We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip new remodel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Diego Marriott La Jolla
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hip new remodel”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Have stayed at this hotel several times over the years. My recent stay welcomed me with a newly-renovated property. The style is modern, sleek, and welcoming with a stunning lobby, new restaurant, and bar area. I was happily surprised by the new concierge lounge on the 15th floor, boasting panoramic views of the La Jolla skyline, Mormon Temple, and ocean beyond. Kudos to Amelia and Bilal who attended to our every need in the lounge at breakfast each morning. My only disappointment about the hotel refurbishment is that the indoor pool, jacuzzi, and sauna areas that I used to enjoy are no longer there. In their place are several new conference rooms and a nicely-equipped fitness room. There is an outdoor pool area but, with frequent cool La Jolla temperatures, this is an area that I probably will not use.

Room Tip: Corner suites can offer a wrap-around balcony and lovely views!
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel offers a cash incentive or Marriott rewards points if you decline service to your room on any day except the day you depart.
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda33045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susanna A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott La Jolla, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Linda33045,

Thank you for your review and all of your stays over the past years! We appreciate your loyalty. I am so excited to hear this was your first visit back since the renovation. Aren’t the views from the Concierge Lounge breathe taking? La Jolla is such a beautiful place and the large windows in the lounge make it easy to showcase them! I know that you were disappointed with some of the changes with the old pool but on your next visit you should take a dip in our new pool! It is heated to a comfortable temperature and our 24-hour fitness center is top of the line. We look forward to hosting you on your next trip to La Jolla!

Travel Brilliantly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    295
    103
    35
    30
See reviews for
235
152
39
372
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Hotel overhauled over the past year and generally greatly improved. New GM seems on top of things and customer-friendly. Great front desk staff, and concierge club personnel. Amelia and Bilal are cordial and professional. Housekeeping is very good.

The lobby renovations are impressive with new lobby bar and extended seating toward the pool area. Lively salsa dance sessions are available to guests in the club area on Fridays. But front lobby doors and entrance are very poorly executed. Post-renovation furniture extends to carpet edges with inadequate tiled area to allow anything on wheels to pass easily without forming a congo line (or detouring awkwardly onto the carpeted sections) to get to/from elevators. Collisions and near collisions provided comic relief in the lobby area to nearby observers.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susanna A, Front Office Manager at San Diego Marriott La Jolla, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear mosh,
Thank you for taking the time to review our newly renovated hotel. We are thrilled the renovation is complete, but as you point out… our work is never done. It would take our guests keen eye to notice a design detail we might have missed and we will absolutely pass your notes along to the proper departments. Bilal and Amelia are tickled reading your review, and above all grateful for the mention. Thank you again for your honest view as we always welcome our guest comments and opinions.
Travel Brilliantly and we look forward to your next trip!
San Diego Marriott La Jolla Team,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

My family recently ended up traveling to LaJolla to attend to a family member admitted to the ICU at Scripps Hospital and this Marriott was the closest hotel to the hospital. The hotel was kind enough to extend an internet rate one group was able to get even though the rate was sold out for the other room, a generous favor seeing as how cost is an issue when you don't know how long you will have to be in town.

My grandfather did pass away and the staff was genuine in giving condolences and making sure they took care of anything we needed while in the hotel. Specifically Craig (Restaurant and Bar Manager) and his staff were attentive, funny, caring and competent. Jacyln (Guest Services Manager) was cheerful and helpful in assisting us obtaining an additional room for an arriving family member when their hotel was close to being sold out.

Overall, while this hotel seems to cater to many conventions/parties they were easily able to personalize their service style to match our situation.

Room Tip: Our rooms faced Southwest and were quiet and had a nice balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kynny18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susanna A, Front Office Manager at San Diego Marriott La Jolla, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear kynny18,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review especially during this extremely difficult time. From all of us here, I would like to extend our sincerest condolences again to you and your family. We understand that under these circumstances it is our role to be as accommodating as possible because finding a comfortable place to stay should be the last thing on your mind. I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your experience at our restaurant and that we were able to cater to your needs. We would love to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

San Diego Marriott La Jolla Team,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a girls weekend, what great service! Staff was awesome from Miriam at the front desk to Vince who helped with our Tv/Dvd needs. Room service was on time and valet was prompt. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susanna A, Front Office Manager at San Diego Marriott La Jolla, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you Simona H for your Brilliant Review!

We are thrilled that you took the time to recognize a couple of our Customer Service Superstars in Vince and Miriam! We have a stellar team and we thank you for your recognition! We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Travel Brilliantly!

San Diego Marriott La Jolla Team,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a girls' staycation. The service at this hotel was awesome and the staff very friendly and attentive. From the room service, to the valet, to calling for extra towels, to "Vince" helping us connect our DVD for movies, the service was excellent in all areas. The gym was clean and pool very refreshing. We plan on returning for another staycation. Definitely not disappointing, at all.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryAnn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susanna A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott La Jolla, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear MaryAnn R,

I was so delighted to read that the service you received on your Girl's Staycation at our hotel was excellent!!! I enjoy those kinds of comments, especially on Trip Advisor. All of us are both encouraged and pleased that our staff seemed to have exceeded your expectations!!
Thank you so much for coming to the La Jolla Marriott. This is the kind of stay we want for everyone! To read these kinds of comments makes our job totally worth while!! We look forward to hosting you again!

Travel Brilliantly!

San Diego Marriott La Jolla Team,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I stayed here for a conference I attended at the on-site facility. The room was very comfortable and had all of the amenities expected for professional business travel. The lobby bar was excellent and included a very nice patio area. There was not a lot nearby other than an open air mall with upper-mid to high-end shops which was nice. There happened to be a nice farmer's market one afternoon in a parking lot across from the hotel, but I really just stumbled onto that more than looking out for it. The trip to La Jolla proper was too far, resulting in an expensive cab ride. The gym was great - and not busy at all. The pool looked nice (outdoor only).

Room Tip: It's in an office park, so there aren't any especially good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neslryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susanna A, Front Office Manager at San Diego Marriott La Jolla, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear neslryan,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are delighted that you were comfortable during your stay with us and enjoyed some of the hotel amenities. Our immediate area has seen some great upgrades in the recent years such as the Westfield Shopping Mall and the renovations and additions of multiple restaurants. We hope that the area continues to provide exciting new leisure events and options for our guests in the near future to make for a more inviting location. We look forward to hosting you again soon!

Travel Brilliantly!

San Diego Marriott La Jolla Team,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed at this property for a three nights while visiting the San Diego area over the holidays. We arrived in the mid evening and the people at check in were very accommodating and were very helpful in getting us settled in and even suggesting locations for dinner that evening. The property and the rooms were very pleasant, clean and newly renovated. We stayed in the executive sweet with an adjoining room. This is highly recommended as it provided us with ample space for my future wife, myself, and her family. I will again point out the very pleasant atmosphere provided by the staff. They also were tremendous help sorting out meal options in the area for christmas dinner. Overall the holiday in San Diego was amazing and our stay here made it all the better.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank polarbear1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susanna A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott La Jolla, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Polarbear1113,

We are so delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your holiday vacation with us while you were here visiting San Diego. I'm so glad that you were able to stay in one of our suites and found it very convenient for you and your family. I know that there are several fine dining restaurants here in our area to enjoy and we hope you enjoyed your particular selection. We thank you so much again for spending your holiday with us and we hope to see and hear from you again in the near future!

Travel Brilliantly!

San Diego Marriott La Jolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,009 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
1,295 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
1.9 mi away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
3.9 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Diego Marriott La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott La Jolla

Property: San Diego Marriott La Jolla
Address: 4240 La Jolla Village Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott La Jolla 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having recently completed an extensive $17 million renovation, San Diego Marriott La Jolla features stunning guestrooms, a state-of-the-art fitness center, an outdoor pool, and an outdoor patio/bar. Our La Jolla hotel's location is perfect, in San Diego's Golden Triangle. Our hotel offers convenient access to the University of California at San Diego, Scripps Research Institute and La Jolla Shores with its boutique shopping, art galleries and restaurants; all overlooking the La Jolla Cove. We invite you to stay with us at San Diego Marriott La Jolla, as our accommodations charm guests with a warm Southern California atmosphere. As one of the top hotels in La Jolla, San Diego, California, you’ll experience a cool, comfortable place to relax, socialize or conduct business here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Diego Marriott La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Marriott La Jolla
La Jolla Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing