We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, comfortable atmosphere, top service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lodge at Torrey Pines
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Even if you don't golf, this is a great place to stay. There are two restaurants on site, one more casual, but both with great menus. The food is excellent and beer is from local breweries. I had a BLT sandwich with avocado that was amazing, and the onsite pastry chef does profiteroles and home-made cakes that are superb. The lodge is about 10 minutes from La Jolla by car, and more like 25 minutes from San Diego, so you will need a car if you want to see the sights outside of the lodge, and taxis can take as much as 15 minutes so let the concierge know ahead of time. I had one treatment at the spa, which was excellent. Room rates are good for a luxury accommodation, which this is, and the beds very comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. Rooms overlook a courtyard or the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chasney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

789 - 795 of 1,225 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

After reading the rave reviews of this property, I was really looking forward to our stay.

The service is as stellar as reported, with the entire staff extremely friendly and accommodating.
The lobby of the resort was very nice, with a "lodgy" look and a fire at all times.

But we found the rooms to be dreary. Although it is nice that the hotel is set back in the greenery, the decor of the rooms needed updating in our opinion, and the rooms were very dark.
It might have been partly due to the cloudy weather at the time, but it was also just the way the rooms were. The resort was so large and rambling, that you would have to walk for a long time in very dark halls to get around, and it didn't seem to be particularly occupied, giving it an even gloomier feel.

The pool area was nice enough, but certainly not up to five star standards, which is the level many gave to this hotel. I don't think this is a five-star property.

Also, to charge $27 for parking ($5 less for self parking) at this high price when there was clearly plenty available seemed mercenary.

All that being said, we are not into golf and maybe that is what matters. Had I read a review like this on TA, I would have stayed elsewhere, somewhere brighter.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lauri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We had rooms at the nearby Hyatt, but when we saw the Lodge firsthand, we changed our plans. What a wonderful place in a spectacular location. The staff was spectacular, and there is nothing better than being able to roll out of bed and onto Torrey Pines. I wouldn't hesitate to return!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank TwoWire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

My pleasure and How may I assist you were 2 phrases my husband and I heard through out our stay@ Torrey Pines This is a wonderful property every staff member speaks to you and they are so accommodating and prompt no matter how trivial the request.
We have stayed at many expensive properties and have never felt the enjoyment and pleasure like Torrey Pines.

Room Tip: •"Corner suites are large and sunny"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank unknown u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The Lodge at Torrey Pines is one of the most comfortable and inviting hotels I've ever been lucky enough to stay in. Not only is it beautiful and spacious, the staff is lovely and so friendly. The rooms are gorgeous and yet very homey. We ate in The Grill at breakfast each day. The food was yummy and I don't know why you'd go any place else.
We stayed in a garden view room. You can tell there has been a drought because they are losing some of the pines, but sitting on the patio each morning with my coffee was still a highlight of my day. I think if I had been in an ocean view room, I might never have left.
Really,it is all the hundreds of little touches that make The Lodge so special. Unfortunately, we left there to stay in an equally expensive, but not near so luxurious hotel in Mission Bay. Wish we had stayed put and driven into San Diego each day. Oh well.
My husband was also able to play both golf courses while we were there. I rode along and the photo ops are fantastic. Do yourself a favor and play the South course for the scenery if nothing else.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Sbayles01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the lodge for three nights and had a wonderful time. The hotel and its grounds are beautifully situated on the coast. The service at the front desk and in hotel restaurants was top notch. The room was very spacious and clean. We ate breakfast at the hotel and although pricey, was very delicious. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kugorets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My wife and I have stayed here for the second year in a row this year. The rooms are super nice and views of the course and ocean are awesome and this staff makes us feel like we are the only guests in the Lodge. The golf course North and South are both a blast to play (the course is ran by the city, not part of the Lodge). South being a little more challenging. Last year when we stayed we had our 4 year old son w/us and one of the kids from the Golf Course actually made my son a small set of clubs from random clubs around the driving range shack for him to hit on the range. My son is a lefty so this wasn't easy! We'll be back as a yearly trip for us to the Lodge at Torrey Pines. KCCO Staff at Torrey! See you next year

Room Tip: Get a room facing the 18th green on the South Course. They have nice large decks and killer views of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,057 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,212 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 286 in San Diego
2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Torrey Pines

Address: 11480 North Torrey Pines Road, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1045
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: $380 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lodge at Torrey Pines 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Torrey Pines is an award-winning luxury resort set atop the cliffs of Torrey Pines State Beach in La Jolla, California. Awarded the AAA Five Diamond rating for 15 consecutive years, the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, and Travel + Leisure’s Top 50 Hotels in the United States and Canada, The Lodge provides stunning views of the world-renowned Torrey Pines Golf Course and Pacific Ocean and endless opportunities for guests to enjoy San Diego’s warm climate – from outdoor dining and relaxing at the spa to hiking, golfing and more. The Lodge is modeled after the famed Gamble and Blacker houses in Pasadena – two of the finest examples of early 1900s Craftsman-style architecture. Its post-and-beam construction features a natural color palette, graceful wing-like rooflines, shingle and sandstone-bluff exteriors, clinker-brick masonry, rich woodwork and natural stone surfaces. Arrivals are greeted by doormen attired in kilted Scottish dress, while inside are 170 spacious guest rooms and suites designed for supreme comfort. The Lodge’s signature restaurant A.R. Valentien – rated Best Hotel Restaurant in the West by Sunset Magazinein 2015 – is a destination for fresh regional cuisine served in an elegant setting overlooking the Torrey Pines Golf Course. Artisan Table Dinners highlighting farm-to-table fare in a communal setting are offered weekly, while Executive Chef Jackson headlines The Lodge’s annual Celebrate the Craft event, one of Southern California’s premier showcases for regionally grown ingredients and innovative cooking and winemaking. For a more casual vibe, The Grill at The Lodge offers a full menu of favorites whether dining indoors or on the patio, while its bar is an ideal gathering place after a day on the golf course. The Spa at Torrey Pines features signature treatments themed around the beauty and purity of the Pacific coastline. This 9,500 square foot space uses botanical and marine-based extracts from European product lines Phytomer, SkinCeuticals, Farmhouse Fresh and NV Organics to replenish and restore the body and mind. Additional features of The Lodge include a croquet lawn, heated outdoor pool and cabanas, whirlpool, outdoor terrace with chaise lounges, hiking at the adjacent Torrey Pines State Reserve, a fitness center and the Scripps Library, a public space featuring a pool table, board games and more. Adjacent to The Lodge, the Torrey Pines Golf Course is an iconic 36-hole course that hosts the PGA Tour’s annual Farmers Insurance Open. Whether on the North Course or South Course, our guests have the opportunity to play where the pros play with the stunning La Jolla coastline as a backdrop. Nearby attractions include downtown La Jolla and Del Mar, Birch Aquarium at the Scripps Institution of Oceanography, the La Jolla Playhouse performing arts center and the Museum of Contemporary Art. During spring and summer, the Del Mar Thoroughbred Club entices visitors with the thrill of live racing, while a popular year-round choice is the Torrey Pines State Reserve, a magnificent 2,000 acres of protected rare Torrey Pine trees featuring pristine beaches and eight miles of trails; The Lodge offers complimentary guided hikes throughout the preserve daily. The Lodge is located just 15 miles north of the San Diego International Airport and downtown San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lodge at Torrey Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Torrey Pines Hotel La Jolla
Hotel At Torrey Pines
Resort At Torrey Pines
Lodge San Diego
Lodge Torrey Pines
Inn Torrey Pines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing