We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great kayaking experience and fantastic guides”

Hike Bike Kayak San Diego
Book In Advance
More Info
$44.00*
and up
La Jolla Sea Caves Kayak Tour
More Info
$66.00*
and up
La Jolla Kayak and Snorkel Tour
More Info
$40.00*
and up
La Jolla Coast Bike Tour with Downhill Ride from Mt Soledad
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: La Jolla Sea Caves Kayak Tours, Coastal Bike Tours, Surf Lessons, Snorkeling and Hiking Tours. Kayak, Bike and Surf Board Rentals. Two Locations: La Jolla and Mission Bay.
Rosemead, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great kayaking experience and fantastic guides”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Our Boy Scout Troop took a 10 am kayak tour on 10/5/13. Kristen, Kevin, Zac, & Caroline provided excellent instruction, made sure anyone who need assistance got help getting through the waves, and were great guides. They talked about the birds, caves, animals, and provided a fun and educational experience. We ended with a kayak race! Be sure to read the review and if you are properly prepared, your experience will be fantastic. Bring only what you will bring on kayak, use waterproof bags and eyeglass straps, wear water shoes, sunscreen, and have fun!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dailow007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    35
    17
    10
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Professional outfit cannot overcome so so La Jolla”
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

I found this sea kayak experience only average. The company seemed very professional and the better outfitter of the bunch. No complaints. But, having done this activity in several different places, I found the experience rather ho hum. The bay was not all that special and the currents made it difficult to navigate and enjoy one self. I would not do this trip again. Which is odd since I like kayaking. If you are looking for something to do and to get exercise and the other options are not happening, then do it and do it with this company. Otherwise, wait until you find a better locale.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_ATL100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Did the Caves Kayak Tour”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Our guide was great (young man, said he was studying to be a marine biologist), enthusiastic and knowledgeable. The tour was interesting, not only for the caves but also the sea lions and multi-million dollar homes above.

I would agree with some of the other reviewers that the shop itself seemed a bit disorganized and information was not consistent between the brochure, website, and over-the-phone.

It's not something we would need to do again, but it was a good way to start our visit to La Jolla.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank LuvMCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Overpriced :(”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Went on this kayak tour today with my husband the staff were kind very friendly and gave you every bit of information required but in all we thought it was over priced and not that much to see.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marglovestravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
“Great service!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Amazing bike tour this summer, truly enjoyed every minute of it. From Arizona, really appreciated the tour guides and their knowledge about the area. Favorite part of visiting San Diego was this bike tour, will definitely have to do it again!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank srm27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hike Bike Kayak San Diego also viewed

La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Hike Bike Kayak San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing