We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value-Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Reading some of the previous reviews, I was concerned when I made my reservation, but the room rate was outstanding, less than $130.00, and the location, directly across from the cove, is great. The cost of parking was $20.00 was more than I like to pay, but, it's LaJolla.

I was pleasantly surprised by the room (134). It faced the rear parking lot and was a bit out dated. But it was very clean and comfortable. It had an older television set. The kitchenette was well equipped and had original mid-century metal cabinets and appliances. There was a nice size balcony with a large sliding glass door which provided plenty of ventilation. Not having air conditioning was not a problem. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel roof top balcony is a great place to watch the sunset over the pacific.

A word about the smell. During my stay, it was present in the morning only. Potential guests should take into account that this hotel is located directly across from La Jolla cove which is one of California's most well known ecological preserves. The cliffs surrounding the cove are populated by large numbers sea lions and sea birds.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rgrand207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 7, 2014

Thank you for your review and for taking the time to be so detailed. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your comments about the staff . . . it means the world to our team! Again, thank you and we hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Joanna Capps, Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,050)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

600 - 606 of 1,050 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

This place was the worst hotel at which I've ever stayed.

Loud,dirty, old, run down and smelly. The staff was unhelpful and very odd. The bathroom had a persistent foul odor. The rooms have space heaters and plug in floor fans. No AC. No heat! Felt more like a tenement than a hotel. Save your money and get the view by walking the boardwalk.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Eternityshard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 7, 2014

We are obviously disappointed by your remarks. Our hotel is no doubt “vintage”, but we pride ourselves on its cleanliness and upkeep. The breeze off the ocean is what we like to call our “natural” air conditioning, but you can also have an a/c unit placed in your room upon request. We do apologize that you found your stay less than desirable. Best regards, Joanna Capps, Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We stayed here for the Vin Diego Festival, the view was amazing but the room really need some updating.
The patio for the complimentary breakfast, once you get past the fresh fish blowing in from the sea it is a beautiful view to enjoy your morning coffee.
The sofa bed needs to be replaced, no good for sleeping.

Room Tip: Stay in the renovated rooms, ocean view for sure, it's beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1Tinamarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 25, 2014

Dear 1Tinamarie,

We are so happy you enjoyed the view! La Jolla Cove is truly an amazing place. Good news . . . we have new sofa beds on order!! Thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back soon. Best regards, Joanna Capps, Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

I was recently in the San Diego and had a few extra days. I really wanted to stay in La Jolla. I wanted a view of the Cove so I got a balcony room on the front. I paid the small amount of extra $ for the room with a separate bedroom and small kitchen. I didn't need or use the kitchen but it was great having the sitting area and extra space. It would have been perfect for a week's stay. The balcony was great for people watching and taking in the views. Parking is expensive and can be tricky if they are fully booked. Noise doesn't bother me, but the sound of the doors closing echoes loudly because the open columns areas outside the doors. The breakfast is included and on the rooftop. Some serious organization and effort needs to be applied to the set-up and the flow. Some small changes could go a long way here. I would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: get a balcony with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank step511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 25, 2014

Dear step511,

Thank you for posting a review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back! Best regards, Joanna Capps, Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel for a few days' R&R after oldest daughter college graduation. It was perfect. The room was huge. Bedroom had two queens plus an additional queen sofa bed in the LR. Fully equipped kitchen and well furnished porch. The breakfast was generous with a great view of the ocean. I enjoyed the whirlpool. The hotel is steps from a park with seal rocks and tide pools (and contrary to some reviews had no smell at all). Walking distance to shops and restaurants. Could easily have stayed a week. We loved it.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
Thank ssgBronxNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 25, 2014

Dear ssgBronxNY,

We are so happy that you loved your stay with us! We hope to see you again in the near future. All the best to you, Joanna Capps, Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

This is gotta be one of the nicest places I've ever stayed at! What a view. Great spacious room you just wanna move in and live here.
Not cheap at all (I spent $300 a night!), but I got the 6th floor sea view apartment.

Thank Yoel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management response:Responded May 25, 2014

Dear Yoel Z,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay! We hope to welcome you back very soon. Best regards, Joanna Capps, Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Hands down the nicest Hotel/Resort I've ever stayed at. My wife and I had a wonderful 4 days here this past April and I would recommend everyone make their way here at some point. The scenery is absolutely gorgeous and the staff was incredible.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannie P, Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Hi Soren B.,

We are very excited to hear that you and your wife enjoyed yourselves! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you both back again and again.

Take care,

Jeannie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,092 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,221 reviews
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 286 in San Diego
2,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites

Address: 1155 Coast Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-3627
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: $120 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the La Jolla village,the closest hotel to the ocean with unobstructed views from its guestroom balconies of the La Jolla Cove, ocean and Scripps Park. Why stay anywhere else then right on the Pacific Ocean when visiting California ? Start your morning off with a deluxe continental breakfast located on the Hotel's 5th Floor Rooftop with unparalleled vista views of the Southern Californian coastline. Your day will be filled with as much or as little activity as you would like,either relaxing poolside in our heated saltwater pool,playing a round of outside billiards or ping pong with your family by the pool, taking a sightseeing walk through the village and along the coastline to watch the sea lions in their natural habitat and ending your day catching a west coast sunset from your own oceanfront balcony or around the rooftop firepits under the stars.A most memorable experience in a breathtaking location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Cove Hotel La Jolla
La Jolla Cove Suites
Cove La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing