We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch”

George's at the Cove
Ranked #22 of 1,080 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $45
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Scenic view, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Ivanhoe
Description: Georges at the Cove is a renowned oceanfront dining destination with one of the most breathtaking coastal views in Southern California. Located in the heart of La Jolla, we celebrate the best of San Diego’s distinct lifestyle with relaxed indoor/outdoor environments and menus that showcase seasonal, local ingredients in fresh, simple preparations. Perfectly prepared grass-fed burgers. A delicious array of fish, seafood and vegetarian dishes. House made desserts by pastry chef Aly Lang. All complemented by an inventive selection of locally-inspired cocktails and an elevated wine list. Planning an event? Our private, newly renovated Lower Level is the ideal space for group events, large and small, from rehearsal dinners and wedding receptions to birthday and anniversary celebrations, and corporate functions. With a range of menu options created by acclaimed chef/partner Trey Foshee and his team, an unparalleled setting, and a commitment to flawless execution.
Reviewed July 19, 2016 via mobile

Found this through tripadvisor. My wife and I visited on a Sunday afternoon. The hostess and waitress were both very pleasant and helpful. Everything we ordered was delicious. Get their famous soup, it's worth it, and if you want, ask for the recipe, because they will give it to you!
Great view by the water, and great drinks too. Go, you will like it here.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank 1991_Longhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (3,500)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,331 - 1,335 of 3,500 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2016 via mobile

Our 30th anniversary fell right in the middle of our family vacation. Friends suggested Georges to celebrate. We read the reviews and decided to give it a try. Not being locals I was somewhat apprehensive, envisioning a table right next to the kichen. I was wrong. From the moment we arrived the service was excellent. We arrived early and requested a window table. We were seated at a great spot right in the center of the main window. The food was excellent and the pace of the service was perfect. We never felt like we were being rushed to make room for the next guest. Excellent all around! Highly recommended.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Bob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 19, 2016

Delightful.There over July 4th weekend. People everywhere but no rushed or hurried atmosphere. Reservations a must. Service friendly, helpful, fun.
Waiter totally informed on menu and ingreidients. Sat terrace upstairs overlooking water

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 19, 2016 via mobile

I came here twice on a recent trip to La Jolla.
The views from the top deck are lovely.
We had lunch with friends on the first trip and we were not so impressed by the quality of the service or the food.
I came back for a glass of wine at the rooftop bar which was lovely for people watching.
Come for the view and the ambiance, not the food...

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank parisexpatexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
April J, Owner at George's at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2016

Thank you for your review. I am so sorry you did not like our food. We don't hear that very often. If you would be so kind as to email me directly at april@georgesatthecove.com so that I can follow up with my team. We take these comments very seriously. I look forward to hearing from you.

Warm Regards,

April Johnson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2016

This is the second time I have been to Georges fine dining ( California Modern ) and invited some friends to join us for dinner. We were seated promptly at our reservation time. After reviewing the menu we decided to go with the four course tasting as you were able to select your appetizer, entrée, and desert from a selection of four items in each course. Each course was excellent and all my guests had something different from each course which we shared. The bar tender was a mixologist and kept making excellent recommendations for drinks. They also have a very good wine menu to select from. Overall it was an outstanding meal and would highly recommend to anyone visiting La Jolla and the view from the restaurant was perfect with the sunset over the ocean.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed George's at the Cove also viewed

 

Been to George's at the Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.