We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Views, but that's about all.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Mount Soledad

Mount Soledad
Book In Advance
More Info
$99.00*
and up
Electric Bike Tour of La Jolla and Mount Soledad
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Views, but that's about all.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

Great place to take out of town visitors, but that's about it. EZ to get to, then go down either side to Pacific Beach or La Jolla for the day...or do both! Nice place to drink your coffee as you plan your day.

Helpful?
Thank heidrichj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,742 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,224
    434
    80
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

The monument is breath taking and the views of san diego from the top of the mountian cover an almost 360 degree panorama.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
151 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Beautiful war memorial”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

It's really sad that people are actually fighting about whether or not to keep this structure as it is. On the one hand, Atheists (a religion, by the way), claim that by keeping the Cross, it favors Christianity above Atheism. However, removing it would do the same thing. It would favor Atheism above Christianity and other religions. Christians and non-Christians alike look at the Cross as an expression of comfort and remembrance for the loss of fallen heroes, for their loved ones. In my opinion, a true atheist would not be bothered by some painted cinderblocks, no matter what shape or symbol they were formed into. This is a fantastic site as it is. It's a beautiful memorial overlooking everything, the beach, hills, valley, and is worth visiting.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank WeBJamman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heber Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Above the clouds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

Enjoyed the drive and view. The veterans memorial surrounding the cross was an added feature. impressive display of men & women who served our country.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bentley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Inspiring and Worth Seeing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

We have so much to be proud of in our country. Seeing the stories of those who served on the wall, and climbing the steps to the highest point was something we will never forget.
We came home to read in the newspaper that this is one of the sites threatened to be removed because it has a cross. It makes me cherish it all the more.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank 6nana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Soledad also viewed

 

Been to Mount Soledad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing