We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must while staying here!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wahoo's Fish Taco

Wahoo's Fish Taco
Ranked #106 of 1,238 Restaurants in La Jolla
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Louisiana
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A must while staying here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

It really doesn't look like much but the food is excellent especially for the price! I wish this place was located where I live because I would eat there all the time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank beachboy6294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    23
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Culver City, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not like other Wahoo's”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Very slow service. We called ahead to see if they could accommodate 15 people.......they said yeah. They got more order correct but my sister-in-law had to wait 45+ minutes for her order. They were busy, too. Food was just ok.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
160 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Very good tacos; exactly as expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Our GPS gave us this place after a great day/evening at Sunset Cliffs. We wanted texmex, we wanted fast and went here. We were not disappointed!

Great white beans, brown rice and fresh tortillas made the perfect complements to good tacos. Also had the chicken quesadilla which was very good and simple.

Would recommend for a casual, cheap, and tasty texmex experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mahulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Favorite Meal in Southern California”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

It doesn't look like much...not very fancy. But the service was friendly and helpful and the food was delicious and flavorful. Had the shrimp enchiladas with green sauce. Great value for the money. This was our first visit and we were all impressed with our meals (family with three young adult daughters). We would definitely seek this place out if we come back again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Fresh, real food made by real people. This only seems like fast food but in fact, Wahoo's La Jolla is in many ways, fine dining on a tiny budget. This is the kind of place that we local San Diegan's like to go because the food is authentic, remarkable, fresh, cheap, plentiful and the atmosphere is a blast. We recently hosted a party for 30 or so guests here and the experience was just wonderful. This place is worth making a trip to. Excellent all around.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Musedoc613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wahoo's Fish Taco also viewed

La Jolla, San Diego
 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Wahoo's Fish Taco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing