We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“This is only my opinion, but it is the correct one!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inn by the Sea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn by the Sea
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Lomma, Sweden
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“This is only my opinion, but it is the correct one!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

I have to tell a story about this booking....I was staying in San Francisco at Best Western and I wanted to book this hotel in La Jolla for the next couple of nights. I called this hotel from the phone at the room to book.
I said " This is Valle74 from the Best Western in San fransciso, I would like to book a room"
She answered "No problem at all, I do have a great room for you, that will be XY Dollar"
I sais.."Ok, thanks a lot" and hang up the phone....
It turned out that the lady thought I was working at the BW in San Francisco and gave me a HUGE employee discount.....
Never mind, back to the hotel, a pretty good hotel, nothing special. But the town it self and the surroundings are very upscale, pretty epxensive at the restaurants, but close to the hotell, there is a Hard rock café...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valle1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    273
    143
    37
    32
See reviews for
261
230
37
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Very standard hotel...but great rates for the location. Only 3 blocks from Prospect Street on the main drag in La Jolla. Hotel was clean. Check in was easy. No cmoplaints

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cburnsesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

The hotel is very closed to the UCSD Campus and a walking distance from
Downtown La Jolla. Nothing fancy but clean and quiet. Hot breakfast served
In a tiny room by the pool. The day we visit it had rained the night before and
It was not room for us to sit in the breakfast area, so we asked the cleaning lady
To please clean and dry the table outside. She was very helpful, so it was not
A problem. The front desk Manager looked like he was forced to work there,
So a better attitude could help the overall image of the Hotel.
If you are looking for a great location this is it. Don’t expect a fancy amenities and royal treatment. I will definitely stay again in this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoodReference
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

I stayed one night at this hotel in March. The location is fantastic, right in the center of La Jolla and walkable to everything. However, despite the refreshed lobby, the corridors and room were pretty dated and dismal. The toiletries look like they were pulled out of storage from the 70's. Our room had an odd smell, I think it was the detergent used on the sheets, that didn't go away the whole time we were there. $12 for parking which one could avoid by finding street parking and moving the car in the morning. It seemed like they were training staff. The front desk person didn't look up once as we walked past entering and leaving. I'm used to a friendlier greeting at most hotels. My mom forgot her toothbrush so around 9:00 I called down to the front desk to ask if they had any. 'Yes, we do", I was told. When my mom went down to get it, the person looked around and said, 'Oh, sorry, I guess we ran out". Just in front of my mom was a man who was asking for some extra coffee. Same story, they had just run out! My pillows were rock hard and very thick. I would stay here again only for the location.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rainsoaked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

I stayed here from Feb. 24-29. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and was very impressed with the reception staff who greeted me upon arrival and the great location. I felt very much at home here and felt that all my needs were met. The amazing thing with this hotel is that my unusual requests were met. This is the first hotel that I have stayed at that has a card that you can place on your door knob indicating that you need the room made up early. As a bird watcher, I am always out before sunrise and return to my hotel room early. It was so wonderful to be able to return to a freshly made up room. The included breakfast was wonderful with healthy choices. There were plenty of fruits and hot and cold items. One could not leave hungry and it was more than a usual continental breakfast. The location of the breakfast room allowed you to eat indoors or around the pool. I found that the hotel location was perfect. I could walk out of my room and be at the cove in just a few minutes. I enjoyed strolling downtown, attending the farmers' market and not feeling rushed. The atmosphere is perfect and allows one to relax. I was able to use the pool and found it was fun meeting other guests there. The one time I needed to take the bus, it was just a three minute walk to the stop. In the evening there is iced coffee and apples available. I recommend this hotel for people who don't want to be driving everywhere and can enjoy the atmosphere of La Jolla without parking and route searches. I will definitely book this hotel on my next visit and hope to stay even longer.

Room Tip: I was placed on the fifth floor which is called the Penthouse floor and I had an oceanview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gloria023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Hotel is conveniently located in downtown La Jolla. Benefits include ability to walk to nice shops, beach (cove), good selections for complimentary continental breakfast, fruit and coffee in the afternoon in the lobby. Lobby was renovated in the past 2 years.
Concerns include the lack of A/C when the weather is warmer sooner than expected, side of the building facing the alley has the "oceanview". This side faces west and the heat from the sun can make these rooms unbearably hot with no A/C. Hotel staff are sympathetic but unable to do anything. As the "oceanview" rooms are the most expensive, having hot rooms really doesn't make sense.
The street facing rooms are cooler, but can be noisier. I choose the street side rooms because they are cooler, and hope they have a quieter room.
Overall, I stay here every 6 months when I am visiting my family in La Jolla. I hope that the temperature cooperates as the management is seemingly unwilling to allow guests have the benefit of A/C when needed.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for the oceanview in late winter/early spring before management has turned on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Traveller1615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hilton head island
Level Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

nice hotel in great location. a short and pleasant walk to the beach as well as to shops, restaurants and groceries. room was clean and air conditioner/heat/fan was quiet! street parking is free, most times i was able to find a spot in front. otherwise lots of street parking within a short walk. nice continental breakfast. i do wish my room had had a mini-fridge.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hipyogachic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
0.3 mi away
La Jolla Cove Suites
La Jolla Cove Suites
#17 of 24 in La Jolla
3.5 of 5 stars 868 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 610 reviews
0.1 mi away
Empress Hotel of La Jolla
Empress Hotel of La Jolla
#4 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 991 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Jolla Shores Hotel
La Jolla Shores Hotel
#10 of 24 in La Jolla
4.0 of 5 stars 848 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn by the Sea

Property: Inn by the Sea
Address: 7830 Fay Ave, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4283 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea)
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in La Jolla
#4 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#11 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#13 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#13 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn By The Sea Hotel La Jolla
Best Western La Jolla
La Jolla Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing