We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fits perfectly with La jolla” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Empress Hotel of La Jolla

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Empress Hotel of La Jolla
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fits perfectly with La jolla”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Its my birthday and we arrived around 10 in the evening. Everything was closed and don't expect anything to be open. We had to tow all 8 bags ourselves onto the cart and up the elevator. There was no bellhop waiting for us. But the room makes up for everything . Its spacious and the bed rivals the marriott's cozy and luscious comfort. It's located at la jolla's shopping avenue. Parking is $18, but there's plenty of parking spaces to move around. La jolla is beautiful. Great for a peaceful, serene weekend.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rnplus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    238
    49
    12
    14
See reviews for
168
281
41
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed here 2 or 3 times some number of years ago until the valet parking smashed our car. Their insurance paid for the damage, but it was still a major hassle and we've avoided the place in our yearly visit to La Jolla until now when we decided to give them another try. And we were glad we did. The location is perfect (so long as you don't want to be right on the waterfront) and the rooms have been upgraded, but not the price. Given that the choices in La Jolla are expensive fancy places and somewhat rundown motel-like places (that aren't cheap, either, with very small rooms), the only decent choices in the middle are BW Inn by the Sea and Empress. The rooms here are now nicer, the place quieter (fewer kids), and the afternoon cookies were a nice treat, so overall, it's the best choice for mid-tier hotel in La Jolla. We'll certainly be back again next year.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dcpalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada Flintridge, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We like this hotel and it's the second time we've stayed there. A great location, and a wonderful breakfast. Comfortable and friendly. However, this time we stayed during a weekend, and Friday and Saturday nights the restaurant, which is in the center of the hotel, had parties and music, and we heard music and partying and laughing until quite late at night both nights. I don't know what if anything can be done about that noise.
We also stayed in a room near the elevator, which was noisy. We didn't ask to be moved, which we should have, as the front desk informed us when we left and complained about it. Parking is also an issue, since you either park on the street where there is one and two-hour parking, or across the street in a pretty pricy parking garage.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spanprof1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvador, BA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The hotel is located in a very good place, just a few miles from San Diego (no doubts about staying in La Jolla instead of San Diego), at a really enchanting area with gorgeous beaches, cliffs and coves. A lot of services nearby: restaurants, stores, drugstores, grocery stores, gas stations. Its light atmosphere and hospitality turn the stay very pleasant. Staff: helpful and sympathetic. Room: comfortable, clean, quiet (I recommend higher floors). Bathroom: ok. Efficient room service (the bathroom door needed to be fixed, which was done immediately after requesting). Breakfast: the only issue and negative point during the staying. Poor and not compatible to the hotel quality (bad bread options, no eggs, no cheese, no sausage…); the room used is very, very small (four small tables if I remember). There is an outer space, with large tables, but prohibitive in cold, rainy or windy days. We used the room service menu of Manhattan's Italian restaurant (located just off the lobby): very good, well served, not cheap, though. Valet parking: fast, very efficient (the own staff takes out and brings back the car). Actually, the hotel exceeded our expectations. I do recommend this hotel for families with kids.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kobda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The staff were helpful and friendly. I went out for take-out and when I got back to my room realized I had no plastic-ware and the restaurant let me borrow some silverware. Appreciated the turn down service and chocolates. It's a really cute boutique hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allielorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Elsinore, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Empress Hotel. Our son was having eye surgery the next morning and we needed to be near Eye Center. The room was wonderful and very comfortable and relaxing. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. They seemed to know what we needed before we asked. They were a huge help with our son on the day we left. They made sure the car was right up front and helped with all our luggage.
We will definitely be staying there again and hopefully it will be for a vacation and not a medical appointment.
Thanks very much for a great 2 days!!
Mary

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and had a kingsize bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udon Thani, Thailand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I just returned from a two-nights' stay at the Empress Hotel of La Jolla. I was very impressed with all aspects of my stay and would not hesitate to return here when my travels bring me back to La Jolla.

The hotel features a nice, open and spacious lobby. Complementary newspapers, water, fruit and delicious cookies are available for hotel guests. The front office staff were efficient, helpful and informative, and extremely friendly.

The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. While renovated, the room was not "fully modernized," but for the price paid was more than adequate. The king-sized bed was extremely comfortable and featured five fluffy, down pillows. There was a sitting area with a large, flat-screen television mounted on the wall, and a nice table and chairs which made for a decent work space. The bathroom was spacious and featured good amenities.

I had dinner at the hotel's signature restaurant - Manhattan of La Jolla (see my separate review) and it was a splendid meal. The continental buffet breakfast on offer was probably my least favorite aspect of the hotel - it was heavy on processed/pre-packaged breakfast foods and light on things like fresh fruit - but I did enjoy the tasty coffee.

The overall value of the hotel was excellent. For roughly the same price one would pay for a Holiday Inn or Marriott Courtyard or other generic hotel, I would choose a boutique, well-run property such as this any day. In addition, fast WiFi throughout the hotel was free - something I always like!

Keep in mind that the Empress is NOT a resort, and it is not on the beach. But as a mid-range hotel close to the action of downtown La Jolla and just a couple of minutes' from the delightful oceanfront promenade, it is a hard place to beat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAMESINTHAILAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
0.3 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 563 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 958 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 597 reviews
3.3 mi away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
La Jolla Cove Suites
La Jolla Cove Suites
#17 of 24 in La Jolla
3.5 of 5 stars 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empress Hotel of La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Hotel of La Jolla

Property: Empress Hotel of La Jolla
Address: 7766 Fay Avenue, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Empress Hotel of La Jolla 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Empress Hotel is a traditionally elegant European-style boutique hotel, known for its warm hospitality, superior accommodations and attentive service. Located right in the heart of La Jolla Village. Within walking distance to shops, restaurants, beach, and wedding sites. All guestrooms include complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Empress Hotel of La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel La Jolla
Empress La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing