We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable weekend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Diego Marriott La Jolla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
San Diego Marriott La Jolla
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Orange County
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

Our room was clean and comfortable but small. We had a room with two double beds. Not queen but double. It was just my daughter and I for a tournament. This room (and beds) would have been way to small for a family of 4. the bed was very comfortable though. The food from the bar was very good and was brought to us at the pool after ordering. The pool was warm according to my daughter but when the whole team was in the pool, there wasn't much room for anyone else. The pool area and pool is extremely small. It made for a tight squeeze on a busy summer weekend. The photos on their website are a little deceiving regarding size. Parking in the self parking lot was surprisingly easy with plenty of spaces available even though I was told the hotel was sold out. The Westfield mall across the street is a beautiful outdoor mall with a Nordstrom, Macys an Sears. It also has an ice skating rink and large food court. It's within walking distance. All in all it was a nice weekend at a nice hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moxietravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    290
    95
    35
    28
See reviews for
228
149
37
363
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

Amelia and Bilal were very hospitable, accommodating and very good with our children. Very good reflection on Marriott. The food was great. Concierge room always clean. Can't say enough good things about Amelia and Bilal.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

I hope the staff see's this post as I want to thank them for making me feel like a princess during our stay at the San Diego Marriott La Jolla in June! I was sitting in the beautiful lobby catching up on some work email and Susanna asked if I needed anything. I told her I was good and then she asked if she could bring me a coffee. She brought me all my favorite fixings and I told her what room I was in so she could charge it and she said "no thanks" this is on us! As a hard working mom where I am always taking care of others, she really made me feel like a Princess.
Thank you Susanna and the entire staff.
Holly, from Phoenix Arizona

Room Tip: There beds are to die for! I am going to call them and ask what mattress they buy so I can go buy on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

What differentiated this hotel from others was the service. From the check in, to the porters, to the coffee shop, to the bar, to housekeeping, and to Starbucks, everyone was nice and helped. All the other stuff that was to be expected of a Marriott was in place as well, so that just reinforced my overall rating of excellent. FYI, this was a lively hotel!

Room Tip: You are on your own here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

Overall, our stay was great! Rooms were nice and clean. Hotel is beautiful, great central location. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We especially enjoyed Jerry. He was very helpful and went out of his way to make our stay more accommodating. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tkimball75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

This was my first trip to San Diego and I very much enjoyed my stay here. Extremely comfortable beds, clean and a staff that went well over and beyond for my family :)
Highly recommend this hotel for any occassion!

Room Tip: be sure to check all extras that may be charged as there are some, but I did my DD beforehand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Billinaz66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

Overall great experience here. I've been here every week with a couple of exceptions since April 1, 2014. The concierge Lounge is great, fantastic breakfast every morning and they mix it up nice. Bilal and Amelia are the best. Very friendly and very attentive. The rest of the facility is fine. I'm a devoted Marriott guy so I like the amenities and the kind staff. There have been a couple of housekeeping issues but hey were addressed timely. The Front Desk team is TOP NOTCH. They don't miss a beat and are so friendly and kind. Will continue to stay here.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very nice and I am partial to a King Bed so that is always my preference.
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel is good about recycling towels, and has take appropriate actions to conserve water. During the last remodel, low flow toilets would have been a nice upgrade but realize they are costly.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
3.9 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
2.7 mi away
Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton
2.6 mi away
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Diego Marriott La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott La Jolla

Property: San Diego Marriott La Jolla
Address: 4240 La Jolla Village Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott La Jolla 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having recently completed an extensive $17 million renovation, the San Diego Marriott La Jolla features stunning guestrooms, state-of-the-art fitness center, outdoor pool, and outdoor patio/bar. San Diego Marriott La Jolla is ideally located in San Diego's Golden Triangle. The hotel offers convenient access to the University of California at San Diego, Scripps Research Institute and La Jolla Shores with its boutique shopping, art galleries and restaurants; all overlooking the La Jolla Cove. Our San Diego La Jolla hotel charms guests with a warm Southern California atmosphere. As one of the top hotels in La Jolla, San Diego, you’ll experience a cool, comfortable place to relax, socialize or conduct business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your San Diego Marriott La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Marriott La Jolla
La Jolla Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing