We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast people are very polite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
San Diego Marriott La Jolla
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Breakfast people are very polite”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I stayed for one week at Marriott La Jolla and I was impressed by the guys from the breakfast, Amelia and Bilal. They always very polite and ready to help, without receiving any tips.
The location is fine and the rooms are very clean.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex_Zeck_8811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    295
    103
    35
    30
See reviews for
235
152
39
372
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, WA
Level Contributor
86 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed at this Marriot for four nights while visiting San Diego and had a great experience. We were visiting the theme parks but I wanted to stay in a nice and quiet neighborhood and chose La Jolla. I am a Marriott gold member but upon check-in was told the lounge was closed for the holiday break, and since I booked a room package that covered breakfast and parking, I was given $20 voucher per night, slightly disappointed but oh well I could understand they were on a reduced staff for the Christmas week. The room was clean, modern and large, WiFi was reliable and fast, the food at the breakfast buffet was very good, staff was very friendly, there was also an omelet station on weekends. We tried the lobby restaurant for dinner on one night (well, I guess I had to put the $80 food vouchers to good use), the seating was a bit odd, but the food was surprisingly good (and so was the beer on tap), the best way that I could describe it was fancy pub food but my wife and my daughter both liked their dinner entries. The parking at the hotel is $20 a day, however there is ton of free street parking right outside the hotel, if I didn’t get a room package, I would have parked the rental car outside and saved the parking fee.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huskies92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comins, Michigan
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

I stay 100+ nights on the road annually, this would be a top 3 hotel in US. I am loyal Marriott business traveler and this one really impressed me. Staff was excellent from check in to check out. Location is desirable and close to major freeways. Property was in top notch condition.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Angie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I purchased a Groupon for a 2 night stay at this Marriott in San Diego La Jolla and my husband had a great experience. The staff was friendly, the hotel was beautiful and in a great location. We wanted to say a special thanks to Liz in the breakfast restaurant at the hotel for giving us travel tips since we are not from San Diego and she came to say hi to us the 2nd day we saw her in the restaurant. Very pleasant staff! We will definitely be back :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alwaysbjoyful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

I travel over 200 days a year and my company's hotel preference is marriott. not by my choice. I have stayed at high end hotels such as 4 seasons and mandarin orientals I have to say that I have received that kind of service by a front desk employee for the very first time. Wes went above and beyond for me. For example he found my marriott rewards number with out me having to dig thru my computer bag. Being in a hurry this was a huge plus. He was very knowledgeable of the surrounding area with a great restaurant recommendations. He even gave me a couple of disc cards to the restaurant he recommended. It wasn't the money I saved but the exceptional service it represents.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
349 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Check-in was simple and efficient. The lobby, lobby bar and outside patio were very nice relaxing for a drink and food. All areas and room were uperscale nice with nice appointments and a very comfortable bed. There are a few places withing walking distance for food...a nice sushi spot and of course a Starbucks for a morning coffee. I wouild not hesitate is staying here again with more time to spend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COparrotheads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susanna A, Front Office Manager at San Diego Marriott La Jolla, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear COparrotheads,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us! We are excited that you enjoyed our rooms, lobby, and lobby bar. We are lucky be surrounded by the UTC Shopping mall as well as multiple restaurants and my very favorite Starbucks and so glad that you enjoyed the area during your visit! We look forward to hosting you at our hotel for your future travels!

Thank you and have a Brilliant week!

San Diego Marriott La Jolla Team,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

The staff here are so friendly and nice. Makes your stay so pleasant. Very accommodating!
Vince in engineering was efficient and very friendly.
Sonia at the front desk was very accommodating and changed our room to have a better view... they aim to b please here!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roni t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susanna A, Front Office Manager at San Diego Marriott La Jolla, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear rdawg4,

Thank you for taking the time to recognize our Brilliant Hosts Sonia and Vince! They do aim to please and it’s such a great compliment that you recognized that. We hope you think of us again in the very near future when traveling to the San Diego, La Jolla area!

Travel Brilliantly!

San Diego Marriott La Jolla Team,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,010 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
1,295 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
1.9 mi away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
3.9 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Diego Marriott La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott La Jolla

Property: San Diego Marriott La Jolla
Address: 4240 La Jolla Village Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott La Jolla 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having recently completed an extensive $17 million renovation, San Diego Marriott La Jolla features stunning guestrooms, a state-of-the-art fitness center, an outdoor pool, and an outdoor patio/bar. Our La Jolla hotel's location is perfect, in San Diego's Golden Triangle. Our hotel offers convenient access to the University of California at San Diego, Scripps Research Institute and La Jolla Shores with its boutique shopping, art galleries and restaurants; all overlooking the La Jolla Cove. We invite you to stay with us at San Diego Marriott La Jolla, as our accommodations charm guests with a warm Southern California atmosphere. As one of the top hotels in La Jolla, San Diego, California, you’ll experience a cool, comfortable place to relax, socialize or conduct business here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Diego Marriott La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Marriott La Jolla
La Jolla Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing