We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location and Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This was our second trip to La Jolla and our first stay in this property. The first thing that this property has going for it is location. We were able to walk to almost all our destinations. Right out the front entrance, you can go left or right and you get choices and possibilities whether that be for meals, shopping, snacks, treats, or just for looking around. If you go out through the rear entrance up a set of stairs, past the swimming pool, you end up on a busy street where you find even more choices for dining and shopping. Across from the hotel, there is a lovely green space where you can picnic, rest, or just watch the activity around you. Just a few steps away, you can get on the path that will take you along the edge of the water for a long, long way while you enjoy the sound of the surf or watch and hear the seals, cormorants, seagulls and others that may choose to join them.

Our room faced the water; this cost us a bit extra but the view was gorgeous - blue water, palm trees, and sunsets, with the seals barking occasionally interrupting the calm. The room itself felt a bit tight, with not much room to move around the bed, but then we had a balcony where we spent much downtime just watching the world go by, enjoying a cold drink or a gelato. You won't find sumptuous bathrooms here but ours was more than adequate and serviceable. Another plus was the kitchenette - handy for making cups of tea or coffee without the need to get dressed for it. The place was very clean and staff were attentive and very pleasant.

Your room price includes a continental breakfast on a roof deck with a great view and fresh clean air. There is no restaurant on the property but this was hardly a problem for us with restaurants, coffee shops, cafes available all around. The outdoor swimming pool is located behind the property past the parking lot. It is situated above ground level, fenced off and gated and comes with beach towel supplied.

We would consider coming back to La Jolla Cove Suites. It served us very well as a home base during our 3-night stay and we certainly did not find it lacking in any way.

Room Tip: Ask for one of their newly renovated rooms or suites and make sure to specify the view that you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gvwatts .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara N, Guest Relations Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear gvwatts,
We're glad you had a great stay. Please come again any time and consider trying one of our 900-square feet Deluxe One Bedroom Oceanfront Suites for more room and renovated bathrooms. Thanks so very much for reviewing us online!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,016)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

718 - 724 of 1,017 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2013

We've been coming every May for years and have loved being there. Everything and everyone. From the amazing view beautiful room great service and the most gracious living staff ever! Our extended family. Sure wish we were there now. It's 112 here!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancybc1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara N, Guest Relations Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you, Nancybc1986, for your fabulous review! You are most definitely a part of our family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

It bears repeating, this is a perfect location. Our room overlooked La Jolla Cove cliffs and was a few steps from a beautiful park and gorgeous cliff trails. We were also a short walk from dozens of great restaurants and shopping. Our room was clean, airy and large. The staff was friendly and professional. The free continental breakfast on the roof terrace was invigorating and better than we expected. We were planning our next visit there before our first was over. Check this place out

Room Tip: Pay extra for an ocean front view...well worth the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familarstranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara N, Guest Relations Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear familarstranger,

Your review made our day - thank you! We welcome you back any time. Be sure to book directly with us, so that we can give you your Repeat Guest Discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We staycation here. It's on the park, with walking to everywhere in downtown La Jolla.
Kitchenettes in the rooms we have stayed in.
Older property.Bathrooms can be a bit time worn.
They are working on upgrading the room decor (see hotel impossible).

The staff has been friendly, and they work to know their repeat visitors.

Room Tip: We prefer the Ocean Studio where you can leave the window open and hear the ocean (also possible in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara N, Guest Relations Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear David,

We truly appreciate your repeat business and your review. See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My daughter, granddaughter & I recently spent a few days at LaJolla Cove and thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay! We were very pleased with our deluxe oceanview 5th floor suite where we were able to view the sea lions on the rocks from our balcony. Transportation to SeaWorld and to the San Diego Airport was very accessible. We enjoyed our complimentary rooftop breakfast with its spectacular view of the ocean and Scripp's Park. The children's pool was a short walk from the hotel and gave us a wonderful opportunity to observe and photograph the numerous seals beached along the shoreline. I took advantage of the complimentary spa membership and attended a wonderful yoga class at a nearby fitness facility. We also enjoyed the outdoor pool and hot tub under the night sky...the hotel provides large, thick beach towels for your convenience. My only complaint was that the time passed much too quickly and was sad when it came time to leave. The staff was very accomodating and provided us with excellent service during our memorable stay. I would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichiganWindRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara N, Guest Relations Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear MichiganWindRider:

Thanks so much for reviewing online. We’re delighted that you had a super time, and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We were married here in 10/2010. We come back every year on our anniversary. You can't beat the location or the size of the rooms here. Now that our family has grown +2, its a must to have a separate bedroom area to put them down at their bedtime while we stay awake for a few hours. The continental breakfast is great! Nice to have your coffee on a roof top or your balcony & listen to the waves crash. We love this place! Can't say enough good things about it!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sdgirly77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara N, Guest Relations Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear Sdgirly77,
We are so honored to be the site of your wedding and anniversaries. Thank you for your glowing review. We’ll see you and your family in October!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The price you pay is for the best ocean view and access to Scripps Park. We booked a 1 bd. deluxe suite guaranteed to be in the main building directly across from the park. When we arrived they told us we had been "upgraded" to a room with 2 beds instead of one. Sounded good until we were told it was in the building up and behind the main building. We had to insist on the room we booked weeks earlier, and they finally gave it to us. The reason for the "upgrade" was to accommodate a wedding party in the hotel.
The room was fine, the website said it had a microwave. It did not. When we asked bout it the only answer they had was "your room doesn't have one". Even when I referred them to the web page, nothing was offered other than to use the one in the office. This was a room with a kitchenette...we wanted a microwave. Never got one.
We were not allowed to go to the rooftop (great view & quiet) because the wedding reception was setting up all day for that night. The next morning we did go to the roof & enjoyed the complimentary breakfast.
Although the room was oceanfront, the bedroom was facing the interior corridor. The party goers "partied" in the halls til about 3am which made sleeping a challenge. The sofa bed in the living room is horrible...springs just about poking thru. Not usable as a bed.
Best part was sitting on our balcony, enjoying the views which included wedding and prom parties taking photos in the park, we even saw a man drop to his knee and propose to a very surprised fiancé (her reaction indicated she said yes).
If you need a kitchenette, bring your own coffee maker (and maybe a microwave!). The one supplied makes about a 3 oz. cup of coffee. Never saw such a small amount before.
Great restaurants within walking distance. We did drive south 11 miles to a quaint German restaurant in Mission Bay, other than that we never needed the car.
You are paying for the nonstop view and location, which is worth it. But don't expect too much inside. The staff was actually very nice even if we did have to push for what we wanted.
Suggest you go for 4th floor or higher in main building or you hear a lot of traffic. Up on the roof which is 5th floor you don't hear a thing so its the best place in the hotel to get away, feel the breeze, and be quiet.

Room Tip: Choose 4th or 5th floor in main building for best access to street but still quiet when on your ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mnmtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara N, Guest Relations Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear Mnmtrip,
Thank you for the detailed review of your stay with us. We apologize that the upgrade was not accurately described to you. When we have a wedding in house, management strategically assigns rooms so that non-wedding guests will not be affected by any noise generated from the wedding. That is our goal. The room you were to be upgraded to was not just a room with two beds; it was a very large suite (930 square feet) on our terrace level with a full kitchen (including a microwave), living room, dining area, and a very large balcony with the most amazing panoramic view of the ocean. We offer these upgrades so that our guests can have quiet enjoyment during their stay, not to accommodate a wedding. The in room coffee makers do just make one cup of fresh coffee at a time. Some people like them, but, like you, some do not, and we apologize for that. We do provide coffee on the rooftop, including lattes, cappuccinos and mochas. Unfortunately, we do not provide microwaves in the small one bedroom suite you reserved. In those rooms we have a small stove and oven, and a small refrigerator, but the electrical system will not support the addition of a microwave. Using a microwave would most likely cause a power outage in the room and we certainly do not want to cause anyone that inconvenience. We thank you for your kind comments about the staff; they take these reviews very seriously and strive to make all of our guests fans of the hotel. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,193 reviews
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,380 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Jolla Shores Hotel
#11 of 24 in La Jolla
1,034 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites

Address: 1155 Coast Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-3627
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: $129 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the La Jolla village,the closest hotel to the ocean with unobstructed views from its guestroom balconies of the La Jolla Cove, ocean and Scripps Park. Why stay anywhere else then right on the Pacific Ocean when visiting California ? Start your morning off with a deluxe continental breakfast located on the Hotel's 5th Floor Rooftop with unparalleled vista views of the Southern Californian coastline. Your day will be filled with as much or as little activity as you would like,either relaxing poolside in our heated saltwater pool,playing a round of outside billiards or ping pong with your family by the pool, taking a sightseeing walk through the village and along the coastline to watch the sea lions in their natural habitat and ending your day catching a west coast sunset from your own oceanfront balcony or around the rooftop firepits under the stars.A most memorable experience in a breathtaking location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Cove Hotel La Jolla
La Jolla Cove Suites
Cove La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing