We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Nearby Hotels
La Valencia Hotel(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$258
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$181
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hyatt Regency La Jolla at Aventine(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$169
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$164
$153
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$185
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
La Jolla Shores Hotel(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$249
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Jolla Beach Travelodge(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$140
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pantai Inn(La Jolla)
$374
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,024)
Filter reviews
1,024 results
Traveler rating
638
304
54
14
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
638
304
54
14
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanhattan restaurantvalet parkingpiano barspa suitewithin walking distancecontinental breakfaststreet parkingboiled eggsjacuzzi tubshops and restaurantsyogurtheart of la jollasmall hotelperfect locationstarbucks coffeefront desk stafftwo queen beds
Filter
Updating list...
925 - 930 of 1,024 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2008

Great hotel in the heart of La Jolla. Great location to shops and restaurants. Free internet and breakfast. Hotel clean, well maintained with large rooms. I plan to stay at this hotel again next time we travel to La Jolla, CA.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Nick_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2008

This hotel is centrally located to nice restraunts, shops and within walking distance of the ocean. The hotel room itself is quite confortable and the perfect size for 2. The newly renovated walk-in shower is a wonderful upgrade! The hotel room we were originally brought to had a terrible view of the garbage cans and smelt horrible. We polietly requested to be moved... which was done without hesitation. Needless to say, that was the only hiccup during our 4 night stay.

If we ever return to La Jolla, we would stay at the Empress again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank brittygrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2008

We stayed at the Empress Hotel on October 19 for one night. Excellent location in the heart of La Jolla. The hotel is nice and clean, The reception desk crew were friendly, polite, and efficient(on Sunday afternoon). The room and the bathroom were nice and clean, and the bed very comfortable (we actually got a full night of sleep). The breakfast is nothing special but its free so we can not complain. The only little complain is the charge for the parking but it did not effect the good general experience of staying in this hotel (you can park in the street or in the parking lot across the street). There are also 2 computers for guest use in the Lobby and free Wifi in all the rooms. ( I could not make my Ipod Touch to work with it, but maybe I was doing something wrong)
We had a very good stay at this hotel and I will highly recommends this hotel to anybody. We will stay there again on our next visit to La Jolla.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dudreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2008

We stayed at the Empress on September 6th and could not be more pleased with our experience. My husband and I were married at the La Jolla Woman's Club and the hotel was a great pick, only a few blocks away. My bridesmaids and I got ready at the hotel and our suite was amazing with plenty of room. Coming back to our beautiful room that night was a perfect ending to our day. The staff was so accommodating and our room was ready for our 1 pm early check in request. I would reccommend the Empress to anyone who is looking for a great hotel in beautiful La Jolla.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllisonCallahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2008

Room was not ready upon arrival but we were still allowed to leave our luggages in the room before proceeding for lunch.

Easy access to the little town. Apparently it was very near the beach too but I didnt have time to wonder there.

Apples were available at the reception desk. internet was available though reception was not stable throughout.

Reception was very helpful in providing delivery of meals options.

Complimentary breakfast was available too - hard boiled eggs, bread, muffins, cornflakes, jucies and hot drinks.

Oh, and my boss had a jacuzzi right smack in her bedroom... cool..

Overall, an excellent experience.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Cher_711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews