We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Faithful”
Review of Bernini's Bistro

Bernini's Bistro
Ranked #40 of 1,241 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Always Faithful”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Good for breakfast, lunch or dinner... good food and nice service. The atmosphere is warm and has something on the menu for the whole family. A good place for kids and parents alike!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    61
    11
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Neptune, Nj
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Sorry that we don't live in this area since we'd love to come back. Very attractive restaurant with outdoor seating. Pappardelle shrimp diavlo and salmon dishes were excellent. They cost about $18 each. There are less expensive choices on the menu, both entrees and sandwiches.
Our waiter, Mark, took good care of us. We also ordered 2 meals to take away for dinner. Enjoyed our visit.

Helpful?
Thank johnNeptune_Nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear Region, California
Level Contributor
177 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Bernini's Bistro is a great little find. Excellent food - Wonderful presentation - great atmosphere - Very friendly staff. We highly recommend a visit to this restaurant!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank We3luv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
“One of the best! We ate at Bernini's Bistro in October 2013.”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We arrived too late at the Cottage Restaurant and they recommended Bernini's up the street.
We sat outside and the waiter appeared right away. He took our order for trout and then brought our water. We sat for over 1/2 an hour and the waiter came out twice to apologize for the delay. We don't know why it was taking so long because there was only one other table occupied outside where they were just having drinks, and no customers were seated inside. When the dinner finally arrived it was very delicious and we were glad to have waited as we had lots of time. When the waiter brought the bill we were really surprised that he only charged us for one dinner! We would certainly go there again and hope to hear the piano next time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynette741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
2 reviews
“Wonderful little known restaurant”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Read about this on trip advisor. When we arrived at our La Jolla hotel, we asked the hotel clerks, valet, and concierge about this restaurant. No one had heard of it. Shame on them. Just a few blocks from the main village, on a very nice street, is where you can find this wonderful restaurant. Pretty indoor and outdoor seating. Excellent food, large portions, wonderful service, and very reasonably priced. Would definitely go back, and high,y recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KathyD01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bernini's Bistro also viewed

La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Bernini's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing