We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Awesome hotel, not busy at all during labor day, which made it very easy to come and go without dealing with the crowds. Location is perfect, you can walk to everthing: the cove, restaurants, shops, etc. Room was great, and breakfast was decent. Valet parking was helpful as well because it would be a nightmare to try to find parking during the busy holiday around town. Overall it was a pleasure to stay here. We will definitely be back. Much thanks to all the workers they were superb! - Josh L.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlac27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (945)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

623 - 629 of 945 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed at the Empress Hotel August 9-12 while in town for a wedding. Rooms were very nice, even had turn down service. Bathroom and shower were awesome. Beds were super comfortable. Location was great, easy walk to the beach, shopping and dining. Front desk was extremely helpful. Continental breakfast was better than most. They had a waffle station, boiled eggs, yogurt, cereal, assorted breads, meats and cheeses. Plenty of juices and coffee. Only 2 areas that I was disappointed....air condition did not seem to be very cool. It was unseasonably hot during the days and I am use to having the room cooler especially at night. A ceiling fan in the room would have helped. The other was no free parking. $20 per day to valet. There was a Best Western a little closer to the beach I might try if I visit again but this place is still very nice and a good place to stay. I paid about $209.00 per night.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris5984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Charming hotel in downtown La Jolla with great access to downtown shops and restaurants. Rooms were spacious and very quiet. We booked the Empress Suite and were quite pleased with the layout of the room. The Continental breakfast is an added bonus ! The only issue is the parking... Valet parking is necessary as finding a parking spot in downtown La Jolla is practically impossible !
Overall great experience !

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

This was my second stay at The Empress Hotel, and the staff was very warm and welcoming (Jason and the other front desk crew). The location is great, and I even had a lovely ocean view room with sitting area on the top floor. The rates were very reasonable for the prime location. The rooms were quiet and the bed was comfortable. The rooms aren't brand new, and the elevator is a little slow...but if you're on vacation it adds to the charm of a more boutique, oceanside hotel. The workout room is small and minimal, but there are tons of yoga, pilates, and gyms right across the street if you want exercise. Must try The Cottage for breakfast and George's for lunch or dinner, both just steps away. Would stay here again!

Room Tip: Request a top floor if available facing Silverado Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I had the great pleasure of staying at the Empress Hotel in beautiful downtown La Jolla. The hotel was impressive, the room was comfortable, fresh and well appointed. From the moment I walked in the staff made me feel welcome and this continued until my speedy check out. There is a free continential breakfast that is above the ordinary. You can fresh make your own waffles, as well as the wide array of fruits, danish, eggs, cereals, juices and coffee. I will definitely stay at the Empress again when I am in La Jolla.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed 7/21-27. Location in La Jolla just four blocks or so from the cove is terrific. Street parking was interesting and turned into a game. If you don't valet (which is fine), looks for streets with longer or no limits. Anyway, perfect location. We could see the ocean from our room, the staff was amazingly helpful, even suggesting a farmer's market in Ocean Beach on Wednesday evenings which was fun and funky. Torry Pines State Park (and beach) is 10-15 minutes to the north, Pacific Beach is 10 minutes south, Ocean Beach is another 10-15 minutes south. Many many great places to eat within a block or two. We spent a couple of days strolling between the hotel and the ocean. Perfect climate, fine breakfast (use a little less than the recommended amount of batter for crispier waffles), helpful staff and total relaxation. We didn't want to leave, and plan to return for a month when we retire. We stayed there once about 15 years ago and the staff was just as friendly and helpful. This place is a great value and a 'sure thing.'

Room Tip: We enjoyed the 5th floor but I'm sure it's all fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wade P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I stayed the week of July 16-20, and was very happy with the quality of the facilities and service. I was in room 104, which is close to the elevators and restaurant, but the room was very quiet and I had no issues at all with noise or disturbances of any kind. Parking on the street can be very challenging, but Nick and Alan at the front desk were very helpful at providing hints regarding street parking in the area. The Manhattan Restaurant was great. I had the grilled swordfish with capers one evening, and it was perfectly done. I know I'll be back again to sample some of the other dishes. All in all, my stay was very satisfying, and I look forward to my next visit to the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,091 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,221 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 286 in San Diego
2,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel

Address: 7766 Fay Ave, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037 (Formerly Empress Hotel of La Jolla)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: $202 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience California comfort at our charming boutique hotel in the scenic village of La Jolla, California. Situated just steps from the San Diego Area's famous sandy beaches and downtown La Jolla, while also being only minutes from popular attractions like SeaWorld and Torrey Pines golf course, our hotel is the perfect location to embark on an unforgettable vacation or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel La Jolla
Empress La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing