We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn by the Sea
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A good stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2007

My boyfriend and I are both 24 year old law students in N.Y. We went to San Deigo for a quick break before going back to school. The hotel was clean and the room was big, with a balcony overlooking the ocean (partially). They offered a nice continental breakfast and were within walking distance to all the shops and restaurants in downtown La Jolla and the hotel was half the cost of other hotels in the area. We would stay again.

  • Disliked — Screaming kids in the pool during breakfast.. really the only downside.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SrChiChi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    300
    150
    38
    34
See reviews for
278
250
39
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Level Contributor
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2007

The Best Western Inn by the sea was not the greatest $200 a night room I have stayed in. There was mulitple kinds of hair in the bath tub, the drain there was also plugged necessitaing us to call maintenance to have it unplugged. The AC was impossible to get comfortable. And every morning there were trucks going up and down the driveway making the "beep beep beep" noise starting at 7 A M.
Plus having to pay $12 a night for parking that was hit or miss was irritating. Nope, I would not stay there again.

Helpful?
Thank Judy1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2007

I booked Best Western In by the Sea in La Jolla mainly for the location. It turned out to be a good idea (the location :-) The hotel is a Best Western so take notice. It is not bad for a B.W. though.

One thing I found annoying is that the parking gets full and even if you pay for hotel parking you may not be able to find a good spot (in addition to the meager outside lot, they have a small underground space that gets very crummed). Not a very good experience there.

The room is fine and all is as expected (nothing amazing).

We have a room with "a partial view to the ocean" --- Seriously now if you are looking for ocean view look elsewhere. The view from inside the room is another hotel/building -- that is the only thing to see (but if you go out in the balcony you can see little tiny strip of ocean --- ).

The LOCATION is great. La Jolla has nice restaurants, very beautiful shore (very close to the hotel), and many galleries of interesting art. It is excellent for a stroll and very pedestrian friendly. Thus we found that the booking was well worth it (to do about the same price for a better hotel experience it seems that one would have to move in a much less interesting area of San Diego -- thus B.W. by the Sea did the job for us).

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank minad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2007

First, I booked this and another Best Western on this trip via Hotwire. In both instances, I gave up flexibility for a "low price". What I learned is that I paid a bit more than if I booked direct, didn't get the frequent stay points, and didn't get the kind of room I would have liked. So stay away from Hotwire for booking purposes.
As for the hotel, this is a tired hotel with old carpeting, bedspreads, sheets, etc. It's clean, but wow it could use updating.
The staff was pretty average. But what do you expect, I doubt they are particularly well paid. One woman who greeted us was nice enough and certainly knowledgeable. The rest avoided contact with the guests.
The continental breakfast is a joke. White bread, bagels, cereal, plastic plates and utensils, and a cramped room to eat in with all the other budget travelers.
It's too bad, because the location is fantastic. Near lots of restaurants, near the bluff over the ocean where the seals congregate, and very near world class surfing at UCSD.
So, do your homework. You could probably find something nearby for the same or less money and have potentially a nicer place to stay. And with a view.
And stay away from Hotwire.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The dated furnishings and cheap atmosphere.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pascal482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2007

When my husband and I made our reservation at Best Western Inn by the Sea, we knew we were not staying at a five-star hotel. The location is really great - literally steps from the Prospect Street (the main drag), and only 2 blocks from the ocean. The staff were friendly during our stay and were always willing to give us directions and advice.

The hotel itself is old and needs to be seriously renovated. Our room was located on the top floor, it was clean and had a wonderful view of the ocean. However, the bed was as hard as a trampoline (really) and the hotel does not have air conditioning - don't touch the thermostat. The air was stuffy, so we had our balcony window open most of the time. During our stay, there was one day of heavy rain. We discovered that the rain had caused some flooding in our closet - and could also hear the water pouring inside the closet wall. No damage to our possesions, but wouldn't recommend storing anything in the closet if it's raining.

The continental breakfast is served pool-side, and was just perfect to get the day going. Fruit, pastries, yogurt, cereal, juice, coffee and tea. There is also a fabulous restaurant around the corner from the hotel called "Panini Grill" which we ate breakfast at once during our stay. Beautiful decor, good sized portions and reasonable prices. I highly recommend ordering the french toast and fresh squeezed orange juice - delicious! My husband raved about the omelette and huge portions.

Overall, for our short 3-day stay, this hotel did the trick. It was within walking distance to shopping, restaurants, and businesses. Underground or street parking for a minimal fee.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank BMP123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2007

Very nice hotel in a great area.
You can walk to most of the places in LaJolla from this hotel.
The rooms were nice.
From the 2nd floor there is no view, but a nice breeze from the ocean still gets to your window.
The free continental breakfast does not seem worth it, but others seemed to be enjoying it.
Underground self parking is $12 per day.
Wireless internet access is free.
The TV selection is poor.
The pool is nice, but could be much warmer.
The guest laundry has only one washer and one dryer.
There is no fitness center, but a great gym across the street lets you in for $15 per day and you can jog in the area as well.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Free Breakfast
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2006

This is the second time we've stayed at the Inn by the Sea. We have great memories of the first time. This past September we went back as we had a wedding in San Deigo. The reason we like it is because of the location -- in La Jolla, close to shopping, restaurants and beaches, at a reasonable price. This past time, the service was not as good as it was for our first stay. They never did get the number of towels right, and the front desk was less than helpful in giving out information about anything. The parking is tough - you have to try and get in early or you will not find a space, even though you are paying for it. We did get our money back for one night when there was no parking.
The free breakfast should indeed be free as it obviously does not cost them much to buy. My theory is they buy "day old" from Dunkin' Donuts. The coffee was pretty good though.
If you are lucky enough to get a room with a view, I would say that it is worth the money to stay here.
Would we stay here again? Probably, but before I booked I would take another look around.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness, pool
  • Disliked — Service, parking
  • Tips/Secrets — Check out surrounding hotels
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kaydeebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.3 mi away
La Jolla Cove Suites
La Jolla Cove Suites
#17 of 24 in La Jolla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
0.1 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
0.2 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn by the Sea

Property: Inn by the Sea
Address: 7830 Fay Avenue, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#11 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#13 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#13 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the sand-swept landscapes and inspired Pacific views of the Inn by the Sea at La Jolla in San Diego, California. Here at our hotel in downtown La Jolla, you’ll find lovely guest rooms, complete with balconies offering coastal breezes and inspired views. Surrounded by beaches, dining options, local culture, and chic boutiques, this Southern California mecca is the premier destination for travelers to the La Jolla and San Diego areas. Take advantage of comfortable, spacious guest accommodations from the hotel that boasts a location in “The Heart of the Village.” Take in the salty breezes as you soak up the California sunshine in one of the most romantic honeymoon destinations. Spend a day exploring local culture, and later on, as the sun goes down, dine at one of our vibrant local restaurants. From morning until evening, La Jolla Village is brimming with all things California. From our perfect location just three blocks from the ocean, to our spacious accommodations designed for vacation comfort to the fullest, The Inn by the Sea at La Jolla is your California travel destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn By The Sea Hotel La Jolla
Best Western La Jolla
La Jolla Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing