We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, shame about the rooms” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, shame about the rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2009

We went here for a company rewards club. Our original beach front room was the smallest hotel room I've seen in along time and the most expensive if you work out the price per square foot! Luckily they weren't full and moved us to a suite which was much more comfortable but the decor was still a little tired. Be warned, the ground floor beach front rooms are right on the promenade so lack privacy but that's the pay off for being right by the sea with amazing views. Breakfast was excellent and big portions. The staff did a great job organising our golf and bocce ball events. The 9 hole course and tennis facilities are superb. This is really a private club that lets out rooms rather than a hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank al2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    80
    38
    19
    15
See reviews for
193
76
14
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2009

My family made a trip to La Jolla with our son's hockey team in February. You may think February is off season, but not so much. Walking and playing on the beach was great. Kids had a blast in the surf. We had beach bonfires at night. The hotel is fantastic and works very hard to keep the rooms and grounds imaculate. The best beach vacation we have ever had. We would come back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2008

The La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club was a terrific spot for our family vacation with our toddler. In many ways, it struck us as a flashback to the 1950s, but in a good way: The 'feel' of the hotel was prim and proper, the general decor/style was dated (but clean), and on the weekend evenings, members of the Club gathered on the beach for family dinners (catered by the restaurant).

The location was amazing; our door opened directly on to the beach! The hotel had a nice supply of beach-toys for children and an ample supply of beach chairs, umbrellas and wind screens for the guests (and unlike other beachfront hotels we've stayed at, there was no additional fee for using these supplies). The ocean was not warm enough to swim in early May but the pool was heated and there was a nice playground for children as well. The grounds were lovely and well maintained.

The restaurant served excellent food and was very accommodating, and the beach-side dining was excellent and well-priced.

In addition, it was a short drive to San Diego's beautiful attractions, like the zoo (the best zoo we have visited) and Sea World. The hotel was nestled in a lovely neighborhood with beautiful homes all around.

We had a suite (1 bedroom, kitchen, living room). The room was kept clean and well-maintained, although the furniture (esp. the bed) and decor was a bit dated.

All in all, this was a unique find in La Jolla, and we would certainly return to stay at the LJBTC if we returned to the San Diego area.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Furnishings/decor could use updating; very expensive
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank f0xgl0ve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, TX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2008

We traveled from Texas all the way to La Jolla to visit this location for the first time. I must admit, at $1000 a night, my first impression of the place was not great. The buildings look a little tired, the rooms are like a Holiday Inn, and the place is pretty small. I guess I was expecting something like a Ritz and was pretty let down upon entering the facility.

However, it took me about 12 hours to fall in love with the place. I have a 4 year old, 8 year old and 12 year old. Our room was 30 feet from the Pacific Ocean (see the picture). The kids could have played on the beach all day. The beach staff took great care of us, setting out chairs, umbrellas, beach toys, etc. The restaurant served excellent lunches and dinners at a very reasonable price (not your typical resort). I think I paid about $2.50 for a beer (and I think this is the last beach in San Diego where you can enjoy a glass of wine or beer on the beach). Excellent values are everywhere.

One of the favorite activities on the beach is the hotel set up a dinner table and barbeque for our family every night on the beach where we could just sit there and eat dinner together watching the sun set in the Pacific. It was just beautiful and some great family time. You can also do this and order off the menu. Again, the prices were fabulous (compared to a resort).

The quality of the tennis instruction was fabulous. My wife and I did the cardio tennis class every morning with Nelson (great instructor). The facility is a local tennis club too, so we played with really neat and interesting people. I also took several private lessons from Nelson and learned years worth of instruction in a matter of days (especially the video lessons).

My kids played on the par 3 course a half dozen times. Juan (the teaching pro at the facility) was excellent. He runs several junior clinics and was really good at using video to analyze the kids' swings and help them with golf fundamentals.

The facility is within walking distance of every type of surf or beach shop that you would ever need. 10 minutes of effort, and two sea kayaks were delivered to the beach. Snorkeling gear was just as easy.

We wanted a rental car to drive to down town La Jolla and the hotel arranged with Enterprise to have a car dropped off and waiting for us.

I would go back to this place every year. Yes, it's expensive and it definitely books up fast, but you just can't beat the weather, quality of the staff, and proximity to La Jolla.

For families who like tennis, golf and beach, I could not say more about this place. We already booked our week for next year!

  • Liked — Excellent tennis, beach and service
  • Disliked — A little crowded
  • Stayed July 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Fredericksburgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2008

This property is gorgeous as always. The golf course was looking great after being used for a tennis tournament a couple months ago. Food was excellent and the staff was very courtious. I ordered lunch from my room and asked to pick it up at the restaurant and it was ready just as I got there. Great service. The beach was combed by the hotel staff every morning to make the sand all nice and soft. The rooms have been updated and have nice tvs and new furniture. Beautiful wedding going on while we were there.

The La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club and The La Jolla Shores Hotel are related properties but they do have separate names. Make sure when you are reading the reviews posted by others that you know which property they are talking about. I have read a few reviews on the LJBTC forum that should have been under the La Jolla Shores Hotel.

I have been going here for years and will always love this place.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim-N-Ryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2007

When you drive up, you see a very pretty entrance with a classic California Hacienda feel, but once inside you see a very run down adobe motel look. That's all fine, but not for these prices.

We were given a room on the outskirts of the facility on a busy street with no apparent way to enter into the common areas for $339.00 per night. Turns out you must go through the employee's quarters. Who knew? We were aimslessly walking around trying to figure out how to go to the restaurant/pool area without having to drive back each time. This won't due with a child. The rooms were very tired and outdated.

The poolside restaurant served my child Kraft macaroni & Cheese for top dollar. Restaurant service was nothing great. We asked to move to another room and were now given a 2 bedroom on the ocean for $649.00 per night. What a great view. For that kind of price there wasn't even a private balcony, only a small motel like walkway that anyone can use. We checked out!

Go to Del Mar, LaJolla in general needs a facelift and harkens back to long gone era. The Del Mar beaches are better and so are the restaurants. It is a younger more friendly place!

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank northbeach1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2007

AN AMAZING VACATION!!!

We took our family here for a week last May and found such a great hotel. This hotel is located in such an amazing part of San Diego in southern California. The weather itself is amazing, beautifiul sunny skies and warm weather. Combine that with a such a beautiful location on the beach and you have a winner!

Lying in your bed hearing the surf crashing on the shores is so peaceful, and then in the morning to walk out of our door and have sand on your feet is truely a great feeling.

The hotel has a par 3 golf course set amongst gorgeous palm trees, a lake and various swans and ducks roam the property. There is also a multitude of tennis courts, a heated pool, and numerous other activities for both aults and kids.

The staff were great. The food was great. The overall experience was GREAT. I cant wait to go back again this year!

  • Liked — The staff made the experience so friendly and the whole facility was breathe taking!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank TimothyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
La Jolla Shores Hotel
#10 of 24 in La Jolla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club

Property: La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club
Address: 2000 Sprindrift Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-3237
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#5 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#10 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#12 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the exclusive La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club, one of California's most treasured beachfront resorts. One of a select few oceanfront hotel destinations in San Diego, the La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club offers 98 guest rooms as well as one, two and three bedroom suites with full kitchens. Also enjoy the perks of our private beach, championship tennis, par-3 golf, massage services, full-service catering, and award-winning cuisine at The Marine Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TIG Global, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Beach And Tennis Club Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing