We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food; even better view!”

George's at the Cove
Ranked #22 of 1,079 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $45
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Ivanhoe
Description: Georges at the Cove is a renowned oceanfront dining destination with one of the most breathtaking coastal views in Southern California. Located in the heart of La Jolla, we celebrate the best of San Diego’s distinct lifestyle with relaxed indoor/outdoor environments and menus that showcase seasonal, local ingredients in fresh, simple preparations. Perfectly prepared grass-fed burgers. A delicious array of fish, seafood and vegetarian dishes. House made desserts by pastry chef Aly Lang. All complemented by an inventive selection of locally-inspired cocktails and an elevated wine list. Planning an event? Our private, newly renovated Lower Level is the ideal space for group events, large and small, from rehearsal dinners and wedding receptions to birthday and anniversary celebrations, and corporate functions. With a range of menu options created by acclaimed chef/partner Trey Foshee and his team, an unparalleled setting, and a commitment to flawless execution.
Reviewed July 2, 2016 via mobile

I believe this restaurant has the best view of the cove in La Jolla. Delicious food, friendly service, all while enjoying beautiful sea views. I had the fish tacos, ceviche and calamari-all were delectable. I've also tried the salmon and pork tacos. Affordable price for the fantastic location and fresh ingredients!

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank amykollias
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (3,500)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,360 - 1,364 of 3,500 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2016 via mobile

We had a great dinner at George's but the food did not quite live up to all the hype. My fish was wonderful. The pork tacos were not the best. The atmosphere is beautiful. We ate on the top terreance where we could see the Pam tree
Street art / mural. The atmosphere was crowded and lively. I would definitely recommend eating here only wished I had heard so much about the restaurant before going.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Lauren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 1, 2016

The food was very good. The drinks were great! The view is spectacular! We were there on a clear day, and could not believe the view! The water was so blue. This was our first stop on our way into San Diego after a long week of traveling down the coast. It was a great lunch stop!

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Molly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 29, 2016

We made reservations prior to our trip for the upper restaurant which was billed as affordable and with outdoor only seating. It was crowded and noisy. The food was okay, but not spectacular. We felt a little let down after reading such great reviews of the place. If you do go, try to get reservations prior to the sun setting so you can see the ocean views. Our reservations were for 8:30pm (all that was left a week prior to arrival), and it was dark by then.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Brooke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 28, 2016

Our travel agent booked us reservations at George's several weeks before we arrived in San Diego. I thought she had booked us a table next to the railing on the top floor. The reservation person at the register, Taelor, was not very friendly or accommodating when we talked to him. He sat us at a table next to the wall. Now, maybe our agent had not booked a table for us facing the water, but when a table became available right as we were sitting down, Taelor said it was already booked. Anyway, I was disappointed with his attitude which seemed to be very condescending - he made it clear he did not have time to deal with us. Our server, Abraham, however, was very cordial and friendly which did help the sting of "I do not have time to deal with you" attitude. The food was good - I had spaghetti with clams and my husband had linguine. We also had a very good strawberry cake for dessert. Everything would have been wonderful had the person in control of assigning the tables been more gracious with his explanation of our seating arrangement. When dealing with the public it is surprising and rewarding how a friendly, empathetic attitude can help any situation.
After looking at Trip Advisor - wish we had tried Eddie V's!

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 404margareth
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed George's at the Cove also viewed

 

Been to George's at the Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.