We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,202)
Filter reviews
1,202 results
Traveler rating
347
403
189
128
135
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
347
403
189
128
135
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la jolla cove rooftop breakfast sea lions ocean view scripps park living room full kitchen hard boiled eggs an older hotel complimentary breakfast prospect street pool and hot tub ping pong amazing location yogurt bit dated shops and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
804 - 809 of 1,202 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This is one of the best locations in La Jolla, directly behind La Jolla Cove with its magnificent view and sea lions on the rocks. Although it is not luxurious, the staff is professional and the view and location are superb. We stayed in a two room terrace suite, which is an apartment in effect with huge square footage. We were in Terrace 243 which is one of the highest levels, and the patio had a 180 degree view of the ocean. It had two bedrooms each with one bed. The living room had two couches but they do not pull out.
The only negatives:
- housekeeping shorted us towels twice, but with a call they remedied it relatively quickly.
- pool was closed for maintenance (and is closed until 1/15/14 or so), which we were not told in advance.
- cabinets are getting very worn out, but really did not matter to us as we were not using them much.

Don't get a terrace if you do not like steps. There are several levels of steps down to the main building and the beach. However the Terrace does have street access and gated parking on Prospect street, so you can get to the main street (restaurants etc) very easily without many steps. If you are OK with all the steps it is so worth it!

This is not a luxurious hotel and they do not pamper you, but the location and view (and the size of the terrace suites) is what it is all about at this property.

Room tip: The Terraces are fantastic - see notes above and also info on all the steps to them.
Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 5, 2014

Dear Bill,

Thank you for your kind review. We really appreciate that you took the time to write a review on Trip Advisor about our hotel. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Joanna Capps, Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This is by far my favorite place to stay in San Diego ... love the location and the spot !I would love to stay the whoe summer ... the staff and serenity is juat amazing its so so relaxing .
I would I ighly recomend this hotel to all my freinds.

Room tip: 218 above the office with the best ocean view !
Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SanDIegoTravelinfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed here last night in one of the terrace rooms, and the view is the only thing making this hotel any business. It is a unique place in the way it's built, but it severely needs updating. Our room was right out of the 80's and still had all the carpet and furniture to prove it. Lights were burnt out, carpet stained and dirty, and space heaters being used for heat. For $350 I expected so much more than a 30 year old room, I would go elsewhere and forego the view. It really is a Motel 6 by the beach, nothing more, but there must be other people that find it acceptable to their standards and give it higher reviews. We felt deceived by their website.

One thing to note for all those that complain of the "stench" of the cove...get over it! You are right by the beach with all the wildlife to enjoy, and with that can bring odors that are not always pleasant, but the hotel has no control of this.

Room tip: Get an updated room, apparently there are some.
Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelScooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded January 6, 2014

We apologize that you did not find the room to your liking. We are in the process of updating our Terrace rooms to match those amazing views! We hope you will give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

La Jolla Cove Suites is probably the best value for the money for a spectacular location on San Diego's coastline. Located across the street from beautiful Scripps Park, adjacent to scenic La Jolla Cove, the area is popular for picnics, weddings, leisurely strolls, biking, jogging, snorkeling, and sightseeing. Natural wonders include an extensive array of tide pools and Children's Pool, a small cove with a beach that is inhabited by about 100 sea lions. The hotel is just a three minute walk from the heart of La Jolla Village, with its dozens of boutiques, galleries, shops and restaurants, and about a 10 minute walk to the Contemporary Museum of Art, as well as a city park with several tennis courts. The hotel has its own salt water pool with a very extensive deck area, and one can enjoy a complementary hot breakfast in the roof top dining room or roof top deck. The smaller units in the front half of the hotel have individual verandas with a park/ocean view. Our one bedroom unit was spacious, and the cooking and bathroom facilities were adequate. The furniture was acceptable, but the hide-a-bed mattress probably dates from last century and should be replaced. The property is dated but more than adequate for a short getaway in one of the premier areas of San Diego County. There was so much to see and do that we basically just used the unit to sleep. It's about the view!

Room tip: Select a one bedroom with an ocean view. Be advised that the pet-friendly rooms are small.
Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mammoth56_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Needs to be scrubbed ... the common areas needed attention ... the rooms are dated and the heat source was a portable heater ... fixtures are dated ... rooms are tiny ! .. Parking $20 ! ... know ahead



Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Gini B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews