We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable weekend.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Lodge at Torrey Pines
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Upland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A memorable weekend.”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

For his 80th birthday my husband just wanted to go away with me (there were more celebrations later) but for health reasons Paris was out of the question and the drive shouldn't be too long. What to do? After checking out several places, I decided on the Lodge at Torrey Pines: only two hours away, we hadn't been there, and close to the Ocean. Our stay surpassed all expectations!! Warm reception (even a welcome from the manager), superb service, lovely room, great food. Not only did the fruit I had ordered in advance appear shortly after we arrived, but it was accompanied by a complimentary champagne. The last time we had their kind of turn-down service was at the Four Seasons in Paris. We don't golf, but enjoyed a guided walk through the reserve, a stroll through La Jolla, or relaxing on the balcony with a view of the golf course and Pacific. Truly a special weekend!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ursula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    866
    178
    62
    19
    8
See reviews for
226
428
27
272
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pueblo, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

A friend and I had the opportunity to spend five nights at the beautiful Lodge and its surroundings. All of the hotel staff were most accommodating to our needs. Both of us are handicapped and the room arrangements provided for our necessities. In addition, the staff upgraded our room so that we had an outstanding view of the golfcourse and ocean which delighted us daily. We hope to be able to return. We used the valet service for the car and the staff was efficient and effective each time we needed it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the golfcourse and the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I had heard of Torrey Pines always in reference to golfing getaways. However, one does not need to golf to enjoy the surroundings of this place. It is quaint without being too small and it is spacious without being overly commercial. The spa services were very good, efficient and competent. The spa rooms are also very clean and relaxing. It is decorated in Arts & Crafts style and is very homey. I ate at both restaurants, very current menu's--the chef must be up to date on the latest in trendy meal combinations. The room was VERY spacious and all of the service people I came in contact treated me kindly. It was very clean and they allowed self parking which is only $1 less than the valet. Not sure it that is good or bad, but I liked the option of not having to valet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

First time my wife and I had visited this resort. The Lodge is a great hotel and I would highly recommend staying here. The only negative I have is that it is located in an area that doesn't have much else to do other than golf. Needless to say the golf is the bext and the facilities cater to that. Even though the golf courses are public and run by the city, the lodge has a "golf concierage" that helps you work through the city system. Other activities are about a 30 minute drive from thre resort so it isn't much of a negative. As mentioned in other reviews I don't think it is a place for a regular family vacation as there isn't a lot to do on-site

Room Tip: Ask to face the golf courses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djs1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Amazing Arts and Crafts architecture with Mortise and tenon wood work. Art Nouveau Favile Tiffany glass and art, along with Art Deco Tiffany lamps. The rooms are spacious and the beds sleep wonderfully. The men loved the golf courses and the girls the spa. The best facial I have ever had. Dining the first and last nights the dining room leaves ones' pallet very satisfied. Breakfast was fantastic each morning. Turn down service each night. A wonderful place to vacation and really relax and pamper oneself.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanp99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The Lodge is a beautiful setting with rooms that are spacious and clean; staff answered all questions with friendly helpful answers and suggestions; the concierge was attentive to every detail in searching for and arranging cars, restaurant reservations and even taking the time to take a family photo! I would highly recommend The Lodge to anyone traveling the San Diego area and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My husband and I decided to plan a weekend staycation to celebrate our anniversary and chose the Lodge. Since we live in San Diego, we wanted something with a great atmosphere that would make us feel like we really got away and we weren't disappointed. Our room was beautiful with a great patio to sit outside The service was amazing - the staff took care of any need and were very welcoming. The grounds are beautiful and they even have a croquet lawn that was a lot of fun. Don't miss the burger at The Grill for a delicious evening dinner. We would definitely return for another weekend!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LMR500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
878 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,150 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Torrey Pines

Property: The Lodge at Torrey Pines
Address: 11480 North Torrey Pines Road, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1045
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lodge at Torrey Pines 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Torrey Pines is an award-winning luxury resort set atop the cliffs of Torrey Pines State Beach in La Jolla, California. Awarded the AAA Five Diamond rating for 14 consecutive years, the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence for six years in a row, and Travel + Leisure’s Top 50 Hotels in the United States and Canada, The Lodge provides stunning views of the world-renowned Torrey Pines Golf Course and Pacific Ocean and endless opportunities for guests to enjoy San Diego’s warm climate – from outdoor dining and relaxing at the spa to hiking, golfing and more. The Lodge is modeled after the famed Gamble and Blacker houses in Pasadena – two of the finest examples of early 1900s Craftsman-style architecture. Its post-and-beam construction features a natural color palette, graceful wing-like rooflines, shingle and sandstone-bluff exteriors, clinker-brick masonry, rich woodwork and natural stone surfaces. Arrivals are greeted by doormen attired in kilted Scottish dress, while inside are 170 spacious guest rooms and suites designed for supreme comfort. The Lodge’s signature restaurant A.R. Valentien – rated Best Hotel Restaurant in the West by Sunset Magazine in 2015 – is a destination for fresh regional cuisine served in an elegant setting overlooking the Torrey Pines Golf Course. Artisan Table Dinners highlighting farm-to-table fare in a communal setting are offered weekly, while Executive Chef Jackson headlines The Lodge’s annual Celebrate the Craft event, one of Southern California’s premier showcases for regionally grown ingredients and innovative cooking and winemaking. For a more casual vibe, The Grill at The Lodge offers a full menu of favorites whether dining indoors or on the patio, while its bar is an ideal gathering place after a day on the course. The Spa at Torrey Pines features signature treatments themed around the beauty and purity of the Pacific coastline. This 9,500 square foot space uses botanical- and marine-based extracts from European product lines Phytomer, SkinCeuticals, Farmhouse Fresh and NV Organics to replenish and restore the body and mind. Additional features of The Lodge include a croquet lawn, heated outdoor pool and cabanas, whirlpool, outdoor terrace with chaise lounges, hiking at the adjacent Torrey Pines State Reserve, a fitness center and the Scripps Library, a public space featuring a pool table, board games and more. Adjacent to The Lodge, the Torrey Pines Golf Course is an iconic 36-hole course that hosts the PGA Tour’s annual Farmers Insurance Open. Whether on the North Course or South Course, our guests have the opportunity to play where the pros play with the stunning La Jolla coastline as a backdrop. Nearby attractions include downtown La Jolla and Del Mar, Birch Aquarium at the Scripps Institution of Oceanography, the La Jolla Playhouse performing arts center and the Museum of Contemporary Art. During spring and summer, the Del Mar Thoroughbred Club entices visitors with the thrill of live racing, while a popular year-round choice is the Torrey Pines State Reserve, a magnificent 2,000 acres of protected rare Torrey Pine trees featuring pristine beaches and eight miles of trails; The Lodge offers complimentary guided hikes throughout the preserve daily. The Lodge is located just 15 miles north of the San Diego International Airport and downtown San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lodge at Torrey Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Torrey Pines Hotel La Jolla
Hotel At Torrey Pines
Resort At Torrey Pines
Lodge San Diego
Lodge Torrey Pines
Inn Torrey Pines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing