We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paying for best view & location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The price you pay is for the best ocean view and access to Scripps Park. We booked a 1 bd. deluxe suite guaranteed to be in the main building directly across from the park. When we arrived they told us we had been "upgraded" to a room with 2 beds instead of one. Sounded good until we were told it was in the building up and behind the main building. We had to insist on the room we booked weeks earlier, and they finally gave it to us. The reason for the "upgrade" was to accommodate a wedding party in the hotel.
The room was fine, the website said it had a microwave. It did not. When we asked bout it the only answer they had was "your room doesn't have one". Even when I referred them to the web page, nothing was offered other than to use the one in the office. This was a room with a kitchenette...we wanted a microwave. Never got one.
We were not allowed to go to the rooftop (great view & quiet) because the wedding reception was setting up all day for that night. The next morning we did go to the roof & enjoyed the complimentary breakfast.
Although the room was oceanfront, the bedroom was facing the interior corridor. The party goers "partied" in the halls til about 3am which made sleeping a challenge. The sofa bed in the living room is horrible...springs just about poking thru. Not usable as a bed.
Best part was sitting on our balcony, enjoying the views which included wedding and prom parties taking photos in the park, we even saw a man drop to his knee and propose to a very surprised fiancé (her reaction indicated she said yes).
If you need a kitchenette, bring your own coffee maker (and maybe a microwave!). The one supplied makes about a 3 oz. cup of coffee. Never saw such a small amount before.
Great restaurants within walking distance. We did drive south 11 miles to a quaint German restaurant in Mission Bay, other than that we never needed the car.
You are paying for the nonstop view and location, which is worth it. But don't expect too much inside. The staff was actually very nice even if we did have to push for what we wanted.
Suggest you go for 4th floor or higher in main building or you hear a lot of traffic. Up on the roof which is 5th floor you don't hear a thing so its the best place in the hotel to get away, feel the breeze, and be quiet.

Room Tip: Choose 4th or 5th floor in main building for best access to street but still quiet when on your ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mnmtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara N, Guest Relations Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear Mnmtrip,
Thank you for the detailed review of your stay with us. We apologize that the upgrade was not accurately described to you. When we have a wedding in house, management strategically assigns rooms so that non-wedding guests will not be affected by any noise generated from the wedding. That is our goal. The room you were to be upgraded to was not just a room with two beds; it was a very large suite (930 square feet) on our terrace level with a full kitchen (including a microwave), living room, dining area, and a very large balcony with the most amazing panoramic view of the ocean. We offer these upgrades so that our guests can have quiet enjoyment during their stay, not to accommodate a wedding. The in room coffee makers do just make one cup of fresh coffee at a time. Some people like them, but, like you, some do not, and we apologize for that. We do provide coffee on the rooftop, including lattes, cappuccinos and mochas. Unfortunately, we do not provide microwaves in the small one bedroom suite you reserved. In those rooms we have a small stove and oven, and a small refrigerator, but the electrical system will not support the addition of a microwave. Using a microwave would most likely cause a power outage in the room and we certainly do not want to cause anyone that inconvenience. We thank you for your kind comments about the staff; they take these reviews very seriously and strive to make all of our guests fans of the hotel. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,042)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

747 - 753 of 1,042 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

This has been a very relaxing and enjoyable time away. The units are clean, comfortable, and for the most part complete in offering an at home feeling. Whatever I needed for the kitchen, they provided. The view is spectacular, the staff are very pleasant, the accommodations comfortable, This is our second visit within a year and a week isn't long enough. We walked the beaches, played in the park, stretched out on the grassy lawn, watched the sea lions, swam in the cove, drove to dog beach nearby, had a wonderful celebration dinner out, and shopped the La Jolla downtown village area which is charming. Complimentary breakfast is served (nothing great but OK). There is also the opportunity for use of a gym which we didn't use - no time. We also did not use the pool or hot tub. What they have to really offer is LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION. Downside is, it could use some updating but we can't complain.

CAL of Phoenix

Room Tip: We were there during the week for the most part in Mid-May and last year in Mid-September (school is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAL40_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara N, Guest Relations Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear CAL40_13,
Thank you for coming back to La Jolla Cove Suites. We're glad your stay was a great one, and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The owners of this oceanside complex have done a great job updating it, with good color choices, thick paint and have created a retro beach charm. Nothing is luxurious except the view, but then again the price isn't gong to break the bank either. We stayed in a second floor corner unit, which gave us an additional window, letting in lots of light. Would have liked to been higher than the second floor, but no real big deal. The cove is across the street and charming La Jolla Village just a short walk up the hill. They offer a free membership at a nice gym within walking distance, too! A pretty good breakfast with fresh waffles although I can't get a good cup of coffee here or at the Embassy Suites where we were previously. Everything is clean and although the bathroom has been updated slightly, their next capital improvement should be to replace the tub and shower doors. We'll come back! One down side....my dad made the reservations for us a month ago adn they charged his credit card that day for the full amount - we hadn't even checked in yet.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner unit or terrace level up the hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara N, Guest Relations Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Kate,

Thank you for staying with us and providing your kind review. Just to let you know for future stays, we do require a one night room and tax deposit when the reservation is made. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The location of La Jolla Cove Suites was perfect for my wife and I. We enjoyed our daily walks along the shoreline right across from the hotel. Rooms were clean, staff were excellent and hot tub was great. The complimentary breakfast was convenient. Nothing to complain about here.

Room Tip: The higher the better may be the case. With the windows open it got a little noisy in the morning wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank regvi24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara N, Guest Relations Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear regvi24,
Thank you for your kind review. We’re so glad you and your wife enjoyed your stay and our location, rooms and amenities. We hope to see you again really soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

If you are interested in staying at a hotel that has great ocean views, great staff and great location you found it at La Jolla Cove Suites. If you request a standard room with a view you will be in heaven ! The location of the hotel is magnificant. You open your sliding door to a ocean view, walk 5 min to all atractions and drive 5 min to wonderful restaurants. ( My family and I ate at Osteria Romantica and only have great things to say about it.) La Jolla Cove suites is where I will stay at from here on out no need to pay more for fancy hotels that are far from everything!

Room Tip: For a wonderful ocean view request for room 401...excellent !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara N, Guest Relations Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Noel,

Thank you for telling the world about us! We’re so glad you had such a superb stay. If you sign up for our newsletter, we can send you our special promotions, as well as the latest hotel happenings and local San Diego and La Jolla events.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Rooms clean, very tight/small kitchenette but it works, tight/small bathroom but it works, large/NICE balcony, great views, decent breakfast (great waffles), nice staff, good housekeeping service, loved the pool/hot tub area but there is a slight hike to get there. You can get to Prospect Pt which is the street with all the restaurants are by either walking up the steep Coast Blvd or taking a short cut by stairs. (A lot of stairs) We did both and it's not too bad but don't expect your older relatives to do it very easily. We loved Jose's Mexican restaurant on Prospect. (happy hour M-F 4pm-? has great drink/food specials) This is a great find. Would DEF go back! <3

Room Tip: DEF get a ocean front room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara N, Guest Relations Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Dear Carrie,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We do appreciate it. We’re so glad to read the long list of features that you love about the hotel, and we’re equally happy that you would definitely return. (Be sure to book directly with us so that you get our Repeat Guest Discount.) Our hotel is a vintage La Jolla property built by Max Heimburge in 1959. The kitchenette and bathroom sizes are from that era. We also offer fully remodeled suites from 350 to 1,000 square feet in size if you would like to try a different room type on your next visit. Regardless of size and remodel date, our guests really appreciate the ability to stock and prepare their own food in our kitchens and kitchenettes. You’re right that we have a bunch of stairs leading up to our Terrace level of suites. We walk them daily ourselves! They do, however, afford us the panoramic ocean view and first-class location on the seaside bluff of La Jolla Cove. We love our unique property, and we can’t wait to welcome you back for your return trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I am a little late in writing this review, however, our family of four (2 adults/2 kids - 14/12) stayed here 3 nights in March during our spring break vacation. We too were encouraged by the other reviews and took a chance on booking. Our requirements are simple - clean/friendly staff / good location - and were were not disappointed. We had an ocean view suite which appeared to be newly renovated and had a nice kitchenette and bathroom; all were clean. We had no trouble with noise from other guests (even w/ a traveling HS soccer team who was there at the same time) and the staff at the front desk were extremely pleasant and accomodating to all our requests. Breakfast was adeqate to start our day (although we got there early before the crowd), the pool/hot tup sufficient to end our day and the ocean views - breathtaking, especially during sunset on the top deck of the hotel. Access to rooms is through open air stairwells/hallways which would benefit from a good cleaning/upgrade as they were a bit grundgy. However, the suite was a great value, the location ideal and the staff friendly. In summary, we enjoyed our time at your hotel and would certainly recommend it to others visiting LaJolla and hope to make it back again soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellaverona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca H, Assistant Guest Services Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Yes, we are definitely fortunate to have the beautiful sunsets and from the rooftop of the hotel they are extra magnificent. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this review and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,053 reviews
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,405 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites

Address: 1155 Coast Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-3627
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: $112 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the La Jolla village,the closest hotel to the ocean with unobstructed views from its guestroom balconies of the La Jolla Cove, ocean and Scripps Park. Why stay anywhere else then right on the Pacific Ocean when visiting California ? Start your morning off with a deluxe continental breakfast located on the Hotel's 5th Floor Rooftop with unparalleled vista views of the Southern Californian coastline. Your day will be filled with as much or as little activity as you would like,either relaxing poolside in our heated saltwater pool,playing a round of outside billiards or ping pong with your family by the pool, taking a sightseeing walk through the village and along the coastline to watch the sea lions in their natural habitat and ending your day catching a west coast sunset from your own oceanfront balcony or around the rooftop firepits under the stars.A most memorable experience in a breathtaking location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Cove Hotel La Jolla
La Jolla Cove Suites
Cove La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing