We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“75th Birthday Celebration”
Review of Empress Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Empress Hotel
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“75th Birthday Celebration”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We rented 5 rooms with guests staying 1-4 nights. It is an older hotel but well maintained and quite comfortable. It is well located and employees a very helpful staff. The restaurant was a nice plus. We would all stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    263
    52
    13
    14
See reviews for
199
331
46
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

The Empress Hotel is quite a little gem. We appreciated the thoughtful attention to details at this hotel. It made us feel welcome. At the entrance, a valet greeted us. We also noticed a dog bowl filled with water right by (definitely dog-friendly, too bad we're cat owners). Front desk personnel was cordial and professional. Complimentary cookies, coffee and tea await you right there.

Our room was spacious and very comfortable for a family of four. We thought it was forward thinking to just have a contemporary shower stall in the bathroom in lieu of a bath tub (great for water conservation). Lots of shops and restaurants are nearby the hotel. The beach is just a short walk away. We will definitely return to this hotel when we get another chance to visit La Jolla.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnydays4579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empresss_GM, General Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear sunnydays4579,
Thank you for a wonderful review! It was our pleasure having you as our guests and we're so pleased to read that you enjoyed the attention to detail and the "little extras" we offer as a boutique hotel. It's our top priority to ensure we provide exceptional service and a personal experience for each and every guest and we thank you for the acknowledgement. We're glad you enjoyed our central location, within walking distance to local shops, restaurants, and the beach. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
John S Haerr
General Manager
Empress Hotel La Jolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
153 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is an older hotel, but in good shape and with a great location. Easy walking distance to various restaurants. Fairly basic accommodations, but well maintained and clean. Staff were cheerful and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empresss_GM, General Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Empress Hotel in La Jolla and we appreciate your kind feedback. We're glad you enjoyed our clean and well-maintained accommodations, our helpful and friendly staff and our close proximity to a number of great restaurants. We look forward to having you as our guest on your next visit to La Jolla.

Sincerely,
John S Haerr
General Manager
Empress Hotel La Jolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We found Empress by one of the search engines and read reviews on Tripadvisor and decided why not give it a chance, especially for the price. We didn't have any expectations, by most reviews it seem to be a pretty solid place to stay. At check in, the staff was very friendly. They were very accomodating. After we checked into our room, we decided we did not want to be near the elavators and they switched us immediately, but unfortunately for us, the other room had a connector door which we've had bad expreience with noise in the past. So we decided to switch back to the original room and staff guaranteed us that the we would not hear anything from the elavators because the way the room was situated and they were right. We did not hear any noise from people or the elavators just housekeeping, which our room was next to. At least it wasn't at night and luckily for us no one used the shoe shine machine outside of the housekeeping door.

Pros
The room was clean and the bed was comfortable.
The location was the best cannot beat it. We were steps away from shops and restuarants. And the Cove was walking distance.
Breakfast was included and sufficient enough and eating out on the patio was nice.
Overall it was quiet, nothing distrubed our sleep and we are extremly light sleepers.
We had a ball at the restaurant's bar. The piano man was fun and played some expected songs. (One note: we had a great bartender who served us after the first bartender was rude) She made up for his rudeness by giving us free Scooby Snacks and we wound up having a great time.

Cons
Some may think the rooms are small, but it was perfect for the two of us.
Some may miss having a tub. The stand up shower was fine.
My only annoyance was that staff was doing double duty by tending the front desk and helping with valet. There were a few times we had questions when the front desk wasn't manned because they were doing valet and we had to wait a bit, but other than that, service was fine.

We would definitely be staying here again as it was the perfect place to walk around the Cove, hang out at restaurants and bars, and then come back to a peaceful and laidback hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empresss_GM, General Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Kim K,
Thank you so much for your detailed review of the Empress Hotel in La Jolla. I'm glad to hear you found our hotel through Tripadvisor and that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your kind comments and your mention of our friendly and accommodating staff, clean and quiet rooms, complimentary breakfast and convenient location within walking distance to many local shops, restaurants and bars. It's great to read that you enjoyed a peaceful night's sleep during your stay as I understand how important it is to get a good night's sleep while on vacation. Thank you for choosing the Empress Hotel and we look forward to hosting your next stay in La Jolla.

Sincerely,
ohn S Haerr
General Manager
Empress Hotel La Jolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level Contributor
144 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

We booked through hotel tonight and got it for like 1/2 on a Saturday night. The staff was very very nice and accommodating. Rooms really clean and all around very happy with our stay. I would stay again in a heartbeat

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Senk C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empresss_GM, General Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Senk C.,
Thank you for an excellent 5-star review! We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your last-minute stay at the Empress Hotel in La Jolla including our clean rooms and our accommodating staff. Thank you for mentioning our great value and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to La Jolla.

Sincerely,
John S Haerr
General Manager
Empress Hotel La Jolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We booked the Empress Hotel by using one of the discount search engines. I can't really say we chose this hotel but it was a sweet surprise.

The rooms are a bit small but very clean and had enough room for the 2 of us. The bathroom is very large and nice but is a shower only. The bed frames seemed a bit old and would squeak just sitting on them and shifting your weight. They may be used to go with over all décor.

The staff was amazing always on the ball and very attentive to any need we had from the Valet, Room Service through Check Out. At times it seemed a little understaffed but the stress of multi-tasking never showed in their dedication to service.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiggle303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empresss_GM, General Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Empress Hotel of La Jolla and we appreciate your feedback. I'm glad you were pleased with our clean rooms and spacious bathrooms and that you found our staff to be efficient and attentive from our valet staff to our housekeepers. Providing our guests with an excellent stay is our number one goal, and we're happy you had a pleasant experience with us. I am pleased to inform you that the hotel will soon be undergoing several renovations, which should address your concerns. Thank you again for your review and we hope you choose the Empress Hotel on your next visit to La Jolla to enjoy one of our renovated rooms.

Sincerely,
John S Haerr
General Manager
Empress Hotel La Jolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
como
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

I spent few days in this hotel for business. I have been upgraded to a suite room that was gorgeous: large jacuzzi in the bedroom and a nice livingroom with even a piano! The hotel is really nice, clean and in a convenient position close to shops, restaurants and few steps from the ocean. A complimentary breakfast is included in the rate, but it is quite basic.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empresss_GM, General Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear laura695,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Empress Hotel. I am glad that you were pleased with your stay while on business in La Jolla and that you enjoyed our clean rooms and our convenient location within walking distance to shopping, restaurants and the beach. I am happy you were able to take advantage of our complimentary breakfast. We do a have a number of room types available for our guests and we're glad you were pleased with your upgraded room. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,
John S Haerr
General Manager
Empress Hotel La Jolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Hotel

Property: Empress Hotel
Address: 7766 Fay Ave, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4309 (Formerly Empress Hotel of La Jolla)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Empress Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Empress Hotel is a traditionally elegant European-style boutique hotel, known for its warm hospitality, superior accommodations and attentive service. Located right in the heart of La Jolla Village. Within walking distance to shops, restaurants, beach, and wedding sites. All guestrooms include complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Empress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel La Jolla
Empress La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing