We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but good luck sleeping past 7am”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 26, 2010

I chose this hotel as it was top-rated on TripAdvisor. I was somewhat disappointed for several reasons. Firstly, I was put in room 211, which is right next to the breakfast room, and the window looks directly out onto the breakfast patio - therefore I couldn't open my curtains with the bathroom light on in the morning, and even with the windows shut could hear people talking outside by 7am, as well as the clatter of breakfast next door. The a/c seemed to have been shut down for the winter - it couldn't maintain 70F - so it would have been nice to have been able to open the windows. I could also hear music from the bar downstairs til around 11:30. Aside from that, the hot tap and shower took a good 30 seconds to run hot, and the shower was very weak. I complained about the room and was moved to the 3rd floor for the second night. This was better, but the shower pressure was even weaker, and with the windows open I could still hear people having breakfast on the patio by around 7 as I was still on the same side of the building. The breakfast was pretty poor - some pastries, cereal and okay fruit juice.

This review sounds bad, and I don't mean to say that this was a crap hotel - it really wasn't - but if I don't get a good night's sleep then IMO a hotel deserves a poor rating, since even a cheap motel will give you a good night's sleep. At least the receptionist that I spoke to to change rooms was understanding, but I don't know why they put people in room 211 in the first place.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich-e-Mental
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (884)
There are newer reviews for Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

707 - 713 of 884 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2010

This is a beautiful hotel close enough to the action in La Jolla without being crowded or loud. We were able to find street parking most of our trip for the evenings. Breakfast is served next to the outdoor patio for a lovely morning ritual. Just watch out for the sea gulls, they might steal your muffin while you refill on coffee. The rooms were beautiful with very comfortable beds. Close walking distance to the beach and all shopping and dining in La Jolla.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

This hotel is in walking distance of all the great downtown spots plus close to on street parking. The room was very clean and the bed so comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in downtown La Jolla.

Breakfast is included and it has a nice variety of food.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mieronimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2010

We visited this hotel after reviewing Trip Advisor. Location is terrific as one can walk within five minutes to the gorgeous beaches of La Jolla. Rooms are nice but spoilt by the sliding door bathroom which is small and lacks a bath, shower is excellent however.
Parking is non existent unless one chooses to use valet parking, otherwise it's a 'hunt for the car space' in the surrounding streets. No safe in the room as keys were lost by previous parties, electronic ones should be installed. The breakfasts which are included in the room rate are about the worst we have experienced in visiting the USA in fiveteen years. Cheap plastic plates and cutlery, no hot food, cheap OJ, zero ambience. Just walk 200 metres down the street to the Cottage Cafe which serves excellent breakfasts. The Manhattan restaurant attached to the hotel serves very good food but the service was extremely slow on the night we dined there.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndrewCov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmpressHotelGM, General Manager at Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2010

We appreciate your feedback on your recent stay at the Empress Hotel. Here at the Empress we continually strive to make improvements. Since your departure from us, we are proud to say we have incorporated a European inspired breakfast into our current display, including hot waffles, oatmeal, banana bread, salami, and assorted cheeses. We do apologize for any inconvenience regarding your inability to access the safe in your room. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the convenient location of our hotel. Should your travels bring you back to La Jolla, we hope that you will stay with us again. We look forward to exceeding your expectations in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

Very nice hotel - the best part was the incredible staff. The valet, the front desk - very helpful. The person that deserves many accolades is Florence. She helped me with my reservation (told her that it was a special anniversary and she was very kind and accomodating!). When we got to the hotel she remembered us and set us up in a very nice room and even called the room to make sure we liked it! She set a wonderful tone for the weekend!
Yes, as other reviewers have said, the continental breakfast is adequate, tho uninspired - reminds me of breakfasts at the La Quintas or Marriott Residence Inns. So just go about a block from the hotel and eat at the Cottage Inn. Nice courtyard to dine and good, reasonably priced breakfasts. We also ate at "Aroma" just a couple of blocks away and they had wonderful pastries and a very good smoked salmon panini.
Roppongi was somewhat expensive, but delicious - would definitely recommend the outside dining area - great place to relax and people watch too.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melinda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

The Empress was a good pick for my recent stay in La Jolla. I was in town doing research at UCSD, and the commute was easy - much more convenient than staying somewhere closer to downtown San Diego. The rooms are a bit outdated (furniture, style) but they're spacious, clean, and quiet during the week (lots of wedding parties on the weekend). They're not as posh as other hotels you'll find in San Diego; their location in and within La Jolla is what makes them a good deal. If you're away during the day, you don't need to pay for valet - you can find free parking on the street after 6'. The fitness center leaves much to be desired. The windows open, which is a plus in such a beautiful climate. The front desk was accommodating and available. I'd probably choose this hotel if I were looking for one in La Jolla again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Millcaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

While there may not have been one particular exceptional thing to rave over, everything was very nice: the room, the cleanliness, the staff, the included breakfast, and the location. How they do this for the price we paid ($150 including tax) in that neighborhood is beyond me. It may not be the absolute lowest priced hotel or the fanciest (tiny fitness room and continental breakfast), but we will definitely stay here again because we were very comfortable.

A tip: You can park around the corner on the street in a free 2-hour spot overnight and save the $19 valet fee. The two hour limit only applies between 8am and 6pm, meaning you can park after 6pm and stay until 10am for free.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KookaburraB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.3 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
976 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla at Aventine
0.4 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
3.1 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel

Address: 7766 Fay Ave, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037 (Formerly Empress Hotel of La Jolla)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: $220 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience California comfort at our charming boutique hotel in the scenic village of La Jolla, California. Situated just steps from the San Diego Area's famous sandy beaches and downtown La Jolla, while also being only minutes from popular attractions like SeaWorld and Torrey Pines golf course, our hotel is the perfect location to embark on an unforgettable vacation or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel La Jolla
Empress La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing