We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect wedding venue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lodge at Torrey Pines
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Palo Alto, California
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect wedding venue”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Looking back, I realize that our son and his bride could not have chosen a better place for their August 2012 reception & wedding weekend than the Lodge at Torrey Pines. From our first tasting last winter, to the reception and post-wedding breakfast, the food was absolutely delicious, and the service throughout the Lodge, from the valet and front desk to the grill and poolside bar, was impeccable. I was particularly impressed at how the catering department was able to help us throw together the breakfast on short notice.The Fries Room turned out to be the perfect venue for that, and our guests really appreciated the chance to gather there once last time before dispersing to all parts of the globe. Truly, you can't go wrong with this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorCalPal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    892
    181
    65
    19
    9
See reviews for
237
443
27
277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amelia Island, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The Lodge at Torrey Pines is anything but my idea of a lodge. The only thing that resembles a lodge is the mission style decor...other than that it is a first class hotel all the way. The staff is outstanding from the person that cleans your room to the front desk staff.

Our room was terrific--nice bathroom with great bath products and wonderful towels. Each evening the turndown service included not only turning down the bed but placing rugs by your bed with your slippers on it and little surprises on your pillow, Each day the robes were re-hung and tied.

I felt like they thought of everything--two luggage racks, two chairs at the desk, a leather chair with ottoman, make up mirrors for the women and a patio or balcony for sitting outside and enjoying the weather.

My husband and I ate a late dinner at the Grill the night we arrived and lunch one day. The wait staff were excellent at the service aspect as well as making suggestions for what to have for the meal. The wine list was quite nice with reasonable prices. We had a $40 bottle of albarino. Our dinner consisted of a chicken stew with mashed potatoes and roasted root vegetables.. We also had a salad. Total bill was $115 including the wine and gratuity..The Grill offered the opportunity to eat outside if you wanted. I had delicious homemade granola and blueberry pancakes for breakfast one morning and the wait staff suggested that I get a smaller portion and she reduced the price of the bill.

As my husband was here for a conference many of our meals were planned therefore the times to enjoy the restaurantsl were somewhat limited.

The surrounding grounds were beautiful with many walkways for running or walking. The pool area was large enough to accommodate families and also adults relaxing at the pool and reading.

It was an enjoyable trip and we would love to revisit it again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor with a limited view but plenty of privacy. The higher floor rooms w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patsy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We live in San Diego and this was our 35th wedding anniversary and a surprise getaway for my husband. We have traveled extensionively and this is the finest hotel and restaurant we have ever stayed in. We felt like royality from arrival to exist. ALL the staff or any employee we passed said hi and how can they help. The dinner at AR Valentien was amazing fro the first bite and the corn muffin (heavenly) through dessert was terrific. We had a room on the 3rd floor overlooking the 18th green with an amazing sunset and could get to the main lobby in 5 minutes. We did stay on a Monday night after Labor Day tourists but this was one of the most memorable anniversaries, up there with our 25th in Moorea Tahiti.

Room Tip: Room 313 is lucky and great view of 18th green and ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaJ60750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

From the staff to the suite, this was a superior resort that should not be missed.

We arrived around lunch time, hours ahead of the regular check in time. Front desk staff said if we had lunch at the Grille, they'd have the room ready when we were done. They stored our bags and promised delivery after we checked in.

After lunch, the room was ready and it was AMAZING. We stayed in the Robinson Suite, which is on the ground floor, and opened on to the golf course. It was the finest hotel room I have ever had. From the entry way with custom artwork, to the sitting area with fireplace, to the outdoor patio with 2 seating areas, I was blown away. A Bellhop brought luggage to room within the first five minutes of our arrival and was great in showing us around the suite.

We enjoyed many features of the room, including sipping wine in front of the fireplace as well as on the patio watching the sunset. We also enjoyed room service dinner on our own dining table. Food was above average and service was excellent and prompt.

The suite (and entire resort) was impeccably clean. Linens were of very high quality and the bed was comfortable.

We enjoyed the pool, whirlpool and a game of billiards in the game room. Don't miss the atmosphere of and the view from the whirlpool.

This resort should be on everyone's list of places to stay. It is really a special place, meticulously designed, well kept and with world class service. There is nothing about my stay that could have been improved upon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BuckyBadger123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

A most excellent Hotel, situate overlooking the Torrey Pines Golf Courses, where Tiger Woods last won the US Open in 2008. As the name suggests, it's wooden lodge style and pine trees literally abound. The rooms are capacious and comfortable, always sparking clean and fresh. All the staff we met were friendly and helpful. First night, we ate in "The Grill" which is down beside the Golf Course, and on the third night we ate on the verandah of the hotel Restaurant. The dining menus are good, although not exactly inspiring, and be forewarned that the drinks in the Hotel Bar are not cheap. But really, that doesn't detract from the amenities on offer. There is a lovely heated pool with its own bar facility, and an abundance of comfortable sun-beds. Eating breakfast on the terrace outside "The Grill", watching the golfers - some good, some very good and some pretty awful - driving off the First Tee on the South Course, makes for a marvellous hour or so in the sun. The only downside is that because of the Hotel's inherent location, it's somewhat isolated, and if you want to eat out elsewhere, you have to drive. Nor are there any local shopping facilities. Second night, we ate at George's At The Cove at La Jolla, maybe twenty minutes drive from Torrey Pines. Make sure you book - it was very busy the night we were there. Watch the sun go down from the bar and then repair upstairs to the restaurant, where George offers an extensive fish menu, albeit with some strange mixtures and combinations! Not overly expensive but not cheap either. And even if you don't want to eat there, the trip to La Jolla is worthwhile as you can sit and watch the sea-lions dive and sunbathe on the rocks in the bay. Overall, our stay at Torrey Pines was very enjoyable indeed, and we're almost certain to return there in 2013.

Room Tip: Better rooms look to the front of the hotel, down towards the pool and the golf courses, but there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, TX
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I love this hotel because it is so charming. The entrance is storybook lovely. It is on top of a cliff overlooking the ocean surrounded by pine trees. The bed was super comfortable and the room was very quiet. We had a nice balcony that overlooked a courtyard on the 3rd floor. Our bathroom was large with lots of granite and big soaking tub/shower. Our favorite part of the hotel is the lovely grounds and salt water swimming pool. The view is spectacular and the service poolside is friendly and fast. We also loved the close self parking and easy in and out with fast access to La Jolla, Del Mar, and the freeway.

Room Tip: Quiet on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiramisulover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My two sisters and I stayed at The Lodge at Torrey Pines for two nights. We were here to see my nephew get married at the Torrey Pines Gliderport. What a fabulous stay we had! The rooms were clean and very comfortable for 3 people. With 3 of us trying to get ready for a wedding, we had no trouble at all -- bathroom was very accommodating. The balcony was fantastic with a view of the golf course. The pool was very nice and quiet. We had drinks out at the pool, which were a bit pricey, but you are at a 5 star hotel. The staff was so nice, as well. We didn't eat on the property, due to other family obligations, so I can't comment on the food. I happened to love the mission style decor and didn't think it was dated; I thought it was really cool.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,173 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Torrey Pines

Property: The Lodge at Torrey Pines
Address: 11480 North Torrey Pines Road, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1045
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Green Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lodge at Torrey Pines 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Torrey Pines is an award-winning luxury resort set atop the cliffs of Torrey Pines State Beach in La Jolla, California. Awarded the AAA Five Diamond rating for 15 consecutive years, the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, and Travel + Leisure’s Top 50 Hotels in the United States and Canada, The Lodge provides stunning views of the world-renowned Torrey Pines Golf Course and Pacific Ocean and endless opportunities for guests to enjoy San Diego’s warm climate – from outdoor dining and relaxing at the spa to hiking, golfing and more. The Lodge is modeled after the famed Gamble and Blacker houses in Pasadena – two of the finest examples of early 1900s Craftsman-style architecture. Its post-and-beam construction features a natural color palette, graceful wing-like rooflines, shingle and sandstone-bluff exteriors, clinker-brick masonry, rich woodwork and natural stone surfaces. Arrivals are greeted by doormen attired in kilted Scottish dress, while inside are 170 spacious guest rooms and suites designed for supreme comfort. The Lodge’s signature restaurant A.R. Valentien – rated Best Hotel Restaurant in the West by Sunset Magazinein 2015 – is a destination for fresh regional cuisine served in an elegant setting overlooking the Torrey Pines Golf Course. Artisan Table Dinners highlighting farm-to-table fare in a communal setting are offered weekly, while Executive Chef Jackson headlines The Lodge’s annual Celebrate the Craft event, one of Southern California’s premier showcases for regionally grown ingredients and innovative cooking and winemaking. For a more casual vibe, The Grill at The Lodge offers a full menu of favorites whether dining indoors or on the patio, while its bar is an ideal gathering place after a day on the golf course. The Spa at Torrey Pines features signature treatments themed around the beauty and purity of the Pacific coastline. This 9,500 square foot space uses botanical and marine-based extracts from European product lines Phytomer, SkinCeuticals, Farmhouse Fresh and NV Organics to replenish and restore the body and mind. Additional features of The Lodge include a croquet lawn, heated outdoor pool and cabanas, whirlpool, outdoor terrace with chaise lounges, hiking at the adjacent Torrey Pines State Reserve, a fitness center and the Scripps Library, a public space featuring a pool table, board games and more. Adjacent to The Lodge, the Torrey Pines Golf Course is an iconic 36-hole course that hosts the PGA Tour’s annual Farmers Insurance Open. Whether on the North Course or South Course, our guests have the opportunity to play where the pros play with the stunning La Jolla coastline as a backdrop. Nearby attractions include downtown La Jolla and Del Mar, Birch Aquarium at the Scripps Institution of Oceanography, the La Jolla Playhouse performing arts center and the Museum of Contemporary Art. During spring and summer, the Del Mar Thoroughbred Club entices visitors with the thrill of live racing, while a popular year-round choice is the Torrey Pines State Reserve, a magnificent 2,000 acres of protected rare Torrey Pine trees featuring pristine beaches and eight miles of trails; The Lodge offers complimentary guided hikes throughout the preserve daily. The Lodge is located just 15 miles north of the San Diego International Airport and downtown San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lodge at Torrey Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Torrey Pines Hotel La Jolla
Hotel At Torrey Pines
Resort At Torrey Pines
Lodge San Diego
Lodge Torrey Pines
Inn Torrey Pines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing