We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great check in service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Diego Marriott La Jolla
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Checked in 9/12 2013. Theresa at the front desk was very welcoming, sweet and professional.The lobby is nice. I liked the open-air-feel. Service at the bar/restaurant was friendly and the food was surprisingly good. The room was clean and inviting. Overall, it was a nice place to stay for my business trip.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (989)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

860 - 866 of 989 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

Enjoyed breakfast with colleagues at San Diego Marriott La Jolla today because of exceptional service we received from Neli, our server, who turned an ordinary breakfast into a delightful experience with her attention to our needs, and warm hospitality. And BTW, food was also great.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank ABSylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I just stayed at the Marriott La Jolla for my honeymoon. Hip, at the front desk, helped us out and was very friendly (as was the rest of the staff). The room was newly renovated and clean. We stayed on the 15th floor which was quiet and had a beautiful view (which we enjoyed from our corner balcony!). I would definitely stay at the Marriott La Jolla again. Side note: We paid a little extra for the breakfast buffet which was had a variety of goodies- worth the extra money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Checked in 9/6 2013, late evening after a long flight. Theresa and Jackie at the front desk were outstanding. I had some reservation problems which I created, and they very quickly worked out the details and had me in my room for the beginning of a most enjoyable two week stay

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W1660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We just stayed there for 3 days and 3 nights, it was amazing. the staff was the best, from the valet guys Matt, Javier, Kevin, and others was very helpful and attentive. The bell captain Johnny was very pleasant and gave us some great tips. The front desk agent Theresa was a pleasure to deal with and we really appreciated her friendly attitude. Very close to the beautiful mall and walking distance to Starbucks. The only problem we had was with our GPS and mapquest with the directions that lead us to downtown La Jolla. That was very frustrating and we had a hard time finding the hotel because of it. Although it was not Marriott's fault, I hope it gets fixed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed over Labor Day weekend for 2 nights. The hotel itself was nice, nothing really seemed old, and the lobby is pretty nice with a bar/patio on the other side of the main entrance. Had a double bed room, perfect for us and our young daughters.
The location was good, right across from the mall, and near a few places to eat, and with easy access to the freeway.
The hotel is indeed not close to the beach, you'll have to drive a bit, but honestly it is so convenient to be by some places we like to eat like PF Changs, Corner Bakery, and more as well as the mall there. If you need to pick something up like a bathing suit or whatever, the mall is much better priced than other parts of La Jolla.

All in all, I'd stay there again, and this was perfect for us.

One side note, the pool is definitely on the small side, FYI.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drew91101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Theresa at the front desk was amazing in her help with our tricky reservation. She worked until the problem was solved. We stayed one night before my husband went into the hospital for a procedure. When he was admitted to spend a night in the hospital I went right back to the Marriott and Theresa was again working on the desk and booked the same room that we had the night before. Later in the evening when I discovered that I had a flat tire she called AAA for me. She showed such concern in making our stay a wonderful experience. As we will be returning to La Jolla for medical appointments we will always be staying at the Marriott. All of the other employees we encountered at the hotel were very friendly and helpful and the hotel itself is beautiful.

Room Tip: If it's summer the rooms on the east side have less sun exposure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 945KSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.9 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,405 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla at Aventine
2.6 mi away
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,212 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
3.9 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Diego Marriott La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott La Jolla

Address: 4240 La Jolla Village Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: $105 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott La Jolla 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having recently completed an extensive $17 million renovation, San Diego Marriott La Jolla features stunning guestrooms, a state-of-the-art fitness center, an outdoor pool, and an outdoor patio/bar. Our La Jolla hotel's location is perfect, in San Diego's Golden Triangle. Our hotel offers convenient access to the University of California at San Diego, Scripps Research Institute and La Jolla Shores with its boutique shopping, art galleries and restaurants; all overlooking the La Jolla Cove. We invite you to stay with us at San Diego Marriott La Jolla, as our accommodations charm guests with a warm Southern California atmosphere. As one of the top hotels in La Jolla, San Diego, California, you’ll experience a cool, comfortable place to relax, socialize or conduct business here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your San Diego Marriott La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Marriott La Jolla
La Jolla Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing