We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Enjoyable Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Empress Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Empress Hotel
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I stayed the week of July 16-20, and was very happy with the quality of the facilities and service. I was in room 104, which is close to the elevators and restaurant, but the room was very quiet and I had no issues at all with noise or disturbances of any kind. Parking on the street can be very challenging, but Nick and Alan at the front desk were very helpful at providing hints regarding street parking in the area. The Manhattan Restaurant was great. I had the grilled swordfish with capers one evening, and it was perfectly done. I know I'll be back again to sample some of the other dishes. All in all, my stay was very satisfying, and I look forward to my next visit to the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    242
    52
    13
    14
See reviews for
181
295
43
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We just spent 2 nights at the Empress Hotel and found that it deserves its reputation.
It is in a perfect location.
The rooms are quiet, clean and nicely appointed.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful, especially Cisco.
We will stay there on our next trip to La Jolla.

Room Tip: Room 416 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MItch H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

The staff was outstanding, always eager to help and very outgoing and friendly, always with a smile and a greeting. When I asked how to get back to my car rental facility since it wasn't right at the airport, he promptly looked up the address and printed me out directions. Parking is an issue in the area, so we did the $18/day valet parking and never really had to wait for the car. The rooms were nicely maintained and roomy in that it was wide. You can actually open the windows here. We didn't eat at the on site restaurant here but heard it was very good. The included continental breakfast was decent and had hard boiled eggs and you could make your own Belgium waffles and eat on a nice patio. The location is very good and central to everything with a short walk.
Would go back again!

Room Tip: I had read that food smells from the restaurant can be an issue in some rooms but we had no problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Unfortunatley I never actually stayed at the Empress Hotel and never will! I was suppose to stay there one night for business, the day before my reservation (24 hours) I had a family emergency that required me to fly home earlier. My wife's back went out, we have an 8 year old girl with casts on both of her legs and a son that has special needs. We do not have family in our area and my wife's issues required me to get home. I called the Empress to cancel my reservation and they said they are holding true to their "48 hour" cancelation policy. After speaking to "Ben" who answered the phone, I explained my situation to him, he said he would ask the "General Manager Kevin Swenink" to see if there was anything he would do, I asked to speak to the General Manager himself but I was told that "Ben" handled all of his calls for him. To there credit, I did get a 25% discount off my summer rate, but after not being allowed to speak to the person in charge, I felt like I got the brush off. So be aware when booking at this hotel, make sure family emergencies happen 48 hours before you stay there and that the "General Manager" is too busy to actually speak to his customers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MTSmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, TX
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on a Thursday night mid-July. We paid $171 a night due to a special promotion via email. The staff was nice and we enjoyed the little extras they provided such as chocolates and cookies. The breakfast was ok. The rooms were clean but pretty standard. The best thing about this hotel is the location. I loved how close it was to the cove. I would definitely stay here again if I could get a similiar rate.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PlanoTexasMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I travelled to La Jolla June 20 for a one-night stay (a Wednesday night.) I had to call several hotels to get a reservation, and finally got one at the Empress. When I showed up to check in, they said they were sorry, a guest had chosen to stay an extra night (no, I don't believe them), and they didn't have a room for me. But they COULD offer me a free night just down the street. I was skeptical but decided I check it out. The place I pulled up to looked like they rented by the hour. There was no way I was going to stay there, free or not.

I feel that a REAL hotel would have found me an equally nice room elsewhere. I would have been fine paying the rate that I as promised at the Empress.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mttraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter
Level Contributor
176 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Value for money is terrible. There are better places in La Jolla I stayed before. It is worth while to look around before staying here. Front desk personnel was also not very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flying_dutchman_US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.3 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 635 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
0.3 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 673 reviews
3.3 mi away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
La Jolla Cove Suites
La Jolla Cove Suites
#17 of 24 in La Jolla
3.5 of 5 stars 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Hotel

Property: Empress Hotel
Address: 7766 Fay Ave, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4309 (Formerly Empress Hotel of La Jolla)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Empress Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Empress Hotel is a traditionally elegant European-style boutique hotel, known for its warm hospitality, superior accommodations and attentive service. Located right in the heart of La Jolla Village. Within walking distance to shops, restaurants, beach, and wedding sites. All guestrooms include complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Empress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel La Jolla
Empress La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing