We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This delightful experience was like a visit to the 1950's!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Reviewed March 14, 2011

I remember our first trip to Calif., and seeing my first view of the Pacific Ocean from La Jolla in 1957. The La Jolla Cove Suites rekindled the joy of that memory. The Cove Suites are clean, comfortable, welcoming and offer views that are breath-taking. The great staff is courteous beyond compare. The rooms and property are impecable and are truly reminiscent of a by-gone era. The location is perfect and lends itself to strolling along the beach and wandering into the village area. If you are looking for luxury in a ultra plush, modern hotel, this isn't your kind of place. But if you value service and cleanliness, and if you are a bit "old school" and have a hankering for nostalgia, then the La Jolla Cove Suites truly is a find and it will make you smile. A special thank you to Tracy White for sharing photos sent to The Cove Suites from long time hotel patrons! This place is a jewel!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TwoCruzinCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,042)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

883 - 889 of 1,042 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2011

After checking out of a below par facility in Pacific beach we found ourselves looking at a suite in the La Jolla Cove Suites. We couldn't have beem more pleased! The spacious corner unit on the fifth floor was beautiful! The view was breathtaking! The place was extremely clean and very confortable place to call home for two weeks. We will certainly return and hope to stay longer. Conpetent, friendly staff and lovely surroundings.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shutterbug744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2011

i spent a lot of time and energy working with this property to host all of my wedding guests at this property, despite the disturbing reviews. i chose to overlook the reviews as i was initially having a very positive experience interacting with the hotel. it turned very ugly, very quickly.

where do i start?

1. the vast majority of rooms do not have internet access. i am not saying that you have to pay for it; i am saying that there is absolutely no internet access. the only rooms that have internet access are the "full suites."

2. just know what to expect. the furniture, colors, fixtures, appliances, etc. in all of the rooms but the full suites are very dated and look it (and sometimes smell it). the full suites are half-updated (the furniture) and half-not (the fixtures, appliances, etc.).

3. if you have to stay here, stay in a full suite.

4. the location is incredible although you will realistically get some noise from the street below.

5. parking is $15.

6. the continental breakfast is free and offers an incredible view from the top of the building...but it's hard to call it a breakfast. there was no staff there at all. nothing was fresh from what i could tell (i.e. grocery store-bought bagels out of a plastic bag).

7. the rooms are spacious.

8. there is no restaurant on-site (but of course a lot of good restaurants nearby).

9. consistent with a lot of the reviews, the location is spectacular but the property itself leaves plenty to be desired. as long as you set your expectations to an appropriate level, you will have an ok experience but please do not go into your vacation expecting a luxury experience. this is a 2-star hotel with a 4 or 5-star location.

now to the reserving a room block experience:

10. the person i dealt with was very pleasant but all decisions were made by the general manager--that seems to be where the problems started. we had negotiated a rate for a particular kind of room and the rate was a nice discount versus the best rate available on the website. i was a lot more interested in other types of rooms and asked whether i could receive a similar % or $ discount on those room categories...

at the time (and several days thereafter) that i sent the email requesting rates on the other room category, the internet rate for the room category was $202. they came back to me and offered $225 as a group rate. yes, you read that right, not only was it not a discount but it was significantly above the rate on the website that allowed for full cancellation rights without penalty.

i obviously pushed back as that was complete nonsense. guess what happened then? the $202 rate online magically jumped to $239 and then they "generously" offered a group rate of $202--the previous online rate. unethical to the least, wouldn't you say?

this hotel does not do business the right way. you can't say that i didn't warn you.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank aroundtheworldinsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 6, 2011

La Jolla Cove Suites is family owned and operated, and has been in business for 52 years. We have wonderful employees who are dedicated to providing the highest level of customer service to our guests. When we receive constructive criticism we give it the utmost respect and consideration. We always strive to deliver a quality experience.

Our deluxe one bedroom suites (full suites), and all of our terrace suites have complimentary wireless internet access. In addition; we have a business center with complimentary wireless internet access, computers, and a printer. The business center is a very quiet, comfortable room, which is open for extended hours and is available to all guests. Complimentary wireless internet services are also available on our rooftop, as well as at the pool and BBQ areas.

Our deluxe continental breakfast is offered to all guests daily on our oceanfront rooftop. The breakfast includes hot and cold cereals, muffins, bagels, English muffins, a variety of fresh fruits, coffee, lattes, mochas, hot chocolate (with marshmallows), and a selection of Tazo teas.

Sometimes we negotiate a special rate for a specific room type, however that discount percentage will not be offered for other room types. As is standard in the travel industry, room rates change often as they are based on supply & demand (for example, much like the airline industry). Our deluxe one bedroom suite is a very popular room type and often sells out.

I apologize for offering such a technical response, however these issues are very industry specific and therefore, require some explanation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

I booked this hotel based on a recommendation of a friend who lives in La Jolla who correctly described the hotel as in the center of all the action. After booking the hotel i checked trip adviser and was nervous about soem of the negative comments, then i remembered an old proverb " believe nothing of what you hear and only half of what you see.
The hotel stafff was excellent and very courteous, the rooms clean and with great ocean views. The mornign breakfast is what you expect from any cahin that offers a quick start in the morning. The parking fee of $15.00 is nominal and again what you would expect from any hotel.
If you like having great shops and restaurants within walking distance this is the place.

Just make sure if you are traveling with internet crazed children that you request a room with internet service.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelsalot68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

Don't believe the gripes. I loved staying here. You just can't be a high maintenance, uptight traveler to stay here. It may be LJ, but baby just think of the hotel as an old Vegas showgirl who's lost her looks as the years roll by. She's still charming and hospitable!

I came for the La Jolla Rough Water Swim and stayed a couple nights on the fifth floor facing the Cove. The continental breakfast on the roof deck, the amazing views, nice staff, and that fab hot tub will have you forgiving the funky pink stucco and outdated furnishings. Kitchenettes were big and Jonathan's market isn't too far to fill the fridge. Parking is a breeze. You just can't go wrong for the location factor. The couch/sofabed is a nightmare though, just sleep on the couch if you're splitting rooms. It can be noisy on the street on the nights preceding events, like the Swim, when all you heard from 3 a.m. on was truck "reverse warning beeps." Just book it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skrzypeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2010

WE luv it there...have stayed there 3 times....the view is out of this world....can't beat it....we stay for the location and the view. The staff are great....the rooms are ok..but we wouldn't stay anywhere else because of the location!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STEPHBUBBY2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2010

Traveled to La Jolla with wife, two teenagers and a younger child. The staff was very accommodating. We had problems with coin operated vending machine, and they were quick to help take care of the situation. We stayed on the sixth floor with a fantastic view of the ocean. Was very surprised at the size of the one-bedroom suite. The place has a nice retro feel. Bathroom was clean, but there were obvious signs of wear that had been repaired in a patchwork manner. The kitchenette was nice, stocked with silverware and dishes. Cable TV (Vizio HD) and Wi-Fi worked fine.
Lots of closet space. Beds were comfortable as was sofa bed. The only problem that i think others may face is with the constant sound of barking seals, which called the beach and rocks below their home. They didn't bother us (the bedroom is located at the back of the suite) but i heard others complaining. Although there were what appeared to be thermostat heating/ac controls, i didn't notice any ceiling/wall vents so there may be radiant heating in the rooms. there were portable fans/heaters in the closets for our use.
be aware of the additional $15/vehicle per night parking charge! i found this to be ridiculous when you consider that we paid $190 a night! other than that, when you combine the view, spacious room and close proximity to shopping, restaurants and quaint ambiance of downtown La Jolla, the suites are a really nice place to spend a weekend.

Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
Thank socalfamof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,057 reviews
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,405 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 286 in San Diego
2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites

Address: 1155 Coast Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-3627
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: $112 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the La Jolla village,the closest hotel to the ocean with unobstructed views from its guestroom balconies of the La Jolla Cove, ocean and Scripps Park. Why stay anywhere else then right on the Pacific Ocean when visiting California ? Start your morning off with a deluxe continental breakfast located on the Hotel's 5th Floor Rooftop with unparalleled vista views of the Southern Californian coastline. Your day will be filled with as much or as little activity as you would like,either relaxing poolside in our heated saltwater pool,playing a round of outside billiards or ping pong with your family by the pool, taking a sightseeing walk through the village and along the coastline to watch the sea lions in their natural habitat and ending your day catching a west coast sunset from your own oceanfront balcony or around the rooftop firepits under the stars.A most memorable experience in a breathtaking location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Cove Hotel La Jolla
La Jolla Cove Suites
Cove La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing