We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Organic and Great!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bobboi Natural Gelato

Bobboi Natural Gelato
Ranked #1 of 54 Dessert in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $7
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Real Italian artisanal gelato made on premises by Italian gelato chefs, offering a selection of gluten free, dairy free and vegan flavors made with organic ingredients
Carson City, Nevada
Level Contributor
274 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Organic and Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

All of the gelato is made of organic materials with no colors or sugars added. Makes the taste more pure and naturally sweet. The staff was incredibly helpful and encouraged us to taste as many flavor as we wanted before making a final decision. Insider Tip: Walk down to La Jolla Cove after you get your Gelato. That's where the sea lions hang out. Like nothing you've ever seen!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GeauxFrogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    370
    41
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
124 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Gelato we have had outside of Italy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

New place (~ 6months old according to one of the owners). If you enjoy gelato, this is the place for you. Try the Organic Meyer Lemon with mint gelato. It was spectacular. My wife tried the Dark Chocolate gelato and found it to be equally as good. I only wish that we did not live 3000 miles away. Definitely worth the visit!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pa55w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Molto buono”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

I have eaten a lot of gelati in Italy. This is better than almost all of it and right up with the best I had (in San Gimignano and Corniglia). I was visiting with two friends from Naples - they know gelati and were very pleased to find the real thing in La Jolla. You can sit on the tiny patio and look at the La Jolla cove.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank knitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
243 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Is this Italy?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

The Gelato here was just like I had in Italy a few years ago. Its run by an Italian family that has great customer service. It has a perfect location at the top of the hill after walking up from the sunset. They were out of a few flavors but that shows its all hand made. The price is right for the serving and they have natural flavors for those who like them. Sit outside and enjoy the breeze to cool you off.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kmonstrola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Cute place and yummy gelato”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

We cannot resist the cuteness of this place with an interesting name. After we got some samples outside from a very friendly server, we ordered a small bowl of sea salt caramel and stracciatella. Very smooth texture and delicate flavors.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Y S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bobboi Natural Gelato also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Bobboi Natural Gelato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing