We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LAJolla Beach and tennis clubg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“LAJolla Beach and tennis clubg”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Great place right on the beach, older rooms but excellently maintained. Cannot beat the tennis courts or the professionals. Could be more economically priced.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovetennis60614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    80
    41
    19
    16
See reviews for
204
79
14
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We have stayed at this property for the past 19 years at least once per year since we moved to the LA area in 1992. It has done nothing but go downhill in that time. The rates are outrageous, the rooms are dated and the staff is inexperienced. The only thing good about this place is that you are right on the sand (if you like dark brown sand) and you can have fire pits and barbecues on the beach. The last time we were there, we were grilling burgers on the grill at our cottage. I called the front desk and asked for a "spatula." I was told that they don't have those on "the property." When I said, "its one of those things with a long handle that you turn burgers with" I was told' " Oh that, why didn't you say so." This place is way overpriced for what is. Sad, but true.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank herbal52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granger, IN USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

The LaJolla Beach and tennis Club is the best vacation or get-away spot in the US. I have stayed there a number of times and never been disappointed. Rooms have everything you could want, but are decorated in an understated way full of charm. Step outside of your room and walk out to the Pacific Ocean or walk out the gate to some of the most charming eateries, shops, etc. They will provide almost anything you could want, be it pitch-and-putt golf, spa, or even a cookout on the beach at dusk. Tennis courts are first-class and plentiful. Most rooms have kitchens.You will feel like you stepped back in time as tradition is everywhere. If you are seeking glitter-and-tinsel, then this is not your place, but if you enjoy luxury couched in tradition and elegance then you'll love the LaJolla Beach and tennis Club. great restaurant, friendly staff, with the joys of San Diego just a few miles down the road.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drush001, Manager at La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Thank you very much for your kind words and warm feelings to our Club. We were honored to have you join us and hope that you will be able to return in the not-too-distant future. We appreciated that you enjoyed who we are as much as what we are. By noticing our staff, you truly saw the magic of our property. They are the ones that make us special. We will continue to strive to live up to your sentiments that "the Club is the best vacation spot or get-away in the U.S.

Respectfully,

Dennis Rush
Director of Operations
La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
163 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

The LJBTC's atmosphere felt vintage to me--like my family trips to hacienda-styled resorts on the beach when I was a kid, where guests have returned for generations. To my husband, it felt dated. Realistically it was not a good fit with our style of travel since we like to get out a lot and see the sights. The beach is long, but at high tide it's narrow, with surf washing the windows of one of the dining rooms. They have a heated pool which stays fairly busy since the Pacific water is cool.

When we arrived late at night, the LJBTC was very full and we were placed in one of the cottages. It was spacious with two bedrooms and baths, kitchen, and a private patio/yard. Though it was far more than we needed, it was comfortable. It was behind the pond, golf course and courts, and so was not very close to the water. Most other rooms are close or adjacent to the beach. The cottages are on a small residential street which serves an unusual number of delivery trucks, so it was not as quiet as we would have liked.

Free Wi-Fi and parking--features not offered at every expensive hotel... And there are a handful of restaurants in the near neighborhood or a large selection 1.5 miles away in La Jolla.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thrall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieKoeppel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

From the moment we arrived until we sadly had to leave we were made feel so welcome by the staff at this hotel. The location could not be better - we walked the beach and up the cliff walk which was just spectacular. The rooms are large and have all the amenities you need, large flat screen TVs, comfortable beds and linens, in fact our room was so large we could have brought an entire family. We played golf one day on the 9 hole golf course and worked on our short game (the most important part).
One of the best parts of our stay was a dinner on the beach one night - we were provided with wonderful food, company, blankets for when it got chilly at night and a tended fire to warm up to.
For location, cleanliness, value, friendliness I would highly recommend this hotel and would choose it again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllieKoeppel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
2 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2011

I have been coming to LJBTC for over thirty years and my family and I treasure all of our memories. My children are now bringing their chidren and we all agree that it is a magical place . The service has continued to be five star and the beach as maginificent as ever. It is wonderful to feel your children are safe as they play on the beach if front of your room. It continues to be a family tradition which we hope to continue.

Room Tip: Rooms on the beach tend to be a bit noiser at night due to the beach barbeques.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drush001, Manager at La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Thank you very much for your kind note about your recent visit to La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club.
We have been honored to have your family join our family over these many years and we hope to continue to help build upon your many fond memories. We look forward to your next family visit very soon.

Respectfully,

Dennis Rush
Director of Operations
La jolla Beach & Tennis Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerton, Arkansas
Level Contributor
198 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

This was our first visit to the San Diego area. We recently relocated to Phoenix and were missing the beach. We had booked an ocean front room at the Shores Hotel next door but due to some problem when we checked in were moved to the Beach Club- we are so fortunate for whatever reason caused this!!! We had planned to visit more of the La Jolla and San Diego area while we were there but never left! We were put in an oceanfront 2 bedroom that had an outside table and chairs, full kitchen and could sleep with the sounds of the ocean. They provided beach chairs, umbrellas, towels and food service if you desired. The beach wasnot busy in September and we found the "red shirt" help very helpful and friendly. We saw leopard sharks, sea lions, dolphins and stingrays while enjoying the beach. We watched the sunset drinking wine and having snacks- then could walk to some great restraunts for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We saw many members come and use tables they set up to eat and watch the sunset. We were also there during the San Diego blackout- they brought out grills and we could cook burgers and dogs since all the restaurants were closed and the poor beach waitress girls were very busy but still kind. We used the pool a few times since the ocean was cold and it was delightful. The beach is raked every day and you can walk far up the beach for exercise so we never used the fitness center. I have to say I am spoiled now and my husband was afraid I would refuse to leave when it was time.......

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MeraldaSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,151 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
885 reviews
La Jolla Shores Hotel
#10 of 24 in La Jolla
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club

Property: La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club
Address: 2000 Spindrift Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-3237
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#5 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#10 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#12 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the exclusive La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club, one of California's most treasured beachfront resorts. One of a select few oceanfront hotel destinations in San Diego, the La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club offers 98 guest rooms as well as one, two and three bedroom suites with full kitchens. Also enjoy the perks of our private beach, championship tennis, par-3 golf, massage services, full-service catering, and award-winning cuisine at The Marine Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TIG Global, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Beach And Tennis Club Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing