We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute little boutique hotel, great location, quaint front desk check-in” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Empress Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Empress Hotel
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Cute little boutique hotel, great location, quaint front desk check-in”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

We stayed here for one night in March, the first day of our 9 day vacation in San Diego. It was dark when we got there so we didn't realize how close it was to everything. Our rate included internet and valet parking, breakfast, and a $50 gift certificate for the restaurant.

We checked in at around 6:30pm. There was a very elderly fellow at check in. He was courteous, not overly friendly, kind of comical, actually, he moved very slowly. There was no one to help us with our luggage. We were able to get someone to park the car in valet, but he had to be called - either it's a family run operation or they don't have much staff in the slow season. There were apples at the front desk.

The room was very nice, well appointed, updated bathroom, felt very boutique style. There was a fridge in the closet. It was cozy, comfy, and clean. We had two queen beds in our room. There is a large window, but no balcony, our view was overlooking a parking area on the street. There is a desk and a small table. The beds were comfortable and the linens felt nice. The towels were a little on the rough side. The rooms are very quiet, I didn't hear any noise from adjoining rooms (it wasn't busy so not sure if the rooms were occupied or not).

We went downstairs to Manhattan for dinner (using our gift card). It was candlelight dining with the kids. It wasn't very busy, we were seated at a booth in an empty section of the restaurant, near a huge 360 degree fish tank. It's one of those restaurants where they leave you alone a lot, expecting you to enjoy your dinner and go through all courses of dishes. The overall experience was enjoyable, but at the beginning I was getting tired of waiting and kept trying to find the waiter, I was tired after a long day of travelling, and wasn't really up to entertaining the kids for that long. We ordered some appetizers and one entree for the kids to share (fettucini alfredo). Most of the food was delicious, the kids really loved the fettucini and we had to order another serving for them. We shared dessert - it was really good. The $50 gift certificate didn't go very far. The kids spent most of the time watching the fish in the big tank - particularly a funny eel looking fish that kept swimming in and out of a little cave, backing in like he was parking. It was an enjoyable family time. There isn't much around to do or see in the evening within walking distance of the hotel.

In the morning we went to the breakfast room for breakfast - it was mostly continental style, and it was good and sufficient for our needs. There is patio seating and indoor seating. It was cool and overcast and a little foggy but we decided to eat outdoor on the patio. It was nice.

We checked out and got the car back from valet easily, spent the day touring the beach area in La Jolla, then headed to Oceanside, where we were spending the week.

Overall I really enjoyed our stay. La Jolla is a beautiful location in San Diego, and I would definitely want to spend more time there. I would also consider returning to this hotel. It was a great start to our vacation.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jazzinj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    259
    52
    13
    14
See reviews for
191
321
45
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

We have stayed at the Empress Hotel of La Jolla many, many times over the past four years and every time is just as exceptional as the last. This trip, Jason and the rest of the staff were incredibly friendly, helpful and knowledgable. Our trips have been both business and pleasure and we have never been disappointed. The Empress Hotel is within walking distance to all of the wonderful shops and restaurants. You will not be disappointed if you choose to stay here!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

Wonderful small hotel, great value for La Jolla, a few blocks from ocean, directly adjacent to La Jolla shopping & restaurents. Friendly efficient staff. Clean room. Will come back. Came on golfing vacation with 2 other couples. Called ahead and asked to be placed on same floor and request was accommodated.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank statmantx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

We spent 5 days in La Jolla just after Labor Day. The Empress Hotel in La Jolla made a great home base to explore La Jolla and the beach communities north and south of La Jolla. It's a easy walk to many very good restaurants and shops.

The rooms appear to have been recently updated. Our room was clean and fresh when we arrived. During our stay housekeeping did good job of freshening the room each day. We requested a 5th floor room. We were given a very nice room on the 5th floor with distant views of the Pacific.

They offer a free continental breakfast. It was better than most and the staff kept the area neat and clean and fully stocked. There is both indoor and patio seating.

I would have rated the hotel excellent but I felt they could have done a better job during and after the "Black Out" that left all of San Diego in the dark for about 12 hours.

I will return and hopefully be able to give an excellent rating.

Room Tip: 5th floor rooms opposite the street side have distant views of the Pacific and surrounding hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PHOTOAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne, Alabama
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

Bathroom has been updated. Older television in room. Front desk staff was extremely helpful. Manhattan Restaurant is excellent. Although in lovely La Jolla, my room at the end of the hallway on the 2nd floor overlooked the garbage dumpsters and was somewhat noisy...right next to the ice and vending machines.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vsimpson18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

Great location. Very reasonably priced. Very nice hotel! Also a free delicious breakfast is included. Staff was very friendly and helpful. To be honest, one of the best hotels I have stayed at in a while.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

Great service thanks to Ben and David! The food was excellent and there was a
good wine list!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClarissaScottsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Hotel

Property: Empress Hotel
Address: 7766 Fay Avenue, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037 (Formerly Empress Hotel of La Jolla)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Empress Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Empress Hotel is a traditionally elegant European-style boutique hotel, known for its warm hospitality, superior accommodations and attentive service. Located right in the heart of La Jolla Village. Within walking distance to shops, restaurants, beach, and wedding sites. All guestrooms include complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Empress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel La Jolla
Empress La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing