We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value in LaJolla”
Review of Empress Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Empress Hotel
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Value in LaJolla”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is another older property with a eclectic feel. It used to be apartments for older retired folks and you'll see that in the wider doors and other accessability features. I stayed here perhaps 5 times and always had a good evening. The bar downstairs has a Rat Pack feel to it. Obviously a lot of regulars and the bar tender can be a bit short. I prefer to walk down to the ocean where there are many choices for food and drink.

Room Tip: I can't say that any one was better than the other
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empresss_GM, General Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Bill H,

Thank you for your comments. We love getting feedback, especially from returning guest! We are pleased to hear you were able to take advantage of our convenient location, close to the downtown area and walking distance to the beach. Again, we value your feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind Regards,

John S Haerr
General Manager
Empress Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    263
    52
    13
    14
See reviews for
199
331
46
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
central cal
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a three night stay at the Empress Hotel. First thing I want to say is the staff was great. Everyone was very helpful and friendly. I called and asked for an early check-in for two rooms; no problem. The room was clean and fresh. Parking was easy with the valet, no hassles at all. The only down side of the property was the slow elevator. Took the stairs from the fourth floor a couple of times.
We knew going in that there is some noise issues out front due to a restaurant/bar on the property. Well the bar patrons didn't disappoint, noise every night till last call. It's a good thing that type of thing doesn't bother me. Heck, I was in the bar late one of the nights.
If you're old and stuffy this may not be your cup of tea. If your up for a good time and don't mind other people having fun, this is a great base to enjoy La Jolla from.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank brokecheerdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empresss_GM, General Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest ,
Thank you for your comments from your recent stay at the Empress Hotel La Jolla. Our staff considers guest service in the highest regard and appreciates your positive feedback. We will begin our elevator modernization in a few weeks which will correct the slow elevator issues. We look forward to seeing you again at the Empress Hotel La Jolla.

Sincerely,
John S Haerr
General Manager
Empress Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I visited La Jolla recently (I was on a business trip, he was on vacation) and stayed at the Empress Hotel for 3 nights.
Coming from the East Coast, our flight was arriving too early for check-in but we decided to go to the hotel anyway to see if they would hold our bags. In addition to being greeted by smiling staff who were happy to direct us to a nearby restaurant, we were told that a room had already been prepared for us! As it turns out, Maureen Croxford, Director of Sales, reviewed the flight information I provided to her prior to our trip and took it upon herself to request a room be ready on our behalf- about 4 hours early. This attention to detail really set the tone for our weekend stay - which did not disappoint.
In addition to the comfortable beds and stocked bathroom, the hotel provides a generous breakfast which we were able to take advantage of daily. The hotel is within walking distance of great shops, wonderful restaurants (Manhattan Restaurant is in the hotel and has great food & service), and the beach!
I am looking forward to traveling to this location again for a personal getaway. I will definitely choose the Empress Hotel and have highly recommended it to friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loriorioir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empresss_GM, General Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for a great review. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, we strive to provide our guests with exceptional service during their stay with us. I will be sure to pass along your kind comments to Maureen. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable beds and our hotel amenities, such as our toiletries and the complimentary continental breakfast each morning. We are also pleased that you were able to take advantage our on-site restaurant, and convenient downtown La Jolla location which is close to all of the great restaurants , shops and of course the beach! We look forward to your next visit with us.

Kind Regards,

John Haerr
General Manager
Empress Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I originally planned to stay at the La Valencia hotel but it was sold out the week of our visit to La Jolla. Other hotels in the vicinity were sold out as well. To be honest, I was a bit unsure about the Empress because it was off the tourist "hot spots". However, my wife and I were pleasantly surprised with the hotel. It does not have an ocean view but who goes to La Jolla to spend time looking at the ocean from a hotel balcony. Save lots of money by staying at a hotel like the Empress and you will see enough of the ocean within a short and pleasant walk (a few blocks) to the heart of downtown La Jolla and other attractions like the Children's Pool on La Jolla Cove. By the time you get back to the hotel, you want nothing to do with the ocean :-). Parking is tough but valet parking is available. Unless you use your car frequently, valet is the way to go. We stayed on the 4th floor next to the elevator. We did not find it noisy as others mentioned in their reviews. Perhaps we slept through it. Decor was a bit dated but the hotel room we stayed is large, very clean and the bed very comfortable. We had the windows opened at night and enjoyed the fresh air. There wasn't any street noise to speak off. There is a free continental breakfast. The breakfast area is small but there's plenty of spaces outdoor. However, it can be chilly outside. Overall, we were very satisfied with our stay and would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevenk10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empresss_GM, General Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review! We are pleased that you enjoyed our convenient location, walking distance from the gorgeous coastline and the downtown area of La Jolla, and our guestroom accommodations. It’s great to hear that you were able to take advantage of the our valet parking and the complimentary continental breakfast. I would like to mention that we do have peek-a-boo views of the ocean from some of the rooms on the higher floors and that will also be making décor upgrades in the next few months. We hope that you will stay with us again when your travels bring you back to the “Jewel City”.

Kind Regards,

John Haerr
General Manager
Empress Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Just stayed at Empress Hotel of La Jolla for 5 nights and would recommend. Had a nice room, comfortable bed, continental breakfasts, helpful/friendly staff. We know the area of La Jolla and think the location of the hotel is wonderful. The overall experience was quite satisfying.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

just stayed 3 days at the Empress Hotel, La Jolla. our room (#408) was at the 4th floor facing the back of the building. it was quiet and peaceful. the room was large and very clean. you can open the window (screened) and enjoy the fresh air if you like. good light from the ceiling as well as on the walls and next to the bed. the big comfy bed with high quality bedding guarantied a good night sleep. very spacious bath room with a good shower.
we loved the breakfast on the terrace: it was nice to sit outside with the morning-paper (supply by the hotel) and enjoy the coffee and breakfast. nice selection of pastries, hard boiled eggs, salami and cheese and more.
perfect location, near good restaurants and shops. few days before arrival we recieved an e/mail from the hotel with essential details of arriving, as well as a list of attractions around it. a very nice touch!
the staff in the front desk are very friendly and helpful. they are patient and help with a smile if you have a problem or need any information.
sounds perfect? it is, and definatily will stay there next time in La Jolla.

Room Tip: higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cashu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empresss_GM, General Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments in regards to your recent stay with us! We really appreciate your business and truly care about each and every guest stay here at the Empress Hotel La Jolla. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your guestroom accommodations; especially the plush bedding and our complimentary breakfast on the terrace. I will share your comments to the front desk staff and employees. We hope to see you again soon!

King Regards,

John Haerr
General Manager
Empress Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Beds were comply, front desk staff very helpful. Nice breakfast on the terrace. We skipped the $18 valet parking and had to jockey the vehicle a few times on the street, but that was our choice. Nice central location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twindad2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empresss_GM, General Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments and value your business at the Empress Hotel La Jolla. Our staff makes every effort to provide the highest quality guest service to make your stay the most memorable and pleasurable experience. We are sorry you did not choose to use our valet parking, we charge less then the rates most hotels in the area charge for parking and it does include valet service when you come and go during your stay. We hope to see you again and value your business.

Thank you,

John Haerr
General Manager
Empress Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Hotel

Property: Empress Hotel
Address: 7766 Fay Ave, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4309 (Formerly Empress Hotel of La Jolla)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Empress Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Empress Hotel is a traditionally elegant European-style boutique hotel, known for its warm hospitality, superior accommodations and attentive service. Located right in the heart of La Jolla Village. Within walking distance to shops, restaurants, beach, and wedding sites. All guestrooms include complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Empress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel La Jolla
Empress La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing