We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“A fantastic getaway splurge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Torrey Pines

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lodge at Torrey Pines
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Toronto
Level Contributor
139 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“A fantastic getaway splurge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

A visit to San Diego must include a visit to La Jolla and the Lodge. What gorgeous grounds with gold course and hiking in Torrey Pines. The hike is quite a trek - but you will be proud of yourself and the gorgeous cliff and water views. The front desk can provide you with maps.
The rooms are spacious and luxurious with an excellent turn-down service. We used the hot tub but not the pool as the weather was slightly cool. The bathroom is large and spacious. The view of the golf course from the hot tub is lovely. The food in the Golf Restaurant was only ok - we had breakfast and lunch there. AR Valentien was very good in terms of service and food selections but the food was slightly heavy. We got a superb rate from Expedia Unpublished Rates (which essentially is Hotwire) for La Jolla. In hotels in Newport Beach and La Jolla, planes fly overhead every few minutes and can't be avoided. There was a fridge in the room and a complimentary bottle of water in the bathroom.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yvrgirlToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    748
    160
    57
    19
    7
See reviews for
200
377
23
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

This place rocks! Beautiful grounds and view are just a part of the total charm of the Lodge at Torrey Pines. The buildings are warm and inviting and the best part is that the staff is just flawless in execution. I had only 2 days there, and every minute was perfect. The rooms are really nicely done and comfortable. All in all a very nice place. HIGHLY recommend. The only thing would be if they offered a shuttle from the airport...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SalesLeader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Outstanding hotel, one of the very best in America. Great service, great restaurant, very comfortable. Incredible vistas. Don't miss when in San Diego!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

I call the Lodge at Torrey Pines this because it is my favorite hotel in the Golden State. And that assessment is based on more than a dozen visits over the past decade or so. It's locale is unsurpassed, its design and ambience unique and appealing, done as it is in the Calfirnoa Craftsman style. Service is first rate, and the Lodge's A.R. Valentien restaurant is excellent for both business dinners and romantic tete-a-tetes with your spouse or significant other. I also like the Spa there a great deal, and nothing quite beats the rooms and suites on the 5th floor, overlooking the golf course where an annual PGA Tour event is contested each year, the ocean stretching out beyond. Just beautiful, and my advice is: run, do not walk, to this superb inn.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming, Michigan
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

A quiet retreat. Rooms were very clean! Room Service was done in a timely manner and breakfast in our room was a great way to start the day. Loved the in-room coffee! Staff was friendly and helpful. Guests seemed to be "working", not many there for leisure. We were able to do a Saturday Yoga Class, free of charge-wonderful! Spouse used Spa Facilties: Staff was nice & attentive, facilities were clean, with a very calming atmosphere.

PRO: Clean and Updated, Many Amenities, Helpful Staff and Housekeeping Quick to Please, Quiet, Easy Access to the Torrey Pines Trails, Golf (however we didn't). CONS: Far away from Restaurants & La Jolla-must use a car, Not a Vacation-Resort Feeling, No Refrig./Microwave in the room we had.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregsfinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveling CA, Manager at The Lodge at Torrey Pines, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Thank you for your kind review of The Lodge at Torrey Pines and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry our staff did not point out the refrigerator in your room. All our rooms have a refrigerator in them but they are built into the bar area and look like a piece of furniture in the entranceway of the room. This is something our bell staff should be pointing out and we will bring this up to our team to ensure no other guest encounters this issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Every reviewer is correct, it's a lovely, comfortable, homey first rate property. I celebrated my 50th birthday here on a girls' getaway, and I can't say how lovely it was to hang here for a couple of days.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank E S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed at the Lodge at Torrey Pines for 3 nights in Feb. '12 and found it to be an amazing facility. Located on the property of the Torrey Pines golf course, in the TP state park in northern La Jolla and just minutes from charming Del Mar. It definately has a resort feel to it, and the staff were some of the most professional and accomodating that you will find anywhere. The rooms were spacious and nicely appointed. The grill room was great for breakfast and overlooks the practice greens. I did not eat at the main restaurant as we were there for a conference, and dinners were arranged, but I understand that the chef is world class and uses local organic ingredients.

I got a chance to play the south course (check that off the bucket list) and was in awe of the spectacular natural beauty even more than I expected.

If you ever get the chance to visit or stay at this property it is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Be careful of the locking sliding glass door to the balconey. We got locked out on our balconey one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ran_Away_Crying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 612 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Torrey Pines

Property: The Lodge at Torrey Pines
Address: 11480 North Torrey Pines Road, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1045
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lodge at Torrey Pines 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Torrey Pines is an award-winning luxury resort set atop the cliffs of Torrey Pines State Beach in La Jolla, California. Awarded the AAA Five Diamond rating for 14 consecutive years, the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence for six years in a row, and Travel + Leisure’s Top 50 Hotels in the United States and Canada, The Lodge provides stunning views of the world-renowned Torrey Pines Golf Course and Pacific Ocean and endless opportunities for guests to enjoy San Diego’s warm climate – from outdoor dining and relaxing at the spa to hiking, golfing and more. The Lodge is modeled after the famed Gamble and Blacker houses in Pasadena – two of the finest examples of early 1900s Craftsman-style architecture. Its post-and-beam construction features a natural color palette, graceful wing-like rooflines, shingle and sandstone-bluff exteriors, clinker-brick masonry, rich woodwork and natural stone surfaces. Arrivals are greeted by doormen attired in kilted Scottish dress, while inside are 170 spacious guest rooms and suites designed for supreme comfort. The Lodge’s signature restaurant A.R. Valentien – rated Best Hotel Restaurant in the West by Sunset Magazine in 2015 – is a destination for fresh regional cuisine served in an elegant setting overlooking the Torrey Pines Golf Course. Artisan Table Dinners highlighting farm-to-table fare in a communal setting are offered weekly, while Executive Chef Jackson headlines The Lodge’s annual Celebrate the Craft event, one of Southern California’s premier showcases for regionally grown ingredients and innovative cooking and winemaking. For a more casual vibe, The Grill at The Lodge offers a full menu of favorites whether dining indoors or on the patio, while its bar is an ideal gathering place after a day on the course. The Spa at Torrey Pines features signature treatments themed around the beauty and purity of the Pacific coastline. This 9,500 square foot space uses botanical- and marine-based extracts from European product lines Phytomer, SkinCeuticals, Farmhouse Fresh and NV Organics to replenish and restore the body and mind. Additional features of The Lodge include a croquet lawn, heated outdoor pool and cabanas, whirlpool, outdoor terrace with chaise lounges, hiking at the adjacent Torrey Pines State Reserve, a fitness center and the Scripps Library, a public space featuring a pool table, board games and more. Adjacent to The Lodge, the Torrey Pines Golf Course is an iconic 36-hole course that hosts the PGA Tour’s annual Farmers Insurance Open. Whether on the North Course or South Course, our guests have the opportunity to play where the pros play with the stunning La Jolla coastline as a backdrop. Nearby attractions include downtown La Jolla and Del Mar, Birch Aquarium at the Scripps Institution of Oceanography, the La Jolla Playhouse performing arts center and the Museum of Contemporary Art. During spring and summer, the Del Mar Thoroughbred Club entices visitors with the thrill of live racing, while a popular year-round choice is the Torrey Pines State Reserve, a magnificent 2,000 acres of protected rare Torrey Pine trees featuring pristine beaches and eight miles of trails; The Lodge offers complimentary guided hikes throughout the preserve daily. The Lodge is located just 15 miles north of the San Diego International Airport and downtown San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Otel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Lodge at Torrey Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Torrey Pines Hotel La Jolla
Hotel At Torrey Pines
Resort At Torrey Pines
Lodge San Diego
Lodge Torrey Pines
Inn Torrey Pines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing