We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunsets from the balcony.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn by the Sea
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sunsets from the balcony.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2010

We stayed on the 5th floor with an ocean view. We experienced magnificent sunsets from our balcony. Many of the hotels in La Jolla don't have balconies. The rooms are spacious and clean. Could walk to beach, shops, restaurants, and grocery store.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DLF51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    300
    150
    38
    34
See reviews for
278
250
39
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2010

I stayed at the hotel Dec 4th - Dec 6th...woke up on the morning of Dec. 6th and saw a dark small bug crawling across my pillow. I smashed the bug...blood came out. I began to look for more bed bugs and found 2 more hidden in the folds of the bedskirt. I stayed in room 314. I called the manager to notify him, and asked him, " have you had a history of bed bugs in this hotel"? His response, " I wouldn't say we've had a history of bed bugs, we have had an occasional occurence". Will never stay here again!...and will always check the bed bug hotel registry before I go stay anywhere.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TEE008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwibts, General Manager at Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, June 2, 2011
I wanted to wait a bit before I responded to this comment for a couple of reasons. Most importantly; I hope that those of you concerned can now assume that the isolated problem (in fact only one guest room) has now been corrected. There have been no similar comments on Trip Advisor for the last six months!

We responded as a well run property should.

The room was isolated.
Adjoining rooms were also inspected.
Trained pest control specialists did there job (over a two week period).
The problem was resolved.

In house and third party inspections continue, and you can rest assured (pun intended) any similar occurrences will be dealt with promptly and professionally just as this isolated issue was.

Thank you,
Sheldon Joyner
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea
858-459-4461
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
250 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 452 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2010

(Our visit: October 28 thru November 1) Our stay here for 5 nights was very average. Our room which was in the back of the hotel was nothing special. It overlooked what appeared to be a condominium community and the parking lot. Everything was clean enough and the beds were comfortable, but the house keeping service was lacking. I leave a DAILY tip for the maids since I like for the person cleaning my room to get the immediate reward and not to have to worry if I tipped the right people due to shift changes. I faithfully left a $5 bill every morning as we left for the day. By day two, we no longer received the bedside chocolates, the tissue box container metal plate was left lying on the floor the entire time, and not once were we given any shampoo refills. My Mom was laughing at me as I faithfully tipped every morning, but would return to find the same items lacking. The staff at the reception desk was friendly and responsive to any requests. With no special view or amenities, I might try and stay elsewhere for the price.

The morning breakfast was the usual fare. I liked the fact that they had two elevators. We did not use the pool. Parking was an extra $12/day. The courtesy computer had a printer attached. In the afternoons there was iced coffee in the lobby. There was also a bowl of apples in the lobby that was always kept stocked.

The walk to La Jolla Coves was just 5 minutes which was nice to run down for the sunset over the Children’s Pool area. We enjoyed the pastries and coffee at the Aroma Café La Jolla, virtually across the street.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spontaneoustrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2010

This is our third stay. The rooms are large, clean and quiet. Can't beat the views from the balcony facing the ocean. The staff is always friendly and helpful. 1 1/2 blocks to some of the most beautiful beaches in the world. Even the perfect place for casual walks and window shopping. You can bet my family will return again and again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leaton1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2010

We stayed on the 5th floor with ocean views. It was gorgeous. The room was big and clean with an outside patio. The staff was friendly. The breakfast was adequate.

We could hear the next room's television which could have been a problem but they turned it off early.

I very nice hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjt2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2010

They had very clean rooms and the style of the room was very contemporary and spacious.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andreaj81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oracle, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2010

It was a nice hotel were you felt like it was still small enough that you knew the staff and they were there to make your stay the best it could be. Family friendly

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drejennings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.3 mi away
La Jolla Cove Suites
La Jolla Cove Suites
#17 of 24 in La Jolla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
0.1 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
0.2 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn by the Sea

Property: Inn by the Sea
Address: 7830 Fay Avenue, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#11 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#13 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#13 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the sand-swept landscapes and inspired Pacific views of the Inn by the Sea at La Jolla in San Diego, California. Here at our hotel in downtown La Jolla, you’ll find lovely guest rooms, complete with balconies offering coastal breezes and inspired views. Surrounded by beaches, dining options, local culture, and chic boutiques, this Southern California mecca is the premier destination for travelers to the La Jolla and San Diego areas. Take advantage of comfortable, spacious guest accommodations from the hotel that boasts a location in “The Heart of the Village.” Take in the salty breezes as you soak up the California sunshine in one of the most romantic honeymoon destinations. Spend a day exploring local culture, and later on, as the sun goes down, dine at one of our vibrant local restaurants. From morning until evening, La Jolla Village is brimming with all things California. From our perfect location just three blocks from the ocean, to our spacious accommodations designed for vacation comfort to the fullest, The Inn by the Sea at La Jolla is your California travel destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn By The Sea Hotel La Jolla
Best Western La Jolla
La Jolla Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing