We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and Unique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Torrey Pines

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lodge at Torrey Pines
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
67 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Excellent and Unique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here for one night with 2 children in early April. Our kids are 2 1/2 and 6 months and we would not have booked this hotel but for another tripadvisor review that reported that kids are welcome. That reviewer is correct. While this is not a kid friendly hotel in that its Craftsman design and golf centric location are not for kids, and it has a little bit of a Gentleman's Club atmosphere, the staff are kind and friendly and the pool is huge, heated and perfect for kids. Now, we stayed on the Sunday night at the end of Spring break and it seemed as it we had the whole place to ourselves, but still. We had a good time, ate at the lounge and made the most of everything. For example, no one shoo-ed our 2 year old off the croquet lawn when she was trying it out.

The craftsman exterior and interior design is wonderful and perfectly executed. It's like staying at the Gamble House. The rooms are a little dark, but that is syonymous with the design, so we had no problem with it. It helped that we had a Palisades room with an ocean view overlooking the 18th.

We would recommend this hotel and hope to stay there again sometime.....

Room Tip: Ocean view Palisades Room a must. Interior rooms look into a courtyard which looks a little dark, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Purim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    761
    161
    59
    19
    7
See reviews for
203
385
23
236
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

It was a brisk spring morning in La Jolla, California. March 21 brought an overcast sky and temperatures reaching nearly 60 degrees, but it did not deter from the beautiful coastal scenic drive I took, heading south towards the Lodge at Torrey Pines. My destination was located adjacent to the state park and hidden within a business park. I reached the entrance to the hotel and was immediately greeted by staff members dressed in traditional valet Scottish attire. I hand over my keys. I walk into the lobby. I was inspired. The hotel had a magnificent rustic yet sophisticated aesthetic. And the wood burning fireplace that crackled and popped as I went through the registration process was a warm welcome.

I was assigned room 610, a Palisade room on the ground level. Simply incredible. If you are going to pay for a stay, you might as well stay in this room category. The difference in price is worth it. I had an unobstructed view of the famous Torrey Pines golf course, a patio walk out, and enjoyed the warmth from the gas-lit fireplace after my room was just turned-down for the evening, compliments of housekeeping.

As I familiarized to these surroundings, I gained an appreciation to all the details; the craftsmanship, the maintenance, the hospitality. I am critical about the hotel, especially the guest rooms I stay in. And this one is truly the 5-star they portray themselves to be. Period.
Their ambiance -- formal. Low-key. Uber quiet. Too quiet for my taste, but it was only for a night, so I can definitely make due. Both restaurants are sophisticated and I would consider A.R Valentien’s lunch offerings are too sophisticated for most, but the cuisine was truly yumm-oh! The Lodge definately caters to the discerning traveler.

On my next short rendevous into San Diego I look forward to returning to The Lodge at Torrey Pines. Oh, and this time I will bring along a golf enthusiast who I know will appreciate it most!

Room Tip: The Palaside rooms are so different and worth the price difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

A very nice resort type hotel. You are treated like royalty. The Lodge breathes class and aristocratic elegance. The restaurant is delightful. In the morning, while sipping a cappuccino, the views of the fog lifting over the ocean and the spell of pines is intoxicating. A world-class experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay. The setting is beautiful, with the lush golf course and the natural beauty of the nature reserve and beach. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Breakfast by the pool was a highlight. We loved the Arts and Crafts decor.

The only disappointment was the complimentary "tour" of the state nature reserve, which was more of an escort than a tour. Our guide barely spoke as she led us to the park and didn't offer any explanations of the area's history or add any relevant information to enhance what we were seeing. It was complimentary, of course, so you can't complain too much, but I think the lodge shouldn't bill it as a "guided tour."

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erinsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stay here when visiting my sister in law and absolutely love it! The setting is gorgeous, the staff and service is great, and the rooms are probably my favorite rooms of ANY hotel.

The rooms are cozy with wonderful beds, modern bathroom fixtures, flatscreen tv's, beautiful decor (tifany style lamp!) the whole nine yards. The Lodge doesn't overlook a single comfort for their guests.

The grounds are Stunning, obviously the golf corse is highly regarded, nice pool, romantic hot tub gazebo overlooking the golf corse, and all this is set right on a bluff over a La Jolla beach.

With all the luxuries (great food, mini bar, spa, room service ect...) the price can add up relatively quickly. This is a treat we give ourselves every once in awhile and very worth it! Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oleander805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed here for two nights recently and loved it. The bellman who escorted us to our room took time to tell us the history of the lodge, the origin of some of the artwork as well as the inspiration for the architecture and decor. The rooms are beautifully appointed with golf course views and large balconies. The staff were freindly and engaging. The restaurant was fabulous. Can't say enough about the overall experience. It was terrific.

Room Tip: Ask for golf course view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sadcmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Global
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I actually stayed here on a business trip. Don't know if I would have paid this much on my own dollar for a hotel not named "Four Seasons", but this is probably the next best thing. Lordy Lordy it is beautiful and relaxing. Of course, I stayed for the only 3 days of continuous rain in San Diego history, but it meant more time in the hotel, which wasn't a horrible thing at a place like this. One thing about the rooms, they are catered for sleep. That's good and bad!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 637 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Torrey Pines

Property: The Lodge at Torrey Pines
Address: 11480 North Torrey Pines Road, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1045
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lodge at Torrey Pines 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Torrey Pines is an award-winning luxury resort set atop the cliffs of Torrey Pines State Beach in La Jolla, California. Awarded the AAA Five Diamond rating for 14 consecutive years, the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence for six years in a row, and Travel + Leisure’s Top 50 Hotels in the United States and Canada, The Lodge provides stunning views of the world-renowned Torrey Pines Golf Course and Pacific Ocean and endless opportunities for guests to enjoy San Diego’s warm climate – from outdoor dining and relaxing at the spa to hiking, golfing and more. The Lodge is modeled after the famed Gamble and Blacker houses in Pasadena – two of the finest examples of early 1900s Craftsman-style architecture. Its post-and-beam construction features a natural color palette, graceful wing-like rooflines, shingle and sandstone-bluff exteriors, clinker-brick masonry, rich woodwork and natural stone surfaces. Arrivals are greeted by doormen attired in kilted Scottish dress, while inside are 170 spacious guest rooms and suites designed for supreme comfort. The Lodge’s signature restaurant A.R. Valentien – rated Best Hotel Restaurant in the West by Sunset Magazine in 2015 – is a destination for fresh regional cuisine served in an elegant setting overlooking the Torrey Pines Golf Course. Artisan Table Dinners highlighting farm-to-table fare in a communal setting are offered weekly, while Executive Chef Jackson headlines The Lodge’s annual Celebrate the Craft event, one of Southern California’s premier showcases for regionally grown ingredients and innovative cooking and winemaking. For a more casual vibe, The Grill at The Lodge offers a full menu of favorites whether dining indoors or on the patio, while its bar is an ideal gathering place after a day on the course. The Spa at Torrey Pines features signature treatments themed around the beauty and purity of the Pacific coastline. This 9,500 square foot space uses botanical- and marine-based extracts from European product lines Phytomer, SkinCeuticals, Farmhouse Fresh and NV Organics to replenish and restore the body and mind. Additional features of The Lodge include a croquet lawn, heated outdoor pool and cabanas, whirlpool, outdoor terrace with chaise lounges, hiking at the adjacent Torrey Pines State Reserve, a fitness center and the Scripps Library, a public space featuring a pool table, board games and more. Adjacent to The Lodge, the Torrey Pines Golf Course is an iconic 36-hole course that hosts the PGA Tour’s annual Farmers Insurance Open. Whether on the North Course or South Course, our guests have the opportunity to play where the pros play with the stunning La Jolla coastline as a backdrop. Nearby attractions include downtown La Jolla and Del Mar, Birch Aquarium at the Scripps Institution of Oceanography, the La Jolla Playhouse performing arts center and the Museum of Contemporary Art. During spring and summer, the Del Mar Thoroughbred Club entices visitors with the thrill of live racing, while a popular year-round choice is the Torrey Pines State Reserve, a magnificent 2,000 acres of protected rare Torrey Pine trees featuring pristine beaches and eight miles of trails; The Lodge offers complimentary guided hikes throughout the preserve daily. The Lodge is located just 15 miles north of the San Diego International Airport and downtown San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Lodge at Torrey Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Torrey Pines Hotel La Jolla
Hotel At Torrey Pines
Resort At Torrey Pines
Lodge San Diego
Lodge Torrey Pines
Inn Torrey Pines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing