We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Elegant but rustic resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Torrey Pines

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Lodge at Torrey Pines to your Saves list
The Lodge at Torrey Pines
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   11480 North Torrey Pines Road, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Up to 10% off Room Rates
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Palatine, Illinois
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Elegant but rustic resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I stayed here for a business meeting and it went off without a hitch. The staff was excellent, accommodating and extremely friendly. Wish I had more time to enjoy the resort. The food and drinks were great quality. It was nicely located to take long runs with scenery.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the golf course/ocean or pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ROIofLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    727
    157
    55
    18
    7
See reviews for
191
365
23
228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The Lodge at Torrey Pines is WONDERFUL. It's elegant, quaint, and special. If you're in San Diego and you play golf this is a MUST STAY. The property is immaculate, the food is fabulous, and the staff is on-top-of-it all the way. Can't safe enough nice things about the place -- and I mean it.

Room Tip: A room with a view overlooking the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GolfingMagazineLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I spent the two wonderful nights at the Lodge on Torrey Pines last week. It was truly a treat after having stayed at another hotel in San Diego on business before arriving at this magnificent resort.

I was greeted by the most welcoming gentleman at the door. The rest of the staff was just as warm and friendly. My room overlooked a wonderful garden and the bed inspired me to reconsider what I have at home.

Dinner at the Valentien restaurant was magnificent and a chance to meet the chef was inspiring. I experienced the best massage ever at their spa.

I have only words of praise and the promise to be back with my fiancé.

Room Tip: Room 433 had a fantastic view of the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Ontario
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We spent two nights at this property and were very impressed with all aspects of the accommodation and service. Rooms were spacious and beautifully appointed, common areas and grounds were lovely, staff very gracious and helpful. One little glitch with the room was resolved promptly to our complete satisfaction. Food at the clubhouse restaurant was excellent. One member of our party played golf and was thrilled with the experience. Hiking in the nearby state park afforded beautiful views. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TTJJMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This review is long overdue....
I just completed my umpteenth stay at this property and can't wait to return again!
The staff is always wonderful and this facility is so comfortable and inviting it feels like home away from home - although far more luxurious.
As a veteran traveler, I am always searching out the best restaurants nearby my hotel. When I stay at the "Lodge", I don't even bother. The food is so good and so healthy, I just eat every meal there which makes for a very relaxing stay.

Another great plus is that it's right next Torrey Pines State Park which is perhaps the most scenic section of the entire California Coast. You can take an incredible nature hike right down to the beach from the hotel. It simply doesn't get any better than this in San Diego County - I know, I am a native...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alec H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The hotel was one of my favorite. We stayed for a week and I was not ready to leave. The setting is peaceful, the view beautiful and the food delicious. So many great restaurants in the area as well. No golfing and still had fun.

Room Tip: Can be a long walk to parking. If this matters to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Apopka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Our stay during summer 2012 at the Lodge at Torrey Pines was excellent. Staff was very forthcoming, helpfull and super-friendly. The location is perfect : tranquil, secluded, beautiful views, close to the highway. We loved the golf course, and the swimming pool. The interior decoration is stunning, with lots of attention to details. Do take a stroll through the inner garden which is well designed and kept to perfection. Enjoy your Sunday breakfast on the terrace with a view over the gardens towards the ocean.

Room Tip: Do avoid the rooms at ground level, as these can be dark. Go for the second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerfromholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 562 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Torrey Pines

Property: The Lodge at Torrey Pines
Address: 11480 North Torrey Pines Road, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lodge at Torrey Pines 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests are greeted at The Lodge's porte-cochère by doormen attired in kilted Scottish Dress. Inside are 170 guest rooms, 12,000 square feet of meeting space, spa, 2 restaurants, and expansive public rooms with fireplaces, comfortable leather chairs and amazing views of the Torrey Pines and the Pacific Ocean beyond. Behind The Lodge is a heated pool with cabanas, whirlpool, croquet lawn, and a large terrace with chaise lounges for basking in the Southern California sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TravelClick, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Orbitz, Otel, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Lodge at Torrey Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Torrey Pines Hotel La Jolla
Hotel At Torrey Pines
Resort At Torrey Pines
Lodge San Diego
Lodge Torrey Pines
Inn Torrey Pines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing