We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Guided Cave Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Jolla Kayak

La Jolla Kayak
Book In Advance
More Info
$44.00*
and up
La Jolla Sea Caves Kayak Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: La Jolla Kayak is a family run business celebrating more than 18 years as the premier ocean exploration outfit in San Diego. Offering fantastic opportunities for adventure on the open sea, La Jolla Kayak caters to tourists and locals alike. Discover by paddle or snorkel the spectacular sea cliffs, Seven Caves and underwater park, renowned to the area. La Jolla Kayak offers guided paddle and snorkel tours with specialized instructors and single or double kayak rentals to discover the sea on your own. Our Mt. Soledad Slide Bike Tour takes you through La Jolla’s most spectacular scenery. And during the warmer months you can swim with the sharks on our guided Leopard Shark Snorkel Adventures. Experience the natural beauty and wonder of the Southern California’s coastline and come away with a new appreciation for ocean kayaking, marine life, and the natural beauty of our underwater world.La Jolla Kayak is located in the heart of the seaside community of La Jolla, California, just 15 minutes north of Downtown San Diego and the SD International Airport. For over a century, La Jolla has been a favorite vacation destination of travelers from all over the world. Boasting Southern California's most beautiful and majestic coastline and the finest weather in the world, La Jolla offers a variety of recreational opportunities.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
105 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent Guided Cave Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Our guide Matt did an excellent job of keeping us mostly dry. Kayaks were tipping all over the place when entering and exiting the beach but his guidance kept us in our boat. He had a great deal of local knowledge and handled our group well. Would recommend this company as they seem to have smaller groups. We had 4 boats and saw several groups with 8, 10 or even more boats. Fewer boats means more time exploring as entry and exits are one boat at a time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nick141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    65
    27
    11
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
182 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great guides but a little "touristy"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

This was a good way to see the cove and experience the nature of the cove. it was a beautiful day so was really packed with tourists- too many people for my taste. The guys were fun and very informative and the business ran the trip beautifully

Helpful?
Thank Caterer4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
165 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Great tour guide, beautiful area, only 60 seconds of cave time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We went on the Original La Jolla Kayak tour last week, on a tandem kayak as part of a group of 8 kayaks along with our guide Max. The registration process and instruction process were fast and easy. The lockers were decent size, and the kayak equipment were decent quality. Max was an excellent guide, with lots of info on the local area and local marine life (and a few cheesy jokes).
The area itself is beautiful. The water wasn't as clear as we had hoped, but we were still able to see lots of leopard sharks, couple sea lions, seals, etc. We tried to get a peek at some nearby soupfin sharks but didn't manage to see any.
The only disappointment was that we thought there would be more time kayaking into the caves (considering the tour description says "kayak experience of the Seven Caves"), but we ended up going in a couple kayaks at a time to one of the cave entrances, then having to turn around after 60 seconds and head back out. Not sure if this was specific to our day, but we were definitely hoping to go into more of the caves... especially since the conditions were near-perfect and there was minimal risk from waves.

Extra note: We booked the 9am tour which was great in terms of finding parking, and heading out when the beach was less crowded, and finding a good spot for lunch while the busier 11:30am crowds were heading out.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank gmckendr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cajon, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“SO FUN”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I've been wanting to try kayaking for a few years and I finally had the courage to purchase tickets for a tour. The staff are very informative and friendly while checking in and by providing the locker, life vest and helmet. The tour guides were very good at giving us direction on how to kayak. It was so fun and we plan to return for more.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good fun even if little bit overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

I and my wife booked this tour during our honeymoon and have to say we enjoyed even if we expected more sightseeing and to actually enter in the caves.

Staff was fun and enjoyed to see seals, sharks etc..
Good outdoor activity!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LuciaLacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Jolla Kayak also viewed

 

Been to La Jolla Kayak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing