We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
Nearby Hotels
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$258
$199
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Valencia Hotel(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$181
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pantai Inn(La Jolla)
$374
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Regency La Jolla at Aventine(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$172
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
La Jolla Beach Travelodge(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$140
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Jolla Shores Hotel(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$249
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,107)
Filter reviews
1,107 results
Traveler rating
315
380
173
118
121
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
315
380
173
118
121
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla jolla coverooftop breakfastsea lionsview from the balconyone bedroom suiteocean frontfull kitchenscripps parkcomplimentary breakfastan older hotelmain buildingpool and hot tubcan't beat the locationamazing locationwatch the sunsetbit datedyogurt
Filter
Updating list...
666 - 671 of 1,107 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here one night while visiting for our anniversary.
When we first arrived, we were greeted warmly by the staff. We were able to get free parking for the night thanks to checking into YELP. Otherwise, it is $20. The room was renovated in a modern style which overlooked the park and the water. I was very pleased with how clean and comfortable it was. The only problem we had was the very loud and obnoxious kids next door. Overall, it was the perfect way to end our night after walking along the cove and watching the sun go down. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cloakofstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 22, 2014

Dear Cloakofstars,

We are delighted to have been a part of your anniversary celebration! Many thanks for your wonderful review and we hope to see you again very soon. Joanna Capps, Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is the best location on La Jolla cove it's ocean front! You can walk Everywhere it's very convenient .
My room 402 was a studio king was very quiet and has best view you can see the ocean and you can hear the waves when you go to sleep
Some adorable bird came on my balcony and I give him cereal it's was such a great experiences with sea lion birds and ocean waves if you love nature you must stay here
The staff here gave me a very good service I Also you got maid service everyday
This hotel should have 4 star!! The bed was very confi the hotel is very quiet and because of location and services you really feel like you are in vacation Jacob check us in within 2 min and gave us a very good service
I m coming back here everytime I'm in San Diego

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Angelique U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 22, 2014

Dear Angelique,

Thank you so much for the 5 stars and the wonderful comments on your recent stay! I am most pleased to read your comments about the staff and our service. The team here at La Jolla Cove Suites works diligently to ensure that our guests enjoy the La Jolla experience. We look forward to welcoming you back. Joanna Capps, Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

I stayed at this hotel over many years and have never been sorry. The rooms are spacious and the views are the best you could want. The staff is very accommodating and will go out of their way to help you. The rooftop complimentary breakfast is fresh and the outdoor tables give you a spectacular view of the cove. This is the best deal in La Jolla!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Garry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 14, 2014

Dear Garry J, Thank you so much for your glowing review of our hotel and especially your comments about our wonderful staff! The team here at La Jolla Cove Suites constantly strives to provide the highest level of guest satisfaction and hearing that the guests appreciate their efforts is always thrilling for them. Again, we appreciate that you took the time to write a review and we certainly look forward to your return. Joanna Capps, Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We booked a weekend in La Jolla and were so impressed by the reviews and photos on the website of updated, renovated rooms, great proximity to the beach, and a fantastic view. When we arrived, we noticed the outside was old and run down. Check in was unusually long with lines of people, and our rooms were late in being prepared. Upon arriving to our room, we realized that our room was only partially renovated. The carpet appeared to be newer, and there were some updated pillows on the bed. The shower was in poor condition, and it appeared that there were several attempts to cover up mold. There was no mattress pad or fitted sheet on the bed, only a second flat sheet to separate us from the mattress. To make matters worse, we were awoken each morning to the loud roar of water flowing to showers in adjacent rooms, and the sound of water flowing down their drains to the point at which we wondered if it was raining, or just poor construction. The deck had a nice view of the ocean, but you had to peer between a rusted balcony railing that was thickly covered in bright, teal paint to conceal the blemishes. Furthermore, we had to personally request maid service after returning to our rooms in the evening. Shame on this establishment for their false advertising and poor quality.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Cathleen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 14, 2014

Dear Valued Guest, Naturally we are saddened to read your poor impression of our hotel. As you stated, our reviews don’t reflect the negative comments that you expressed, however the team here at the Cove takes all guest concerns very seriously and we will be looking into each and every issue you raised. Something to consider is that we have a large variety of room types to offer, and yes some rooms have more updates than others. By booking directly with us, our staff will be happy to assist you in choosing the room type that will most meet your needs and expectations. We truly apologize that your stay was less than you had hoped for. Please feel free to contact me personally if you would like to give us another try, as I would love the opportunity to turn you into a raving fan! Joanna Capps, Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Parking garage $20/day.
Small and narrow suites are quite dated but clean.
Balcony has great view of pacific coast with an
odoriferous Sea Lion experience in the morning.
Great photo ops of cove, park, shorebirds.
5th floor has complimentary breakfast basics with Terrace view of ocean.
There is a convenience store approx. 200 yards, turn left out of hotel, go back up hill ,
Immediately on your left at the corner.
Great restaurants up the stairs on same hill to Prospect rd.
The Spot- American grill $
Herringbone- very trendy, hip, great dishes $$
La Dolce Vita Ristorante- great Italian with Sicilian operatic singers on a cozy terrace.

Room Tip: Great location, make sure you request a balcony with view of ocean.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Rick8469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaJollaCoveSuites, Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Rick 8469,

We are so happy that you enjoyed La Jolla and all of the great restaurants, sites, and shopping within walking distance of La Jolla Cove Suites, we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Tracy White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews