We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good position in the lovely village of La Jolla”
Review of Inn by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn by the Sea
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here towards the end of a 3 week California road trip to enjoy the cove and nearby San Diego. The hotel was ideally placed , clean , spacious, comfortable with very friendly staff. Didn't use all the facilities but there were plenty. Breakfast was plentiful although a little busy like most hotels at this time of year and you get use to plastic cutlery and paper plates ! Only a short stroll from the lovely shops and sea front with all that La Jolla has to offer . Also only a shortish drive San Diego and Coronado Beach which I worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisJane25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (822)
There are newer reviews for Inn by the Sea
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

526 - 532 of 822 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

I really liked how quiet and clean this hotel was. Stayed here in mid August '13. Comparatively speaking, price per night was not too bad. Shower could've have been a little better but I am picky due to the fact I'm not a fan of soft water. I also like the pressure to be high which it was not but plenty of hot water was nice. The bed was absolutely amazing! I've slept in my share of hotel beds and I would have to say that I can't remember one being so comfortable. I wasn't aware that Sealy Posturepedic beds were perfect until now. My bed that I own is a Sleep number and I'm considering switching to a Posturepedic. Yes, it was that great! Only complaint was that I found some hairs on a wash rag that was supposed to be clean. That's why this rating is four instead of five stars.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Most important, very nice deck for every room. In middle of La Jolla so access to many good restaurants. If you prefer organic, great deli across the street. Avoid room 518 as it has a lot of machine noise from the roof.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank DrJoe47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I stayed at this property in mid july. This was during Comicon and it was hard to get a decent 4 star hotel in the city. The only plus about this hotel is the location. It is in the heart of lajolla village and a short walk to shopping and restaurants. The hotel has serious parking issues and they give you a paid parking permit to park at a garage across the street. Breakfast was free and lousy.
The hotel has been recently renovated but it does not look like a complete remodel. Parts of the rooms looked new while the rest was may be 20 years old.

This hotel would barely make it to a 3 star rating. There are plenty of other options to choose in sandiego for maybe half the price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ankur_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Given the price we paid for this hotel we were very disappointed.

Our room was not ready at check-in, had to wait about 30 minutes. The next day we went out. When we returned at 3 pm our room was still not cleaned. They had a lot of staff, don't know what they were doing all day. If they're not going to clean the rooms, offer a discount.

They charge a lot for parking, yet we had to park on the street because the lot was usually full. Why did we pay for street parking that was free???

The beds hardly had any sheets on them, not very comfortable for a good nights sleep.

Walls were super thin. Could hear everything in the rooms next to us.

The breakfast had fatty sausages and highly processed cheese with the eggs, reminded me of McDonalds.

We did enjoy the pool and the coffee in the lobby. For the price we would not stay here again. The Choice Brand of hotels is much better for lower cost.

Room Tip: If travelling with small children be warned of the balconies. I was worried that my children might f...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

needs some upgrades, wall paper peeling, tub not draining.parking not enough for rooms,staff was great, good breakfast.it was a great location near the beaches. nice touch with ice coffee at lobby in the lobby. no in room safe, or bar fridge.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank RyeSeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Lots of fine dining and quaint shops on Prospect St. We had a lovely dinner at Roppongi's just next to the hotel. Sea Gulls squawking and as numerous as pigeons and as familiar with humans especially when food scraps abounded. We found our way to the shore to watch the waves, the snorkelers and the Sea Gulls. It is best if you walk the area as parking is a premium. And, you really need to know how to get there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.3 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
0.2 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
975 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn by the Sea

Address: 7830 Fay Ave, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4283 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#11 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#13 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#13 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: $176 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the sand-swept landscapes and inspired Pacific views of the Inn by the Sea at La Jolla in San Diego, California. Here at our hotel in downtown La Jolla, you’ll find lovely guest rooms, complete with balconies offering coastal breezes and inspired views. Surrounded by beaches, dining options, local culture, and chic boutiques, this Southern California mecca is the premier destination for travelers to the La Jolla and San Diego areas. Take advantage of comfortable, spacious guest accommodations from the hotel that boasts a location in “The Heart of the Village.” Take in the salty breezes as you soak up the California sunshine in one of the most romantic honeymoon destinations. Spend a day exploring local culture, and later on, as the sun goes down, dine at one of our vibrant local restaurants. From morning until evening, La Jolla Village is brimming with all things California. From our perfect location just three blocks from the ocean, to our spacious accommodations designed for vacation comfort to the fullest, The Inn by the Sea at La Jolla is your California travel destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn By The Sea Hotel La Jolla
Best Western La Jolla
La Jolla Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing