We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed and great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lodge at Torrey Pines
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We enjoyed staying at the lodge. Beautiful location, relaxed but superior service, and we had a "to die for" view from our room. We normally stay at modern hotels with huge windows. So I was not sure how I would feel in this Arts and Craft lodge. As we walked into the lobby, down the hall, into our room, we really appreciated the beauty and thoughtfulness of this place. The lodge was very intimate, and staff members were attentive. I personally loved the lawn in front of our room where we could sit and watch the sun set.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hohoho300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,186)
There are newer reviews for The Lodge at Torrey Pines
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

859 - 865 of 1,186 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed at Torrey Pines for a weekend getaway. The accommodations where outstanding and the service from the Valet, Front Desk and Staff was outstanding. While Valentin’s restaurant has a limited menu the food was very good and the service excellent. The golf course and grounds are wonderful along with the ocean views. We have traveled throughout Europe and the States and can say the Service and attention to detail we received at Torrey Pines was second to none.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Enjoyed a weekend stay at Torrey Pines with family. Beautiful hotel and grounds, especially enjoyed pool, hot tub and golf. Food was excellent at both restaurants and waiters were friendly & professional. Pool service was off with an exceptionally long wait time for our lunch. Room was nice but had some maintenance issues (patio door was stuck closed when we arrived & door handle in bath was loose. Maids forgot to leave towels when they cleaned. With more attention to detail, could be five star.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dosmadre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed at the Lodge for the first time last week and loved our stay. Although they were very busy we had excellent service and never felt rushed or ignored. Every staff member we encountered was professional and very pleasant to deal with. The views of the Pacific ocean beyond the grounds and golf course are gorgeous as hot air ballons glide by many days. We had an excellent dinner in the restaurant eating outside under torrey pine trees overlooking the pool and golf course. We did not play golf but did enjoy the pool, gym,gorgeous views, and the short walk to the terriic Torrey Pines state park where we hiked the trails, swam in the ocean, and relaxed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lou07_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I've been staying at the Lodge at Torrey Pines in La Jolla, California for a number of years now. Last week my wife and I spent a few days there to celebrate our 33rd wedding anniversary. I travel all the time throughout North American and Europe and I can honestly say that the Lodge at Torrey Pines ranks with the best in the world. The location is superb - overlooking a world class golf course, the Torrey Pines pool, and the Pacific Ocean while also watching paragliders over the coast. For me at least it's also a thrill to see Navy fighters and Marine helicopters flying overhead. Location north of San Diego is great - you can be downtown in 20 minutes or at the beaches in Del Mar in 20 minutes in the other direction. The Lodge is also right next to the Torrey Pines Reserve which has some wonderful beaches and hiking trails. The service - from the valet parking to check-in to housekeeping to restaurant service - is also superb. We ordered room service several times and our food arrived, well-prepared, within 20 minutes. The rooms themselves are also outstanding - they are large (the bathroom is larger than my apartment, well almost), well-decorated, have an Adirondack lodge feel about them, beautiful patio that seats two with table comfortably. Artwork and amenities are also wonderful. Newspaper is delivered every morning in a green felt Lodge bag - nice touch. Car was brought around quickly each time I needed it. Overall a wonderful experience. I'll be back again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerseyLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

A few reviews have commented on this being a great place to stay for golfers, but not necessarily for others. Well, we stayed for three nights, never played any golf, and thought the place was first rate. The staff was helpful from the first time I called to tell them of our late arrival to after the stay when we figured out we left a computer charger in our hotel room. In between, the concierge gave us helpful information, the front desk and housekeeping was most professional and responsive, and the restaurant staff was helpful as well, including one time when we didn't eat a meal, but my wife wanted a little bread. In this last case, Diamond at The Grill was particularly accommodating and deserves special thanks.

Our room was spacious and the bed comfortable. We didn't have a balcony or patio, and if I go back, I would ask for one. The room included a fridge, and in a nice change from other higher end hotels, complementary internet access.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies, some do not. Ask for one.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We spent 6 days at this resort known for the golf course next door, but did not golf once. The kids loved the pool (2 shallow ends), watching and trying to identify the navy aircraft fly overhead, and the croquet lawn. The staff was very friendly. The kids also enjoyed the decorative lamps in the rooms. My only negative comment is that I felt like our first floor room should have had more natural light, and the spa has no natural light source. When you are outside, however, the setting is beautiful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Supertravelmom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,183 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Torrey Pines

Address: 11480 North Torrey Pines Road, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1045
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: $385 - $519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lodge at Torrey Pines 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Torrey Pines is an award-winning luxury resort set atop the cliffs of Torrey Pines State Beach in La Jolla, California. Awarded the AAA Five Diamond rating for 15 consecutive years, the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, and Travel + Leisure’s Top 50 Hotels in the United States and Canada, The Lodge provides stunning views of the world-renowned Torrey Pines Golf Course and Pacific Ocean and endless opportunities for guests to enjoy San Diego’s warm climate – from outdoor dining and relaxing at the spa to hiking, golfing and more. The Lodge is modeled after the famed Gamble and Blacker houses in Pasadena – two of the finest examples of early 1900s Craftsman-style architecture. Its post-and-beam construction features a natural color palette, graceful wing-like rooflines, shingle and sandstone-bluff exteriors, clinker-brick masonry, rich woodwork and natural stone surfaces. Arrivals are greeted by doormen attired in kilted Scottish dress, while inside are 170 spacious guest rooms and suites designed for supreme comfort. The Lodge’s signature restaurant A.R. Valentien – rated Best Hotel Restaurant in the West by Sunset Magazinein 2015 – is a destination for fresh regional cuisine served in an elegant setting overlooking the Torrey Pines Golf Course. Artisan Table Dinners highlighting farm-to-table fare in a communal setting are offered weekly, while Executive Chef Jackson headlines The Lodge’s annual Celebrate the Craft event, one of Southern California’s premier showcases for regionally grown ingredients and innovative cooking and winemaking. For a more casual vibe, The Grill at The Lodge offers a full menu of favorites whether dining indoors or on the patio, while its bar is an ideal gathering place after a day on the golf course. The Spa at Torrey Pines features signature treatments themed around the beauty and purity of the Pacific coastline. This 9,500 square foot space uses botanical and marine-based extracts from European product lines Phytomer, SkinCeuticals, Farmhouse Fresh and NV Organics to replenish and restore the body and mind. Additional features of The Lodge include a croquet lawn, heated outdoor pool and cabanas, whirlpool, outdoor terrace with chaise lounges, hiking at the adjacent Torrey Pines State Reserve, a fitness center and the Scripps Library, a public space featuring a pool table, board games and more. Adjacent to The Lodge, the Torrey Pines Golf Course is an iconic 36-hole course that hosts the PGA Tour’s annual Farmers Insurance Open. Whether on the North Course or South Course, our guests have the opportunity to play where the pros play with the stunning La Jolla coastline as a backdrop. Nearby attractions include downtown La Jolla and Del Mar, Birch Aquarium at the Scripps Institution of Oceanography, the La Jolla Playhouse performing arts center and the Museum of Contemporary Art. During spring and summer, the Del Mar Thoroughbred Club entices visitors with the thrill of live racing, while a popular year-round choice is the Torrey Pines State Reserve, a magnificent 2,000 acres of protected rare Torrey Pine trees featuring pristine beaches and eight miles of trails; The Lodge offers complimentary guided hikes throughout the preserve daily. The Lodge is located just 15 miles north of the San Diego International Airport and downtown San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lodge at Torrey Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Torrey Pines Hotel La Jolla
Hotel At Torrey Pines
Resort At Torrey Pines
Lodge San Diego
Lodge Torrey Pines
Inn Torrey Pines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing