We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“One of the world's most-beautiful hotels!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lodge at Torrey Pines

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lodge at Torrey Pines
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Warrenton, Virginia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“One of the world's most-beautiful hotels!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

Having had the privilege of staying at many of the world's finest (and some of the worst) hotels, I was still knocked out by the beauty, splendid design and attention to detail of this establishment. For my tastes and my wife's, the Lodge was close to perfect and we absolutely would go back, if the travel gods took us near La Jolla again. That said, I must be clear: If your tastes run to the Pierre or Sherry in their heydays, the Lodge isn't for you. There's no glitz. Instead, you get a masterful take on California Craftsman-era architecture and interior design: Greene and Greene, but with more light. The rooms are stunners, furnished with Stickley and Roycroft-style items (and William Morris wallpaper in the bathrooms). The spa, in a nod to Scotland's golf tradition, uses Charles Rennie McIntosh reproductions. Artwork, both real and made-to-order, is handsome--with some truly superb California paintings here and there...plus a hallway of original framed German Jugendstil "Jugend" magazine covers. Brilliant design and workmanship throughout. For me, this is the ultimate "upscale male" type of furnishing, but my wife found it remarkably seductive, as well. Okay, so you're not into Craftsman stuff or architecture. Well, you've got the best public golf course in the USA (not my thing--I go in for real sports). The restaurant, Valentien's, is terrific. The entire staff is gracious, helpful and seem to actually like working there...if only this lodge were in a true rural setting, it would be perfect. Only downside for us is that it's sandwiched between the golf course--which keeps you from approaching the cliffs and the sea--and a busy main road and research park. While the Torry Pines State Park is only a three-quarter-mile walk to the north, it's a small and very crowded park (great for morning runs, though). All that said, this is a marvelous hotel, an instant favorite with us, a grander version of another favorite of ours, the Stephanie Inn in Cannon Beach, Oregon, and a grandchild of my favorite hotel in the world, the Ahwanee in Yosemite (for the authentic architecture and design--and the magnificent location--Sorrento, eat your heart out). Really, the Lodge is an amazing place--and an astonishing monument to fine taste, given that this is, after all, La Jolla, the land of glitz, golf and Spandex. I should add that my wife and I generally maximize our time outdoors, but loved this hotel so much we spent extra hours in the room--very romantic place, too.

Room Tip: Absolutely spring for an ocean-view room--and ask for one on the fifth floor, if you want a real vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ralph1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    804
    167
    61
    19
    7
See reviews for
214
397
23
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

We were headed for the hotel next door, but when we saw this place it was love at first sight.
Check in without reservation was a bit akward as we had to call the reservation department from the lobby to get a reservation. After having fullfilled all the paperwork we finally got our room.
Very attentive and friendly, helpfull staff. The doorman in his quilt gives that little extra to the lodge (reminded us of the doorman at the Old Course Hotel St. Andrews).
Super room with a large fireplace and a terrace overlooking the golf course and the Pacific. We could not get enough of the beautifull sunset. Very comfortable in every respect. Turn down service perfect. Grounds and pool area a dream. For us a hotel that you wish for.

Important! When you want to play golf, you must book a tee time well in advance (see details on the internet).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JRTravellerLux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

My family and I spent a long weekend at the Hilton Torrey Pines but went next door to indulge ourselves at the luxurious spa of the Lodge at Torrey Pines. Massages are $140 for a 50 minute massage. My husband and younger daughter said their massages were fine - not great but not bad. My massage was a terrible disappointment. Not only was the massage below average but the masseuse talked the entire time. He kept talking even when I tried to make it clear I wasn't interested in a conversation. My older daughter had a $140 "Spa mani/pedi" that was no better than the $25 mani/pedi we get at home. The manicurist left hanging cuticles and the nail polish chipped within hours. The best part about this spa is the locker room and robes as far as we are concerned. Certainly not worth the hefty price we paid.

If you want a great experience - go next door to the Hilton. You'll spend a fraction of the price and get wonderful service. Too bad the Hilton doesn't have a spa!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
5 Thank DSep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

I was in the area on business and as a Brit wanted something a bit different to the usual chains given it's been years since I was in the area and fancied starting the New Year nicely. Had a look around and got this on a 3rd night free deal which obviously swung things even with corporate travel rules - making it comparable to the chains (and btw worth it even at 'normal' rates). Location was a lot less isolated than I expected (not a bad thing) - but strange that one side of the hotel is on a science park/campus, the other cliffs and the ocean. Very nice rooms - I get upgraded in the chains and was ready to have a mild tantrum but even the "standard" room was plenty big enough, very well furnished, housekeeping and turn down left some really nice touches - even the in-room coffee was some of the best I've had AND it got replenished by turn down service (I like my coffee). I will definitely come straight here when next in the area (despite being Hilton Diamond member and their property being next door)

Room Tip: I was in a courtyard room - which sounded from the website worse than it actually was. Nice large pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Imeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

Let me start by saying our stay was during an odd "rainy period" in Southern CA. With that said this property made everything better. Everything from arrival to check out was beyond expectations. Service was second to none. Details large and small have been thought of from the leather portfolio at checkin to the turn down service with ice bucket filled, his and hers slippers placed, quotes on pillows and down comforter placed on bed. Huge bathrooms. Attentive but not overly hovering staff. Umbrellas offered at lobby door and fantastic foodCould not think off better place to end our trip through Southern CA. The only negative was we did not golf as planned. We had not thought of bringing our rain gear to sunny So Cal!
Hoping to return!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vtstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

We've been truly fortunate to have visited some amazing places over the years...I agree completely with a recent review that said that the L@TPines sets a standard that all hotels could be judged by. Rooms, common areas, attention to detail, breathtaking grounds...incredible attention from sophisticated, knowlegeable and truly friendly staff. No phony "my pleasures" here. Food, including room and pool service is spectacular...Valentiens is worth a special trip all on its own. Someone here 'cares' about absolutely everything, and the owners/folks in charge really know their Hospitality craft. Cannot think of another place that surpasses this Lodge.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jherman06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

What a great hotel and staff! Friendly, caring and knowledgeable, not fake or condescending. They really want to help you. The rooms were large and very well appointed (Tip: ask to be close to the lobby as the lodge is larger than it looks and can be confusing). Love the restaurant Valentiens, it is a must try. Great food and service. The sommelier made a fantastic experience Memorable. This is our second visit and will be back again and again. Can't say enough good things about the lodge, but the people and service make the difference. Also, enjoyed the spa.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoCooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Torrey Pines

Property: The Lodge at Torrey Pines
Address: 11480 North Torrey Pines Road, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1045
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lodge at Torrey Pines 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Torrey Pines is an award-winning luxury resort set atop the cliffs of Torrey Pines State Beach in La Jolla, California. Awarded the AAA Five Diamond rating for 14 consecutive years, the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence for six years in a row, and Travel + Leisure’s Top 50 Hotels in the United States and Canada, The Lodge provides stunning views of the world-renowned Torrey Pines Golf Course and Pacific Ocean and endless opportunities for guests to enjoy San Diego’s warm climate – from outdoor dining and relaxing at the spa to hiking, golfing and more. The Lodge is modeled after the famed Gamble and Blacker houses in Pasadena – two of the finest examples of early 1900s Craftsman-style architecture. Its post-and-beam construction features a natural color palette, graceful wing-like rooflines, shingle and sandstone-bluff exteriors, clinker-brick masonry, rich woodwork and natural stone surfaces. Arrivals are greeted by doormen attired in kilted Scottish dress, while inside are 170 spacious guest rooms and suites designed for supreme comfort. The Lodge’s signature restaurant A.R. Valentien – rated Best Hotel Restaurant in the West by Sunset Magazine in 2015 – is a destination for fresh regional cuisine served in an elegant setting overlooking the Torrey Pines Golf Course. Artisan Table Dinners highlighting farm-to-table fare in a communal setting are offered weekly, while Executive Chef Jackson headlines The Lodge’s annual Celebrate the Craft event, one of Southern California’s premier showcases for regionally grown ingredients and innovative cooking and winemaking. For a more casual vibe, The Grill at The Lodge offers a full menu of favorites whether dining indoors or on the patio, while its bar is an ideal gathering place after a day on the course. The Spa at Torrey Pines features signature treatments themed around the beauty and purity of the Pacific coastline. This 9,500 square foot space uses botanical- and marine-based extracts from European product lines Phytomer, SkinCeuticals, Farmhouse Fresh and NV Organics to replenish and restore the body and mind. Additional features of The Lodge include a croquet lawn, heated outdoor pool and cabanas, whirlpool, outdoor terrace with chaise lounges, hiking at the adjacent Torrey Pines State Reserve, a fitness center and the Scripps Library, a public space featuring a pool table, board games and more. Adjacent to The Lodge, the Torrey Pines Golf Course is an iconic 36-hole course that hosts the PGA Tour’s annual Farmers Insurance Open. Whether on the North Course or South Course, our guests have the opportunity to play where the pros play with the stunning La Jolla coastline as a backdrop. Nearby attractions include downtown La Jolla and Del Mar, Birch Aquarium at the Scripps Institution of Oceanography, the La Jolla Playhouse performing arts center and the Museum of Contemporary Art. During spring and summer, the Del Mar Thoroughbred Club entices visitors with the thrill of live racing, while a popular year-round choice is the Torrey Pines State Reserve, a magnificent 2,000 acres of protected rare Torrey Pine trees featuring pristine beaches and eight miles of trails; The Lodge offers complimentary guided hikes throughout the preserve daily. The Lodge is located just 15 miles north of the San Diego International Airport and downtown San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Lodge at Torrey Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Torrey Pines Hotel La Jolla
Hotel At Torrey Pines
Resort At Torrey Pines
Lodge San Diego
Lodge Torrey Pines
Inn Torrey Pines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing