We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love it at La Jolla Cove: Review from a couple in 20's” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Jolla Cove Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Jolla Cove Suites
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
tustin, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Love it at La Jolla Cove: Review from a couple in 20's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2006

I have been coming here for over 6 years and can't believe the negative reviews. One must understand that the view is the main thing that you are paying for. Sure the interior decorating isn't great. There are plenty of places in the gaslamp district where it is much more congested with better amenities. However, I have always gone during the "value season" and stayed no more than 2 nights. So I may understand if people have paid a huge premium on their stay. I also always got ocean front rooms everytime. I didn't care about the air-conditioning because I left the windows open. Who wouldn't want the ocean breeze? The furniture is ok, they weren't leather or anything, but it definately wasn't dirty or anything of the sort. The staff has always been professional, you could tell the front desk were college students or in that age group up front. The power went out once and theyh got it fixed in literally 15 minutes at 12 o'clock at night. I loved the pool and jacuzzi. The location is near everything you need. I also talked to many couples that were stayed in the rooms next to us and everyone of them loved it as well. I live in Orange County so I just come down here when i want to get away for the weekend. If you want to be near the party where you don't want to drive or get a cab, go into the gas lamp district and pay more. If you want a gorgeous view with the ocean breeze and want to relax you should pick this place.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank smoon80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    325
    145
    105
    106
See reviews for
360
331
34
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fullerton, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Lo Jolla cove Suites for a wedding rehearsal and wedding the next day. The view as we arrived was beautiful, but if you rent a regular room you look out on a concrete pit-like parking lot. Our room was not airconditioned, although a small fan was provided.
Unfortunately, you need to leave the windows open to get any benefit from the fan and to get any privacy, you have to close the heavy curtains which leaves a dimly lit, muggy, airless room!
The entire bathroom is the size of a moderate bath tub! My husband brought in his tools to tighten the stall shower head so that it would stay up. The towels were small, rather stiff, and frayed.
The staff was not helpful and the paperwork was confusing. Our receipt clearly showed a departure time of 3:05, but we were charged an extra "half-day's rate" (for 7 more hours?) to use the room until the wedding. Check out time was not mentioned at check in, or on any of the paperwork we were given.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank wahagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Jolla hotels

Tempe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2006

I brought my girlfriend to stay at La Jolla Cove Suites this past weekend and was astonished at how such a run-down hotel can exist in such a nice area. The rooms are priced comparably with other hotels and the views are great, but upon entering our room my girlfriend spotted a 3inch cockroach! If that wasn't bad enough, the furniture is from the 70's, there is NO A/C, and the bathrooms are in worse condition than something you would find at a frat house. The front desk staff is very professional and accomodating, but the owners of this hotel would be better off demolishing the property and starting over. I have stayed in hotels all over the world, from hostels to four seasons. Hands down this is the worst hotel for the price I have ever stayed in. If you don't plan on using the room at all, and don't mind wasting $250 a night for an oven, then go right ahead. We had a 4 night vacation planned out, and even after we upgraded to another room we still checked out the NEXT MORNING!! Do not stay at this hotel. You've been warned!

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — the room
  • Tips/Secrets — stay somewhere else
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank aflores12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2006

Disgustingly Hot 200 sq ft room $160/night. Stayed at the suggestion of a wedding party. July 20, 21st & 22nd. The room was tiny & the bathroom too small for 2 people. Have photos and will upload & post them. NO AC & NO ceiling fans, just a small rotating table fan for $160/night. For $290/night you get the same temperature room, but a little more space to move around. The roof top made for a fabulous wedding reception in the late afternoon-evening hours, but was the only nice part of the hotel & the hotel staff immediately kicked us off the cool roof deck when the reception ended at 9:00 PM. Where to go now? To the pool which closed at 10:00PM or a sweat box of a hotel room? We did try to move to another hotel all of which were at that point sold out for the weekend. The area is nice, and there are many great restaurants, but stay somewhere else. As other reviewers noted, stay ANYWHERE else. Even the Suites were not so SWEET, so don't waste too much for a family visit. They won't be able to sleep in the heat. If you must stay plan it for early spring or late fall when the temps are cooler. The tiny pool leaves much to be desired. As others noted, this is not the hotel for older people too many stairs & elevators are very slow. And like I said the HEAT again is unbearable...

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank wrldtravelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2006

This place should be bombed and remodeled for the sake of the poor, naive guests! I planned this trip months in advance and planned to stay for 6 days and nights. My family got there and yes, the views are breathtaking! It is right in the midddle of some of the best shopping and eating ever! But what good is that without somewhere nice to come back to for relaxation and sleeping?? THERE IS NO AIR CONDITIONING!!! The rooms were so small and the bathrooms are as big as airplane vanities with zero counterspace! The carpets are so filthy, they make your feet black by walking on them! Not ideal for children or anybody for that matter. Their nightstands fell on my daughter twice just by pulling out the drawers! The phones fell apart. Everything is outdated. It is screaming for renovation. For as much money as you pay to stay there, they could use it to renovate the rooms or at least add air conditioning and clean the carpets! We had to check out and find another hotel. They were unbarable and unacceptable conditions. It overshadowed our awesome view. We were lucky we found another hotel otherwise our vacation would have been ruined.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2006

I have traveled extensively and have to say this was absolutely the most horrible hotel experience ever. If all you care about is an ocean view - and clean rooms, clean bathrooms, and a/c are not important to you, this is the place for you! We spent an awful 4 days from the 1st - 5th for a wedding (only due to the unreasonable minimum 4-nite holiday weekend rule!!).
* There is no air conditioning (except for the lobby & offices)
* Security recommended patio doors be closed & locked at night as there is only a short barrier betwee the balconies and they are easy to climb over (no privacy)
* Walls are paper thin, our room windows faced the hallway and with the windows open we could hear everyone that walked by. We didn't sleep at all.
* The bathrooms are tiny, moldy, & disgusting.
* The room smelled horrible - but all rooms smelled the same so we didn't ask to switch.
* No coffee maker in the room.
* Continental breakfast was stale muffins and bagels.
To top it off, I was personally offended at the rude and unprofessional behavior of the general manager toward the wedding party and caterers during the reception.
Staff was generally pleasant but made it known that the poor condition of the hotel was the fault of the owners. They do not put any money into renovations because they don't have to. It's really too bad - it could be a nice place if it were updated. I have photos if you don't believe me. Seriously, do not stay here!!!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hazmatgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
az
Level Contributor
128 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2006

Okay after reading the reviews I was nervous but let me tell you...as a mom of 2 girls this place was wonderful. We were in town for a swim meet and my high school daughter and her pals were easily able to walk the nearby area with no worries for mom. As hotels go it is older but you CANNOT beat this location....rooms are good in size but c'mon you are on the beach in La Jolla this place is great the breakfast is ample and the location cannot be beat...will I go back...for sure the staff was super and we truly enjoyed our stay!

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank kmjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.2 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn by the Sea
Inn by the Sea
#13 of 24 in La Jolla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Jolla Shores Hotel
La Jolla Shores Hotel
#10 of 24 in La Jolla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Cove Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Cove Suites

Property: La Jolla Cove Suites
Address: 1155 Coast Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-3627
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Jolla Cove Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The closest ocean front vintage boutique property in La Jolla with hotel guestrooms, studio rooms and suites, most with ocean views ! Only 220 feet from world renown La Jolla Cove's beach, walk to the Cove to snorkel, dive, swim or surf. Watch the sea lions or catch a west coast sunset all from your private oceanfront guestroom balcony. Within walking distance to world class shops and restaurants.Guests can also enjoy our heated saltwater pool,or relax in our spa under the stars in the evening after a bike ride along the coast. Start your morning off with continental breakfast on the rooftop with magnificent vista views of the Pacific Ocean and the rugged Southern California coastline. A most memorable experience in a breathtaking location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your La Jolla Cove Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Cove Hotel La Jolla
Cove La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing