We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fun for the whole family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun for the whole family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

This is my idea of a vacation! Great everything- location, food, beach, pool, tennis. Jake at reception was particularly helpful. I wish I could stay longer because my son is so happy and I can relax. The prices are very reasonable considering you are at a club and you get so much more than a room

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank heeweeLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    73
    34
    17
    13
See reviews for
170
70
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

LJTBC is a beautiful hotel with a classic, historic, spanish-style feel. The hotel is not of a modern, glamourous style, but fit us perfectly. We (younger couple on a short vacation at the end of June) enjoyed the look and feel of it. The court yards are beautiful. Many families seemed to stay there, as the rooms are definitely made to accommodate families-- large rooms, complete with small or full kitchens. Some of the children were a bit loud, but that's a family. We loved the private hotel beach with the beach service!
We made our reservations online through the hotel website. However, when we checked-in there seemed to have been an error, and our reservation had only been recorded for one night instead of two. They didn't have any more standard rooms (fully booked for that week), so to resolved the issue, we were given our standard room as we had reserved for one night, and then given a HUGE, beautiful 2-bedroom beachfront suite, with a complete kitchen. So, we can't complain about the error, given how lucky we were to experience such a nice treat. We wished we had brought the whole family and to stay in one of those suites! The only inconvenience was re-packing and moving rooms after our first night. The hotel, of course, helped move our bags, while were were out for the day.
This was our first time staying at LJTBC, and we will be back-- with our family or just the two of us! The hotel really has the best beach and location in the whole La Jolla Cove.

Room Tip: Corner, stairs suites are the best-- less passing traffic, and the best for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kinuko O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I cannot overstate how terrific this hotel is. All of the hotel and beach staff I interacted with were exceptionally professional and helpful. The location cannot be beat. The atmosphere is just right - friendly and casual. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. If you can, reserve a table to hold a barbecue on the beach in the evening. The cost is quite reasonable and you can enjoy dinner with toes in the sand while you watch the sunset.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank GoldenGate1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This was the best family beach expereince. On the beach dinner bbq at sunset with our 3-year old twins was memorable. Very kid friendly! Kitchen is a very nice to have. Large rooms. Very clean. Beach staff is friendly. They even have beach toys for kids so no need to drag toys there. There is a playground and other great fun kids ameneties. A little pool for the little ones is a plus.

Room Tip: A oceanview rooms are amazing. You are right on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SuzaPutnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club
High class serves ,best food beautiful place they go out of there way to please you . Clean and pretty . Peaceful not to big , your kids we love come to the room when popcorn bags and Starbucks chocolate coffee waiting for them
They couldn't find my reservation I did have from American express because they boats from third party (orbit) But in mid time the place us in Great rood and invited us to lunch with best chef in town . Which he cook for the restaurant next door that open for the public
If I can give 7 star they got it

Room Tip: They have room that one step and you in the beach facing the ocean . So try get those because some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hanit d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

If you know the abbreviation LJBTC then you are a lucky soul.

This is my family's ONLY and favorite place to stay in SO CAL. It is, in every possible way, the BEST hotel and beach experience. Show me one other property that is LITERALLY ON THE BEACH.

Room Tip: They have laundry machines!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We just got back from a wonderful stay at this resort. The service was outstanding. Food was great and accommodations for my handicapped brother really helped. You could probably stay at a cheaper place, but I guarantee you won't get the kindness and professionalism from the waiters, waitresses, cleaning staff, or restaurant, and front desk personnel. They were all wonderful and very personable. The room we stayed in had plenty of room and looked out straight to the ocean. We spent most of our time on the beach, but there are other places to visit in close proximity. We hope to return next year.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces the beach. You won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edwina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
1.0 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 609 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Jolla Shores Hotel
La Jolla Shores Hotel
#10 of 24 in La Jolla
4.0 of 5 stars 848 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
La Jolla Cove Suites
La Jolla Cove Suites
#17 of 24 in La Jolla
3.5 of 5 stars 864 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
1.1 mi away
Empress Hotel of La Jolla
Empress Hotel of La Jolla
#4 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club

Property: La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club
Address: 2000 Sprindrift Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-3237
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#4 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#10 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#12 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the exclusive La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club, one of California's most treasured beachfront resorts. One of a select few oceanfront hotel destinations in San Diego, the La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club offers 98 guest rooms as well as one, two and three bedroom suites with full kitchens. Also enjoy the perks of our private beach, championship tennis, par-3 golf, massage services, full-service catering, and award-winning cuisine at The Marine Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TIG Global, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Beach And Tennis Club Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing