We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Spring Break Vacay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Empress Hotel of La Jolla

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Empress Hotel of La Jolla
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spring Break Vacay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed at the Empress for 3 nights and had a standard room with two beds. Ideally we would have liked 2 rooms as it was my mom, niece, brother and myself, but rooms in La Jolla are quite expensive. However the location was great. Lots of shops and restaurants within walking distance. Beach about 2 blocks away. Lego Land and Sea World were about 30 min away (20 the way my brother drives har har). The staff was very friendly. They had fresh apples every morning and housekeeping brought us chocolates in the evening :D I don't normally eat a big breakfast so the pastries, waffles, yogurt, hard boiled eggs and drinks were plenty for us! Room was clean, a little tight for 4 people but nothing unbearable. I didn't care for the pocket sliding door to the the bathroom but I got used to it. Nice big shower and lots of hot water, plenty for all 4 of us! Would definitely stay here again. Valet parking is $18 a day, I think parking is free on Sundays.

Room Tip: Ask for 3 floor and above to reduce noise from street and breakfast room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeCee86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    239
    49
    12
    14
See reviews for
171
281
41
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay here. Stayed here for business. Room was large, clean, had everything I required. I went for a standard room which had a sofa, coffee table, and desk/dining table which was great for when working from the hotel room. Bed was very large and comfy and had good quality sleep. Shower was large, good pressure, heaps of hot water. Bathroom was generally clean and had everything I required.

Location wise the hotel is a close walk to Prospect St which has a lot of bars and restaurants. But even closer than that were some nice places including Japanese, Italian, a fancy burger place and pizza. Try the Thai one block over - best Red Curry Duck in years! Was about 5 minutes walk from the beach.

I used the valet parking for 3 days which was prompt and easy to use.

Breakfast was average but I'm not a huge fan of continental. Free WIFI worked all the time and was easy to connect and authenticate.

No pool, no spa. Crap view from my room (308).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveM-NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Empress La Jolla in late Feb, 2013, and couldn't have been happier. We reserved a regular room but when we found it didn't have a bath we asked for another. We were told it would cost an additional $100/night to upgrade to this room but after a bit of negotiating were able to get this room for an additional $50/night. Was it worth it? Absolutely!!! It was a huge 2-room suite with a dual vanity, a view of the ocean, and best of all a HUGE (think 2-person) jacuzzi right in the bedroom! The breakfast was fair but no big deal! The location was great and the staff were very friendly. Will definitely be returning to the Empress! :-)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tberger_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Great location. Clean, comfortable and relaxing. Exactly what you ordered. Rooms are well equipped with all the usuals. Iron & board in situ. Free wifi - great signal, no problems. Large rooms that have a sofa seating area too. Excellent for my business trip. Fresh orange squash, apples & fresh cookies at reception are a nice touch. Breakfast is good, gym is good.
Would consider booking for a family trip - very good value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OXAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the Empress. It is a nice, clean, conveniently located hotel right in the middle of La Jolla. We arrived a little early, but were able to check in anyway. The room was a good size, clean, and had all the usual comforts (flat screen tv, wifi, small fridge, coffee maker, etc.) We didn't have a view, but didn't expect one. The great thing about this hotel is that it is within walking distance of everything you would need. All within a few blocks were a grocery store, many restaurants, shops if you want them, and the ocean.

We didn't experience any problems during our stay. Everything in the room functioned just fine, no loud noise from other guests, outside, or the restaurant. The hotel had a continental breakfast that was nothing fancy, but enough to fill us up until lunch. Cereals, yogurt, hard-boiled eggs, toast, pastries, fruits, cold-cuts and cheese, juices, coffee, and even waffles. We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant, so I can't comment.

The only thing that was somewhat inconvenient was the parking situation. The hotel offers a valet service, but it was pretty expensive. We instead chose to take our chances with street parking. Just one block behind the hotel is a mostly residential street that allows overnight parking without restrictions. We didn't have a problem finding a spot during our stay - one evening we had to walk a few extra blocks, but otherwise were usually within a block or two of the hotel.

There are much fancier places to stay in La Jolla, but given it's location, I think this was a good hotel for the price (around $130/night average during our stay).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCL_JO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Recently stayed at the Empress Hotel of La Jolla because it was convenient to a location where I was to be a speaker. We were warmly welcomed and assigned a lovely room. However, the electrical outlets were not all working and no one on housekeeping staff was available. We had no TV and no convenient place to recharge the cell phone we planned to program to awaken us.
On the other hand, a satisfactory continental breakfast was available in a small upstairs room connected to an outdoor deck for those who wished to eat in the morning sun. The next day, in order to make our early flight home, we had to leave before breakfast was served and the attendant helped us to pack a little food to store in our in-room refrigerator. That snack was just enough to tide us over until we could get a meal at the airport.

Because there is little on-street parking in downtown La Jolla, only valet parking was convenient, and it cost $18 per night. The staff expediently retrieved our car when we needed it.

Room Tip: Though our room abutted the elevator, we heard no noise in our room and were able to sleep comfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anjamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coto de Caza, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The Empress – La Jolla
Feb 15 – 2nts
Room – 514 – The Empress Room / King bed

Three things I liked:
The hotel is conveniently located in downtown La Jolla
Internet access was complimentary (with our room category)
The air conditioner worked really well (That’s very important to me!)

Three Things I didn’t like:
The room décor is very dated and dingy.
Parking is limited and we had to park off-site, two streets away on our last night
The room didn’t feel fresh and inviting

I stayed at the Empress Hotel in La Jolla for two nights on a business trip. I chose it because I’ve been working in La Jolla often and wanted to try some different hotels . I made my reservation by phone which was a bit of a chore.

My room was “The Empress Room” – Number 514. The room had a king bed, sofa (which was missing two of the back cushions), small dining table, small desk and chair, 27(ish) inch flat screen TV, mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker and safe.

The room looked like a mix of old wallpaper and upholstered sofa and chairs with newer, more contemporary fabrics on the bed and draperies and possibly the carpet (I couldn't be sure). They didn’t match at all. It seems like it was an effort at updating that never got finished.

The bathroom was OK. The shower was very large but it took forever for the water to get hot. The décor in the bathroom was also a mix of contemporary and 80’s your grandma’s house.

We had room service for dinner both nights from the on-site restaurant “Manhattan of La Jolla”, which is a well-known La Jolla hot spot. For the most part, the food was just OK, but not great. Although the veal, beef and lamb cannelloni tasted excellent, even though the presentation was bad.

Continental breakfast was included in our rate. It’s served on the second floor, with options of sitting inside or outside on a patio area. Neither were visually appealing. Food choices were: waffles you make yourself, yogurt, juice, coffee, cereal, bagels, pastries, cheese, fruit.

One bad part of our stay was that the hotel parking was full one evening, so we had to park two streets away on our last night’s stay. The staff however was pleasant.

My overall opinion of The Empress Hotel La Jolla is; it’s just not for me. It was probably great years ago but now, in my opinion, it’s very lack-luster. Earlier in the same week I had stayed one night at “The Grande Colonial” in downtown La Jolla and loved everything about it. So, this property was a big letdown for me. It’s just not someplace that I would get excited about coming back too. Unless the rooms are fully renovated, I don’t think I would choose this hotel again.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor, near the elevator but didn't have a problem with any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deanna_Watters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
0.3 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 568 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 961 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 604 reviews
3.3 mi away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
La Jolla Cove Suites
La Jolla Cove Suites
#17 of 24 in La Jolla
3.5 of 5 stars 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empress Hotel of La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Hotel of La Jolla

Property: Empress Hotel of La Jolla
Address: 7766 Fay Avenue, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Empress Hotel of La Jolla 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Empress Hotel is a traditionally elegant European-style boutique hotel, known for its warm hospitality, superior accommodations and attentive service. Located right in the heart of La Jolla Village. Within walking distance to shops, restaurants, beach, and wedding sites. All guestrooms include complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Empress Hotel of La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel La Jolla
Empress La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing