We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We are locals but stayed for one night to enjoy La Jolla- We have stayed previously but not since some rooms have been redone- We were pleasantly surprised- We had a one bedroom deluxe overlooking the ocean- beautiful view! The room was spacious, well equipped and clean. The hallway to the room had a slight smell of urine and we were worried when going into our room but once inside it was great! We did go to the rooftop continental breakfast. We were disappointed by the ashtray garbage cans all over a non smoking property and the furniture on the rooftop is in pretty sorry condition. The food average- but one thing was my 25 year old daughter asked if she could get a glass of water and was told no. In this day and age if you can make a customer happy wouldn't you go get some water? They have a machine that has juice and a flavored water- she was directed there and told her that was the only water available? Just kind of weird-
Upon checking in I was told to call in the am for a later checkout- when I did call at 8 am I was told 11 was the latest checkout. 11 seems pretty early these days for a check out- (this was on a week day too). Overall, this was a good experience, however I would not stay here if I did not have one of the redecorated rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank calvinpoway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ljcskmv, Guest Relations Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are happy to hear that your overall experience was a positive one and that you would return. We appreciate all of your feedback concerning some areas we could improve on, we take your concerns very seriously and thank you for sharing them with us. We very much value our local guests and hope that the next time you’re looking for a quick getaway you will choose La Jolla Cove Suites!

Sincerely,

Kimburley VanHaaster
Guest Services Manager
La Jolla Cove Suites
1155 Coast Blvd.
La Jolla, California 92037
Phone: 858-459-2621
Fax: 858-551-3405
kvanhaaster@lajollacove.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,034)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

820 - 826 of 1,034 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2012

I took the wife and kids (ages 3 and 4) here for a couple nights. The staff were great. We stayed in a suite with a room and family room. The view is great. The balcony was great. The location to Prospect, kids beach, tide pools etc is as good as it gets. Covered parking was nice. Pool was nice. Eating on the roof for breakfast was great. They underuse a great rooftop. The beds/matresses were 5 star. Rooms are not five star by any stretch, but I would give the stay and experience six stars. we also stayed at a couple five star hotels during the trip (also on the ocean) and have to say we and the kids enjoyed this location/town/shopping/beaches/hotel staff the most. For the money, this would be my top spot in San Diego County.

- Jon Heg

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ljcskmv, Guest Relations Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Thank you for your review! It is our utmost goal that our guest’s experience is 5 Star and so we are pleased to hear the goal was met with you and your family. We look forward to seeing you again soon!


Bianca Hazel
Assistant Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Before you leave to go to the hotel, call ahead and see if your room is ready because if it is you can check in early ;-) if not give them your cell and they will call you when it is. We had a huge problem with waiting for our room but they made it all good with all the employees working hard to help us as fast as they could. We were impressed! Our room 225 was great for the 5 of us. It is a two bed/two bath apt. with a sofa and three balconies '-) there was a stove top, micro wave, fridge, dining room for four people and lots of space and closets. It's on the second floor. This place is close to all kinds of restaraunt and just accross the street to the park. The cove is right there. Take your skorkel gear!! If you are thinking of renting a Kayak or paddle board over by La Jolla Shores beach just know you cannot go into the cove with them. It's for swimmers only but you can take them into the cave area with is a little North of the cove. Our fav. restaraunt if you like Mexican was Puesto. I thought it would be like a Chiotles or Wahoos but it's better and more like a Subway but with tacos and bowls. If you like BBQ corn you must try their sweet corn:-). After our three days and two night there our 17 & 18 year old boys said they had a blast. (note: they havn't gone on family vacations with us for the last year or so because they said they were too old. Now they want to go again).

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the ocean view, your so close so get the view too. The annex building is the clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Going4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ljcskmv, Guest Relations Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Thank you for posting such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor! I’m delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to turn your boys around on the idea of family vacations. We are fortunate to be located so close to the water which gives our guests direct access to amazing snorkeling and diving in the world famous La Jolla Cove. We thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you and your boys again soon for your next family vacation!


Bianca Hazel
Assistant Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This was our fifth year staying at the La Jolla Cove Suites. The location is beautiful and we've always enjoyed our vacation there. The rooms are comfortable and the pool area is equipped with nice grills, tables, and chairs. Breakfast is served on the rooftop (indoors or out) and the view is spectacular. We hope to return next year.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ljcskmv, Guest Relations Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Thank you for being such a loyal repeat guest, we love to see families return year after year! It is hearing from guests such as yourself about how much they enjoyed their stay that makes our job such a delight. It was a pleasure as always having you stay at our hotel and we cannot wait to see you again at your home away from home here at the La Jolla Cove.

Bianca Hazel
Assistant Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This hotel is situated in a spectacular location. There’s a lot to do in the area and we had a great time. There’s lots of wildlife in the area too with birds and seals down at the coast. Now down to the nitty gritty… The hotel staff were very friendly and helpfully. The hotel itself is in need of modernisation, the rooms are very spacious but the décor and furniture look like they’re off the set of Hawaii 5-0… very 70’s and dull looking. This one is not the fault of the hotel, the noise from the seals was relentless. I don’t know if it was mating season or the fact they’re just noisy animals anyway, but they never shut up all night. This made for a very restless night.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank in-viator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ljcskmv, Guest Relations Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Thank you for taking the time and posting a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor. I’m delighted to hear that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful and that you found the location of the hotel to be spectacular. We are currently undergoing an extensive remodel of all of our rooms, so upon your return you will not only be able to enjoy the wonderful location but the brand new mattresses, bedding and gorgeous décor. On behalf of everyone here at La Jolla Cove Suites we thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you soon!

Bianca Hazel
Assistant Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

The location and ocean views are excellent. Otherwise, this facility looks like a motel. Clean but nothing special. The staff was helpful and attentive. They come with a kitchenette and fridge. The bathrooms are small but have all basic necessities. It is a good deal for a family. There is covered parking for an additional fee.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TRAVELER1TEXAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca H, Assistant Guest Services Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Thank you for taking the time write a review of your recent stay here at La Jolla Cove Suites. We are pleased to hear that the staff was helpful and attentive to your needs, guests satisfaction is our number one priority. For a future stay might I suggest a deluxe one bedroom suite, these room types have just completed renovations and have a full kitchen, large bath and of course a spectacular view of the La Jolla Cove. We thank you again for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We had a family wedding across the street from the Suites, so everyone decided to stay at the same Hotel to be together. They do no advertise that they have NO air conditioning. Our small "room with a view" was so small, I had no room for my luggage. They finally brought in a portable unit....but had no way to exhaust the vent, so all the hot air was circulating back into my room. The pillows and bed were entirely insufficient. Very uncomfortable! The only benefits of staying here is the "ocean view". My other family & I moved to a "double suite" the next day. The balcony was looking into someone elses room. When we used our hair dryers at the same time, the fuse kept blowing out. Oh, I forgot....no water pressure and hardly any hot water. As beautiful as the view was, the rooms are so inconvenient it is NOT worth the high price we paid. We were given the "wedding price" and each one of our rooms were a different price! Never again!!!!!

Room Tip: a room with a balcony & view facing the noisy street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank s c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca H, Assistant Guest Services Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. Although it was disheartening to hear of your dissatisfaction, we welcome all feedback in the spirit of continuous improvement. Thank you for letting us know that your A/C unit was not installed correctly, we are currently retraining our maintenance staff on how to properly install a unit. We have also recently received new Serta Sleeper mattresses as well as new bedding for all of our rooms as part of the extensive remodel that we are currently undergoing. If you do decide to stay with us again, please ask to speak to the manager on duty as we would love to be given the opportunity to rectify your past experience and ensure that your next stay is perfect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
2.8 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,392 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla at Aventine
4.0 mi away
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
1.0 mi away
La Jolla Shores Hotel
La Jolla Shores Hotel
#10 of 24 in La Jolla
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites

Address: 1155 Coast Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-3627
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: $114 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the La Jolla village,the closest hotel to the ocean with unobstructed views from its guestroom balconies of the La Jolla Cove, ocean and Scripps Park. Why stay anywhere else then right on the Pacific Ocean when visiting California ? Start your morning off with a deluxe continental breakfast located on the Hotel's 5th Floor Rooftop with unparalleled vista views of the Southern Californian coastline. Your day will be filled with as much or as little activity as you would like,either relaxing poolside in our heated saltwater pool,playing a round of outside billiards or ping pong with your family by the pool, taking a sightseeing walk through the village and along the coastline to watch the sea lions in their natural habitat and ending your day catching a west coast sunset from your own oceanfront balcony or around the rooftop firepits under the stars.A most memorable experience in a breathtaking location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Cove Hotel La Jolla
La Jolla Cove Suites
Cove La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing