We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“coastal california getaway”
Review of Inn by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn by the Sea
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2014

excellent location, within walking distance of beach,shopping and dining. Good-sized rooms, excellent public areas, exceptionally clean throughout property. Afternoon coffee bar in lobby a welcome amenity, breakfast poolside was satisfying, and enjoying the ocean breeze from room balcony was delightful

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (836)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

471 - 477 of 836 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2014

I came in with a group, so the price was right. The property is older, and had signs promising a renovation soon. Parking was a challenge, but I always managed to succeed. I was here for two nights and was on the second floor. The staff was quite great, and I had nice open windows overlooking the pool. I didnt use the balcony but appreciated having it, The room, although dated, was clean, and the bed was comfortable. I never turned on the TV. Breakfast didnt have much that interested me, but I enjoyed the sausage links :)

I have two minor complaints. First, the internet really was insufficient. I had planned on my nightly entertainment being on my computer, but the internet spun when just checking on Facebook, so that really limited my options and was disappointing. The other was sound. There was just an ambiance of loudness in the building. Doors opening and closing, plumbing in the walls, and any time the guy next door tinkled, I could hear every drop. It didnt bother me much, or interrupt my sleep, but it was there.

I'd stay again if I needed a Best Western in the area, but I'd probably check other options first. As mentioned, the price was right and I got what I paid for: a comfy room, a good sleep, and friendly staff (I wish I could recall the guy's name who checked me in, Wednesday night just shy of 11pm...he was really friendly).

Room Tip: Parking on the street, which seemed ample, saves you the $12 nightly fee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mayra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Great location. Easy access to stores and restaurants. Loved the view from our room however did not like alley noise and wish there was a fridge in room. Staff was professional not real friendly. Breakfast was very good. Loved La Jolla Cove and all the sea lions. Would stay again if traveling to La Jolla.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank 882cindyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

The location of this hotel is great, it's only a couple blocks from the beach in La Jolla and within easy walking distance to all the shops and restaurants. The rooms do now, however, have good views. The hotel itself is just ok. The decor is dated and the beds aren't very comfortable. The room was clean, but all of the towels were faded to different shades and it seemed a bit shabby. Overall though, the room was fairly quiet and wasn't too bad given the reasonable price.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Hotel is in a great location. Was clean, comfortable and reasonably priced. There was constant noise from the elevators and apparently from the stairway. Our hot water would come and go for no apparent reason. The free breakfast was above average with nice variety.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Arnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed at this hotel last weekend for a wedding. The hotel is in a great location. You can walk to almost anything. The staff was very friendly. Check in and check out were very easy. They had 3 separate wedding groups that they were working with. So the Hotel was full. The pool is nice and the water was warm. The hotel lobby was nice, and the fresh Apples, Pizza and Coffee bar was a nice bonus. But the Hallway, The Rooms & Bathrooms seemed a little run down and outdated. The Showers would be the perfect temperature one minute and then either become scolding hot or extremely cold. We had to give our kids baths… for fear they would get burnt with the hot water.

The Free Hot Breakfast was ok. The fresh cut up fruit was great and the ladies who oversee the breakfast buffet were very helpful and were quick to clean a table after the guests were done.

One thing we did miss is Refrigerator in our room. This is pretty standard in most hotels now and would a great Bonus if they were to add them...

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Funfuninthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Great location to everything. The closeness of the beach, and shopping was wonderful. The hotel was very very clean, and the staff and service was excellent. Would definitely recommend this hotel. This was my first experience with Best Western and it will now be my hotel of choice

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Katherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.3 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,058 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
1.2 mi away
La Jolla Shores Hotel
La Jolla Shores Hotel
#10 of 24 in La Jolla
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn by the Sea

Address: 7830 Fay Ave, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4283 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#11 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#13 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#13 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: $156 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the sand-swept landscapes and inspired Pacific views of the Inn by the Sea at La Jolla in San Diego, California. Here at our hotel in downtown La Jolla, you’ll find lovely guest rooms, complete with balconies offering coastal breezes and inspired views. Surrounded by beaches, dining options, local culture, and chic boutiques, this Southern California mecca is the premier destination for travelers to the La Jolla and San Diego areas. Take advantage of comfortable, spacious guest accommodations from the hotel that boasts a location in “The Heart of the Village.” Take in the salty breezes as you soak up the California sunshine in one of the most romantic honeymoon destinations. Spend a day exploring local culture, and later on, as the sun goes down, dine at one of our vibrant local restaurants. From morning until evening, La Jolla Village is brimming with all things California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn By The Sea Hotel La Jolla
Best Western La Jolla
La Jolla Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing