property.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank peterarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2007

We stayed at The Lodge for four days, while meeting some friends in the area during the holidays. The hotel is undeniably beautiful, with it's craftsman exterior, lovely common areas and well appointed rooms. We stayed in a Palisades King room, which I highly recommend because it has a fireplace and a large marble bathroom with a separate shower and bathtub and a double vanity.

Check-in was easy but once in the room, the bellman didn't tell us how to operate anything, like the thermostat. Our room had a beautiful view of both the golf couse and the ocean in the distance. The grounds are something out of a fairytale, just gorgeous. Overall, we were very pleased.

There were just a few minor problems. First, about that thermostat: you can't really read or easily reach it as it is located behind the armoire on the right side. There is no temperature reading, so you have to play with the rolling "warmer" and "cooler" button to get the temp you want. Also, we had no menu for the mini bar and no decaffienated coffee option and only one tea bag and one package of hot chocolate. But we called housekeeping and they brought some up. Also, we were supposed to receive a welcome amenity but they forgot that, too. These aren't big deals and we didn't let them ruin our time but this was not too impressive for a five diamond hotel. The last problem was our neighbors. To the right of us, they were extremely loud and had some sort of party going on every night. Accross from us, we had chain smokers and the smoke permeated our room for a couple of days until management finally found out who it was and asked them to smoke outside. We appreciated management's response to the problem, though it did take some persistence.

The restaurant, A.R. Valentien, has a limited menu but was very good and had a very luxe, cozy atmosphere. The food was delicious, as was the wine. Also, we ordered for breakfast every morning and it was always excellent.

The spa was wonderful. Our massage therapists were outstanding. The spa is well equipped with a very personable staff. The only jacuzzi available, though, is the one outside near the pool and it was a little cold for us. But all in all, experiencing this spa was quite a treat.

The service overall at this hotel is to be commended. The staff is very responsive to your needs. If something isn't right, they'll fix it. They were polite, timely, kind, and very helpful. If it hadn't been for the few problems with the rooms nearby, I think I would have given this hotel five stars. Hopefully, next time!

  • Liked — The beauty of the property, the service
  • Disliked — the neighbors' lack of consideration for other guests
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank lovegoodhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Torrey Pines

Property: The Lodge at Torrey Pines
Address: 11480 North Torrey Pines Road, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lodge at Torrey Pines 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Torrey Pines is an award-winning luxury resort set atop the cliffs of Torrey Pines State Beach in La Jolla, California. Awarded the AAA Five Diamond rating for 14 consecutive years, the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence for six years in a row, and Travel + Leisure’s Top 50 Hotels in the United States and Canada, The Lodge provides stunning views of the world-renowned Torrey Pines Golf Course and Pacific Ocean and endless opportunities for guests to enjoy San Diego’s warm climate – from outdoor dining and relaxing at the spa to hiking, golfing and more. The Lodge is modeled after the famed Gamble and Blacker houses in Pasadena – two of the finest examples of early 1900s Craftsman-style architecture. Its post-and-beam construction features a natural color palette, graceful wing-like rooflines, shingle and sandstone-bluff exteriors, clinker-brick masonry, rich woodwork and natural stone surfaces. Arrivals are greeted by doormen attired in kilted Scottish dress, while inside are 170 spacious guest rooms and suites designed for supreme comfort. The Lodge’s signature restaurant A.R. Valentien – rated Best Hotel Restaurant in the West by Sunset Magazine in 2015 – is a destination for fresh regional cuisine served in an elegant setting overlooking the Torrey Pines Golf Course. Artisan Table Dinners highlighting farm-to-table fare in a communal setting are offered weekly, while Executive Chef Jackson headlines The Lodge’s annual Celebrate the Craft event, one of Southern California’s premier showcases for regionally grown ingredients and innovative cooking and winemaking. For a more casual vibe, The Grill at The Lodge offers a full menu of favorites whether dining indoors or on the patio, while its bar is an ideal gathering place after a day on the course. The Spa at Torrey Pines features signature treatments themed around the beauty and purity of the Pacific coastline. This 9,500 square foot space uses botanical- and marine-based extracts from European product lines Phytomer, SkinCeuticals, Farmhouse Fresh and NV Organics to replenish and restore the body and mind. Additional features of The Lodge include a croquet lawn, heated outdoor pool and cabanas, whirlpool, outdoor terrace with chaise lounges, hiking at the adjacent Torrey Pines State Reserve, a fitness center and the Scripps Library, a public space featuring a pool table, board games and more. Adjacent to The Lodge, the Torrey Pines Golf Course is an iconic 36-hole course that hosts the PGA Tour’s annual Farmers Insurance Open. Whether on the North Course or South Course, our guests have the opportunity to play where the pros play with the stunning La Jolla coastline as a backdrop. Nearby attractions include downtown La Jolla and Del Mar, Birch Aquarium at the Scripps Institution of Oceanography, the La Jolla Playhouse performing arts center and the Museum of Contemporary Art. During spring and summer, the Del Mar Thoroughbred Club entices visitors with the thrill of live racing, while a popular year-round choice is the Torrey Pines State Reserve, a magnificent 2,000 acres of protected rare Torrey Pine trees featuring pristine beaches and eight miles of trails; The Lodge offers complimentary guided hikes throughout the preserve daily. The Lodge is located just 15 miles north of the San Diego International Airport and downtown San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lodge at Torrey Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Torrey Pines Hotel La Jolla
Hotel At Torrey Pines
Resort At Torrey Pines
Lodge San Diego
Lodge Torrey Pines
Inn Torrey Pines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing