We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value and location in the Cove”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Reviewed August 12, 2014

I take it this property has numerous types of rooms so one experience to the next could be very different just on that point alone. We had a corner room one bedroom "junior suite" facing the ocean and popular Scripps Park - can't beat the view and the small balcony was a super spot to enjoy a drink in the evening. I knew ahead of time that there wouldn't be AC (not unusual for the area) - they had a fan already going in the bedroom before we arrived, and with windows on 2 sides, it was very comfortable temperature wise. Yes it's an older building and many of the fixtures are original, but I found our room very well kept and clean and everything in good working order. It was nice to have the kitchenette, albeit tiny, we had enough room to keep snacks and drinks and make a few light lunches (the kitchen could use a few things such as a chopping board and better ice cube trays). We loved the daily breakfast on the rooftop - although the selection gets boring after a few days, it was fine (and they need someone to clean the tables more routinely). Kids really enjoyed the pool and we used the bbq area one night - another larger group held nightly family meals there which was nice to know you could do. We had no issues with parking and whenever we needed something it was taken care of. We had planned to stay 4 nights but added on a 5th since the location is so convenient to other parts of San Diego. After being a guest for 5 nights I would have thought the front desk might remember me, but each time I went down there I was asked if I was checking in - I know they see a lot of faces, but it would have gone a long way to have been asked how our visit was going, and it was always to busy to ask for advice on the area. All in all, a very good stay though - loved how easy it was to walk around the corner to shops and restaurants, or take the stairway a few doors down which brings you right up onto Prospect Street.

Room Tip: A corner room, away from the elevator and facing the ocean. Remember the park out front is busy so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VivaLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windy G, Front Office Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

Dear VivaLu,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us at La Jolla Cove Suites. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed all of the perks offered here at La Jolla Cove Suites including our heated pool, guest BBQ court, and the continental breakfast on our rooftop. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Thank you again for your comments.

Kind regards,

Windy Gill
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,041)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

556 - 562 of 1,041 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2014

We recently booked four nights in a 2 bedroom suite. The room was outdated and all of the furniture was uncomfortable. Worst of all, for $600 a night there was no air conditioning. The fact there is no air conditioning is not disclosed anywhere, and it was hot and uncomfortable all night. The breakfast area was disgusting. Our room was only accessible by stone stairs that was more like mountain climbing than walking up steps. The deck was covered in seagull poop and unusable. No screens in the patio door, so the kids could not sleep on the pullout for security reasons. The pullout mattress was paper thin and lumpy. The night desk staff was friendly, but the day crew was not so. We left two days early and went to a nearby Marriott that was clean, comfy and air conditioned for $100 a night less than La Jolla Cove Suites. This was a depressing facility and I recommend just going somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaJollaCoveSuites, Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2014

Dear L R,

Thank you for choosing La Jolla Cove Suites, we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. Because of our oceanfront location our suites get a nice ocean breeze which is typically sufficient. In the event of unseasonably hot weather we have AC units available upon request. Our Cottage suites are great options for guests who would like a more spacious suite with panoramic ocean views, however because of the stairs they may not be a good fit for individuals with mobility difficulties or young children in strollers. We hope you will consider giving us another chance, and if so I invite you to contact me directly so I may personally assist you.

Sincerely,

Tracy White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

First, hotel has no air conditioning. Rooms are quite dated, and unbelievably, the power in my room has gone out for over 6 hours and the hotel front desk has offered no concessions to make up for our now awful experience.

First, let me say that the staff is wonderful, but the facility is basically falling apart. I have never had the power fail at a resort with no act of nature involved at all. It turned what could have been a solid review into a bad one. The window screens are falling off, the bathroom iA basically closet size. I feel like I am in my dorm room again. Thanks but no thanks.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank faiz1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windy G, Front Office Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

Dear faiz1234,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay with us at La Jolla Cove Suites. It is a great training tool and we take them very seriously. I will certainly share your survey with our entire team, as we believe it very important for all associates to be able to see how our guests rate their stay with us.

I want to personally apologize to you for your recent experience. While it is always our goal that our guests have an exceptional experience, based on your comments it appears we fell short. I am sorry to hear about the power issues you had during your stay this is something we take very serious and will be addressing on our side.

Thank you again for you comments.

Kind regards,

Windy Gill
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

We stayed in a one bedroom suite with sea views at La Jolla Cove Suites for five nights and were satisfied with the accommodation we chose. Front desk staff were all very professional, helpful and courteous at all times, particularly we thank Jennie who had a great sense of humour! Our accommodation was quite satisfactory, although the bathroom is quite compact with a combined toilet situated next to the vanity basin and no drawer space for toiletries. There is no air conditioning throughout the unit but a ceiling fan in the lounge room and electric fan in bedroom. We later found out that you can request a mobile AC unit but this was only realised at check-out. The swimming pool was large and kept clean with barbecues available and complimentary beach towels. The breakfast room is situated on the top floor with a sufficient range of items to eat.

Room Tip: Request a room with sea views and definitely book a suite rather than studio room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank dramarama53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaJollaCoveSuites, Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

Dear Dramarama53,

Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed all of the perks offered here at La Jolla Cove Suites including our heated pool, guest BBQ court, and the continental breakfast on our rooftop. We are lucky to have such a great team and we are glad you got to know a few of our team members while you were with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Tracy White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

This hotel you pay for the view! The hotel it self is nice. But a warning it has no AC but they do provide fans and sliding glass doors to get the ocean breeze in. The hotel was clean and very roomy for a deluxe room. Sadly though the parking can be hard to come by and quite small if you are in a larger vehicle but the experience over all was completely worth it!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelgirl1370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaJollaCoveSuites, Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

Dear Travelgirl1370,

Thank you for choosing La Jolla Cove Suites! We are glad you enjoyed our first class views and your accommodations. Next time be sure to request a portable AC unit if you will need one, and check in with our guest services team, they will be glad to assist you with parking for an over-sized vehicle. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,

Tracy White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Pros - great location/view and very nice and helpful staff. Okay pool and great roof deck for breakfast.
Cons - the room was awful, as in we tried to find another place to stay within an hour of checking in. We dreaded returning to our room at night. It was that bad. The sheets and towels were clean, but the carpet turned our feet black within minutes. We rubbed a white towel over the carpet and it was black. I mean this quite literally. It was completely disgusting - I cannot imagine what would happen if you brought a baby or toddler to that room! At least we could instruct our kids to keep shoes on at all times and not to sit on or touch the floor. We didn't want to sit on the furniture unless we first covered it with a towel or sheet. Prior to booking I read staff responses to negative reviews that the furnishings are "vintage" which is an optimistic way to think about it. The exterior is somewhat vintage and charming, but the interior of our room was simply dated and beat up, sub-par and tiny bathroom with a shower that didn't function properly. There is no A/C (but you can easily get a portable unit installed if you need it) and the internet service was quite spotty on our floor. I take no joy in writing a negative review, but in this case I felt it was important to share our experience to give fair warning to others.

Room Tip: Apparently some of the rooms are updated - which perhaps means cleaner?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windy G, Front Office Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear Chris P,

Thank you for your recent stay with us at La Jolla Cove Suites and thank you for taking the time to post your comments and rate our hotel. It is a great training tool and we take them very seriously. I will certainly share your survey with our entire team, as we believe it very important for all associates to be able to see how our guests rate their stay with us.

I want to personally apologize to you for your recent experience. While it is always our goal that our guests have an exceptional experience, based on your comments it appears we fell short. I want to assure you that I will be addressing your concerns with each department manager to ensure that we as a team improve on the areas that you have brought to our attention.

Kind regards,

Windy Gill
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Old worn hotel in a great location. No air-conditioning made it unpleasant although room fans are provided. Limited parking is available. Hotel rooms need updating and bathrooms are tiny, but the location can't be beat.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for an oceanfront room or suite as that is the best feature of this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank momofthreepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windy G, Front Office Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear momofthreepa,

Thank you for your recent stay with us at La Jolla Cove Suites and thank you for taking the time to post your comments and rate our hotel.

We are glad you enjoyed our great ocean views! We are working on ongoing improvements to our rooms and property and hope you will be back to see the changes soon!

Kind regards,

Windy Gill
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,402 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,051 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites

Address: 1155 Coast Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-3627
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: $112 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the La Jolla village,the closest hotel to the ocean with unobstructed views from its guestroom balconies of the La Jolla Cove, ocean and Scripps Park. Why stay anywhere else then right on the Pacific Ocean when visiting California ? Start your morning off with a deluxe continental breakfast located on the Hotel's 5th Floor Rooftop with unparalleled vista views of the Southern Californian coastline. Your day will be filled with as much or as little activity as you would like,either relaxing poolside in our heated saltwater pool,playing a round of outside billiards or ping pong with your family by the pool, taking a sightseeing walk through the village and along the coastline to watch the sea lions in their natural habitat and ending your day catching a west coast sunset from your own oceanfront balcony or around the rooftop firepits under the stars.A most memorable experience in a breathtaking location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Cove Hotel La Jolla
La Jolla Cove Suites
Cove La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing