We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,182)
Filter reviews
1,182 results
Traveler rating
763
328
62
14
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
763
328
62
14
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews manhattan restaurant valet parking spa suite piano bar continental breakfast within walking distance boiled eggs street parking yogurt small hotel heart of la jolla shops and restaurants perfect location front desk staff the breakfast area large room short walk to the beach
Filter
Updating list...
565 - 570 of 1,182 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2015 via mobile

The lobby feels a bit cramped and odd when you walk in but the hotel itself is great. Great clean, quiet and comfortable rooms, a nice friendly welcoming staff and great restaurants, shopping, nightlife and a craft microbrewery stumbling distance away makes this my new go to hotel in the area. Also there is a very nice looking restaurant in the hotel that I have to try out next time.

Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel M, General Manager at Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2015

Dear Andrew P,

We appreciate your recent stay with us! I am glad that you liked our clean , quiet, and comfortable rooms. Our location is great! We are just minutes from many designer boutiques, art galleries, and fine dining establishments. We are glad that you enjoyed the area! We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2015

My wife and I stayed for four nights at the Empress at the beginning of November. We really enjoyed our stay. The room was small but had all essentials. It was nicely renovated recently. The staff was extremely friendly. The location of the hotel is excellent - close to the ocean, the shopping, and major attractions in La Jolla.
I highly recommend this hotel if you plan a short trip to La Jolla.

Room tip: I don't recommend the rooms on the 1st floor and rooms x01, x02, and x14. Rooms x07-x12 are good - have partial views of the ocean.
Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vlad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel M, General Manager at Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2015

Dear Vlad B,

We appreciate your four night stay with us this month and are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! I appreciate yourn mention of our recently renovated rooms and our friendly staff. Thanks for recommending the Empress Hotel to your friends and family.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2015

We stayed for 2 nights on a girls getaway the last week of October. Good price and the special included our valet parking. Our room was very comfortable & clean. We needed help to get the tv working and someone came up within minutes to fix it. All of the employees we dealt with were helpful and friendly. Breakfast is just enough on a pretty little terrace. Other guests mentioned the restaurant was excellent but we did not have a chance to try it- it sure smelled good ! Everything in the town is walking distance.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lope43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel M, General Manager at Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2015

Dear Lope43,

We appreciate your recent stay with us for a girls get-away! I appreciate your mention of our friendly and helpful staff! Come and see us again soon and try our great restaurant!

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2015

The Empress has a nice location near the Village in La Jolla and several blocks from the beach very walkable for good places to eat, shop or your morning coffee. Parking can be a challenge...avoid room 307 as the kitchen vents into it and the A/C is questionable...if they are full you are stuck...it can be a very long night. The rooms are large and nicely done....but it is an older hotel without a lot of amenities

Room tip: Avoid room 307
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel M, General Manager at Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2015

Dear Karen K,

The Empress Hotel is in a prime location for walking to the beach, shopping, or dining in one of the many nice restaurants in La Jolla. The Empress Hotel offers Valet Parking 24 hours a day. Let us park your car in our garage with as many in and out priviledges as one may need per day. I am glad that you liked our spacious rooms! A complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi are amoung the many amenities that we provide for our guests. Thanks for staying with us!

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2015 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at the Empress at the end of October - so nice, in fact, that we extended the stay by 1 day. The room was very spacious, beautifully decorated and very quiet - you couldn't hear anything from the outside or from the neighbours. The staff were all incredibly friendly and helpful (and were kind enough to give us a free upgrade, as we were there in the low season). Breakfast was good and plentiful - bread, bagels, waffles, fruit, etc. We didn't get to try the restaurant, but it seemed good as it was packed every night. The only small room for improvement is the wifi, which was quite patchy in our room (500), and maybe the breakfast (tables set prior to arrival, etc, but that's minor). If we come back to San Diego, we will most definitely stay here again!

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel M, General Manager at Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2015

Dear Sara S,

We are so happy to read that you had a lovely stay with us in October! I am glad that you enjoyed your spacious room and the amenities that we provide! Come back soon! Thanks for your review!

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews