We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What more do you need?”
Review of Inn by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn by the Sea
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Niles, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What more do you need?”
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We stayed at the Best Western Inn By the Sea from May 9 - 15. We were in town for my best friend's weddding and all of the festivities were taking place within walking distance of the hotel, so it was perfect!

The rooms are average (it's a Best Western!), but very clean and well taken care of. We had an ocean view room on the 4th floor, which was awesome!

The hotel is very quiet. We had our 1 year old with us, so I was concerned about her being woken up at night, but it was just fine.

They have a breakfast room where they serve continental breakfast every morning. They have coffee, juice, milk, bagels, muffins, cereal, waffles, eggs, sausage and yogurt. It was perfect for us as we are not really breakfast people, but we were able to find something for our daughter every day!

My only complaint about this hotel was the AC. It was so LOUD and also it was hard to figure out how to get it to just stay at a constant temperature. We ended up having to just turn it off at night because it was impossible to sleep with it on!

If you want a good, comfortable room at a great price, this is a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Choose an ocean view room on a higher floor! Worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prncesssly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    312
    152
    40
    35
See reviews for
285
256
40
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Very mediocre hotel but location is great. No air conditioning, horrible pillows, noisy. Unimpressive continental breakfast. Plan on breakfast elsewhere. No remote control for TV and they just didn't care or try to find us one.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tarheeltoothfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lomma, Sweden
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

I have to tell a story about this booking....I was staying in San Francisco at Best Western and I wanted to book this hotel in La Jolla for the next couple of nights. I called this hotel from the phone at the room to book.
I said " This is Valle74 from the Best Western in San fransciso, I would like to book a room"
She answered "No problem at all, I do have a great room for you, that will be XY Dollar"
I sais.."Ok, thanks a lot" and hang up the phone....
It turned out that the lady thought I was working at the BW in San Francisco and gave me a HUGE employee discount.....
Never mind, back to the hotel, a pretty good hotel, nothing special. But the town it self and the surroundings are very upscale, pretty epxensive at the restaurants, but close to the hotell, there is a Hard rock café...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valle1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Very standard hotel...but great rates for the location. Only 3 blocks from Prospect Street on the main drag in La Jolla. Hotel was clean. Check in was easy. No cmoplaints

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cburnsesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

The hotel is very closed to the UCSD Campus and a walking distance from
Downtown La Jolla. Nothing fancy but clean and quiet. Hot breakfast served
In a tiny room by the pool. The day we visit it had rained the night before and
It was not room for us to sit in the breakfast area, so we asked the cleaning lady
To please clean and dry the table outside. She was very helpful, so it was not
A problem. The front desk Manager looked like he was forced to work there,
So a better attitude could help the overall image of the Hotel.
If you are looking for a great location this is it. Don’t expect a fancy amenities and royal treatment. I will definitely stay again in this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoodReference
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

I stayed one night at this hotel in March. The location is fantastic, right in the center of La Jolla and walkable to everything. However, despite the refreshed lobby, the corridors and room were pretty dated and dismal. The toiletries look like they were pulled out of storage from the 70's. Our room had an odd smell, I think it was the detergent used on the sheets, that didn't go away the whole time we were there. $12 for parking which one could avoid by finding street parking and moving the car in the morning. It seemed like they were training staff. The front desk person didn't look up once as we walked past entering and leaving. I'm used to a friendlier greeting at most hotels. My mom forgot her toothbrush so around 9:00 I called down to the front desk to ask if they had any. 'Yes, we do", I was told. When my mom went down to get it, the person looked around and said, 'Oh, sorry, I guess we ran out". Just in front of my mom was a man who was asking for some extra coffee. Same story, they had just run out! My pillows were rock hard and very thick. I would stay here again only for the location.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rainsoaked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

I stayed here from Feb. 24-29. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and was very impressed with the reception staff who greeted me upon arrival and the great location. I felt very much at home here and felt that all my needs were met. The amazing thing with this hotel is that my unusual requests were met. This is the first hotel that I have stayed at that has a card that you can place on your door knob indicating that you need the room made up early. As a bird watcher, I am always out before sunrise and return to my hotel room early. It was so wonderful to be able to return to a freshly made up room. The included breakfast was wonderful with healthy choices. There were plenty of fruits and hot and cold items. One could not leave hungry and it was more than a usual continental breakfast. The location of the breakfast room allowed you to eat indoors or around the pool. I found that the hotel location was perfect. I could walk out of my room and be at the cove in just a few minutes. I enjoyed strolling downtown, attending the farmers' market and not feeling rushed. The atmosphere is perfect and allows one to relax. I was able to use the pool and found it was fun meeting other guests there. The one time I needed to take the bus, it was just a three minute walk to the stop. In the evening there is iced coffee and apples available. I recommend this hotel for people who don't want to be driving everywhere and can enjoy the atmosphere of La Jolla without parking and route searches. I will definitely book this hotel on my next visit and hope to stay even longer.

Room Tip: I was placed on the fifth floor which is called the Penthouse floor and I had an oceanview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gloria023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.3 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
0.2 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
878 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn by the Sea

Property: Inn by the Sea
Address: 7830 Fay Ave, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4283 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#11 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#13 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#13 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the sand-swept landscapes and inspired Pacific views of the Inn by the Sea at La Jolla in San Diego, California. Here at our hotel in downtown La Jolla, you’ll find lovely guest rooms, complete with balconies offering coastal breezes and inspired views. Surrounded by beaches, dining options, local culture, and chic boutiques, this Southern California mecca is the premier destination for travelers to the La Jolla and San Diego areas. Take advantage of comfortable, spacious guest accommodations from the hotel that boasts a location in “The Heart of the Village.” Take in the salty breezes as you soak up the California sunshine in one of the most romantic honeymoon destinations. Spend a day exploring local culture, and later on, as the sun goes down, dine at one of our vibrant local restaurants. From morning until evening, La Jolla Village is brimming with all things California. From our perfect location just three blocks from the ocean, to our spacious accommodations designed for vacation comfort to the fullest, The Inn by the Sea at La Jolla is your California travel destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn By The Sea Hotel La Jolla
Best Western La Jolla
La Jolla Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing