We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay.”
Review of Inn by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn by the Sea
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
NAshville, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place to stay.”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. Close to the beach. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast the same as other hotels~filled us up and we were off for the day. Would stay here again and probably will.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    317
    156
    40
    37
See reviews for
293
261
41
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Great location, 2 blocks from the beach! Parking was $12, which I didn't understand. On site parking is very limited, we had to park on the street and move our car by 10am. Apparently, the parking dept is prompt, the parking meter person was already issuing parking citations. We received a free upgrade to the Penthouse level. The view was gorgeous. The only downfall to our trip...there was NO hot water in the hotel. No warm water...and no warning that we were checking in with these conditions. Breakfast was okay...Yogurt, scrambled eggs, breakfast potatoes, sausage and soggy waffles. There was also cereal and mini yogurts...juice and milk.

The rooms needed updating. Wish they were as stylish as the lobby. The pool was small.

I was very bothered with how the hotel hid the water problem. Instead, of forewarning guests of their predicament, they gladly charged you for your stay and then left you without warm/hot water. I overheard many complaints at breakfast and at the front desk. Had the hotel handled the water situation more professionally I would have given a higher rating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, CA, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2013

La Jolla is a great place with many attractions and waterfront hotels. The Best Western is a practical, affordable option in the heart of it all. The rooms are decent sizes but the décor is warn and dated. The beds were comfortable. Considering the costs of other hotels, this is a good option. The breakfast was average, but there is a great place right near the hotel, so take advantage of the weather and walk around! Pay the extra money for an ocean view.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Karl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Great service in beautiful location. 2 blocks from ocean. Lajolla village you can walk to restaurants and bars. Many other stores that you don't have to drive too. Very nice beaches also within walking distance. Hotel has some ocean views. Service and rooms very good quality.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Vanh33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yoxall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
414 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here towards the end of a 3 week California road trip to enjoy the cove and nearby San Diego. The hotel was ideally placed , clean , spacious, comfortable with very friendly staff. Didn't use all the facilities but there were plenty. Breakfast was plentiful although a little busy like most hotels at this time of year and you get use to plastic cutlery and paper plates ! Only a short stroll from the lovely shops and sea front with all that La Jolla has to offer . Also only a shortish drive San Diego and Coronado Beach which I worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisJane25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I really liked how quiet and clean this hotel was. Stayed here in mid August '13. Comparatively speaking, price per night was not too bad. Shower could've have been a little better but I am picky due to the fact I'm not a fan of soft water. I also like the pressure to be high which it was not but plenty of hot water was nice. The bed was absolutely amazing! I've slept in my share of hotel beds and I would have to say that I can't remember one being so comfortable. I wasn't aware that Sealy Posturepedic beds were perfect until now. My bed that I own is a Sleep number and I'm considering switching to a Posturepedic. Yes, it was that great! Only complaint was that I found some hairs on a wash rag that was supposed to be clean. That's why this rating is four instead of five stars.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Most important, very nice deck for every room. In middle of La Jolla so access to many good restaurants. If you prefer organic, great deli across the street. Avoid room 518 as it has a lot of machine noise from the roof.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank DrJoe47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.3 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
0.2 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
945 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn by the Sea

Property: Inn by the Sea
Address: 7830 Fay Ave, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4283 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#11 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#13 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#13 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the sand-swept landscapes and inspired Pacific views of the Inn by the Sea at La Jolla in San Diego, California. Here at our hotel in downtown La Jolla, you’ll find lovely guest rooms, complete with balconies offering coastal breezes and inspired views. Surrounded by beaches, dining options, local culture, and chic boutiques, this Southern California mecca is the premier destination for travelers to the La Jolla and San Diego areas. Take advantage of comfortable, spacious guest accommodations from the hotel that boasts a location in “The Heart of the Village.” Take in the salty breezes as you soak up the California sunshine in one of the most romantic honeymoon destinations. Spend a day exploring local culture, and later on, as the sun goes down, dine at one of our vibrant local restaurants. From morning until evening, La Jolla Village is brimming with all things California. From our perfect location just three blocks from the ocean, to our spacious accommodations designed for vacation comfort to the fullest, The Inn by the Sea at La Jolla is your California travel destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn By The Sea Hotel La Jolla
Best Western La Jolla
La Jolla Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing